We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Manor
Ellicot and Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Lake Bluff
1 review
“Simply Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This four night accommodation was exactly what I had hoped for. My room was peaceful and comfortable and I appreciated having my own bath connected as well. Breakfast was healthy and provided plenty of energy to engage on my daily walks around the gorgeous neighborhood, to the Metro and even all of the way to the White House! I felt very safe in the beautiful home situated in a picturesque neighborhood. The hostess offerred great insight into the surrounding area and beyond. Her personal touches in so many ways made our stay extra special!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed there on weekend and enjoyed my stay very much. It's a beautiful home and I want to thank Karen for her great hospitality and the interesting conversation we have during the wonderful breakfast on Sunday morning.

I had a lovely room, which was very quiet at night. The bathroom needs a little renovation but I did not mind at all. Everything was clean and I felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A gracious Stone Home, lovingly and respectfully furnished with an atmosphere of welcome and calm; and a lovely, charming hostess - this B& B was for us a treasure found. We loved our room and bath - meticulously clean and well appointed. Breakfast was the expected continental but with fresh fruit daily and even homemade yogurt on one morning. The Great Room provided a relaxing reading and wine-sipping space at the end of our day. Ms. DeWitt generously shared her knowledge of Washington's highlights and lesser known gems like the Renwick Gallery. The walk to Van Ness UDC Metro was of comfortable length, far enough to wake us up in the am and close enough to beckon us home in the pm. Meeting Ms. DeWitt and staying at the Stone Manor were two memorable highlights of our DC vacation. We look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: You can believe the pictures on the Bed& B'fast Washing DC website. They're accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here while visiting our daughter in DC. The home is beautiful and spacious and our host was very kind and gracious to us. We were very thankful to have discovered Stone Manor, and will return here whenever possible , when we are in DC.

Room Tip: We slept in the green room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The first thing you'll notice as you enter and acclimate yourself with Stone Manor is that it is not your traditional B&B. Surprise!! Not a problem, it was warm and inviting as any B&B should be. Plenty of street parking but the hostess, Ms. DeWitt, was kind of enough to allow our mid-sized car to park in her driveway. The continental breakfast was a nice start to our day and the Sunday breakfast was delicious and held in the formal dining room with the other guests. The walk to the Van Ness UDC station is not too close but also not too far, perfect to jump start your day of touring DC and ideal to begin burning off dinner at the end of the day, so to speak. Ms. DeWitt is a kind and wordly lady who was very inviting and ready to assist us in any way. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay (outside of DC proper) in a quiet and safe neighborhood.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauston, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our stay at Stone Manor provided the space we needed from the intensity and noise of downtown. The interior decor is stunning, giving witness to international experiences and perspective. Our hostess provided helpful insight as we planned our tours. Her genuine hospitality and gracious character create a postive environment. The continental breakfasts were basic, but excellent quality. We walked each day to the Metro (subway), and as we walked (typically during off-peak times) it seemed the busses were scarce. The walk was "doable," but the return at the end of the day is uphill. Wear comfortable shoes! We will fondly remember this trip. Should we return to DC, Stone Manor will will be our first choice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This house is situated in a great DC neighborhood. Rooms are quiet and comfortable, with closets and storage space to let you unpack your bags and feel at home. We chose the room with a hallway bath but it was one-step out the door and private. The hostess is gracious and accommodating, and cooks a great Sunday brunch. We were able to enjoy grabbing a book from the extensive selection on the shelves and curl up in the sun-room, as well as come and go on our own schedule. Street parking is available immediately next to the home. To enjoy DC take a 10 minute stroll to the metro station and start exploring. Surrounding area is mostly residential and safe, even when walking around at night. Shopping and restaurants are a couple metro stops away in either direction, as well as the National Zoo and Dupont Circle. We were able to ride bicycles from the house to the National Mall without much difficulty (6 miles). We would recommend this place to friends and will definitely consider it again for ourselves.

Room Tip: Choose based on your bed size preference and whether or not to have an in-room bath, rooms are other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Manor

Address: Ellicot and Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Manor is located in the Upper Northwest of Washington, DC. The hostess decorated the B&B with art from Central America, the Near East and Africa. It is a five-minute walk to the Connecticut Avenue bus stop. American University is two miles from the house. Visitors with a car can easily travel to the National Institutes of Health and the Navy Medical Center in Bethesda, Maryland - about five miles north. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stone Manor to your Saves list