We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Manor
Save Saved
You added Stone Manor to your Saves list
Ellicot and Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had a truly terrific time at the Stone Manor. The house is only a short walk away to a metro station on the red line, making it easy to travel into the city. It's in a very safe area, so walking at night isn't a problem. The host is so sweet and a fabulous cook. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

By far the best aspect of this B&B is the host, Karen. We instantly warmed to her as she chatted about the fascinating path her life has taken, and she was incredibly accommodating considering we turned up with two bikes laden with luggage. Beyond Karen, the room was huge (we stayed in the green room) and the bed so comfortable that we were asleep in seconds. The location is great too. The area us super quiet, but moments from the metro and walking distance to endless restaurants. We walked back from the tidal basin over the course of an afternoon, fuelled by drinks in a couple of bars and dinner along the way, and barely noticed how far we had travelled. We couldn't recommend this B&B enough.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

All five of my family members who stayed here felt very welcomed, and appreciated greatly the sincere and kind hospitality extended to us. It was a gift.
Also, the location is walking distance from all the basic stores needed in a pinch :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stone Manor is a beautiful and spectacularly decorated home in a quiet, convenient section of Washington D.C. This was our second visit, and we wished we could have stayed longer. Our hostess, Karen went out of her way to meet our needs, We had wonderful discussions! Breakfast was great and again the hostess was very attuned to out wishes and tastes. The home and decor proved endlessly interesting to us with many photos, books and international objects. We can't wait to return and to stay for a longer visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in October 2013, in the blue room (queen bed, separate bath). The separate bath is beside the room, not shared -- you just have to go a couple of steps in the hallway between the bedroom and bathroom. While we agree with another review that a few aspects of the house could use some TLC (bathroom, old tube TVs), this is not of consequence -- we had no problems or complaints and we enjoyed our stay. The house is in an area of multi-million dollar homes, quiet and enjoyable for walking, not far from Connecticut Avenue (bus service) and in between a couple of subway stops so not far to walk for public transportation. We parked in Karen's driveway. Karen is a very interesting and accommodating hostess, and listening to some of her life experiences was eye-opening. Our biggest surprise was meeting deer on both of our evening walks! We would suggest putting a queen bed in the green room -- there's lots of space for it, and it would do away with what for many couples is only one choice of bedroom. We would stay at Stone Manor again, no hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a great stay here, beautiful home. Easy access by public transport to downtown Washington and walking distance to great restaurants. We had no car. Karen was a friendly informative interesting hostess the accommodation was clean, comfortable and private.

Room Tip: Did not see all rooms but very quiet tree lined street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Aurora, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a perfect haven in Washington DC! The best thing about Stone Manor is the hostess, Karen DeWitt. She is an amazing person with so much to share and a fantastic hostess! Sunday Brunch..don't miss it..Karen is a great cook along with her long list of super talents. Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable and amazingly quiet in the middle of crazy busy city. Let me just say that the shower is WONDERFUL.....gushing hot water.....you never want to get out. No problem parking. If you are looking for a warm, homey haven in DC, this is the place.

Room Tip: Parking in DC is an unavailable luxury. Stone Manor affords convenient parking. Quiet, clean, conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Manor

Address: Ellicot and Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Manor is located in the Upper Northwest of Washington, DC. The hostess decorated the B&B with art from Central America, the Near East and Africa. It is a five-minute walk to the Connecticut Avenue bus stop. American University is two miles from the house. Visitors with a car can easily travel to the National Institutes of Health and the Navy Medical Center in Bethesda, Maryland - about five miles north. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.