We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Spacious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Manor
Save
You added Stone Manor to your Saves list
Ellicot and Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 32 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Spacious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here while visiting our daughter in DC. The home is beautiful and spacious and our host was very kind and gracious to us. We were very thankful to have discovered Stone Manor, and will return here whenever possible , when we are in DC.

Room Tip: We slept in the green room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The first thing you'll notice as you enter and acclimate yourself with Stone Manor is that it is not your traditional B&B. Surprise!! Not a problem, it was warm and inviting as any B&B should be. Plenty of street parking but the hostess, Ms. DeWitt, was kind of enough to allow our mid-sized car to park in her driveway. The continental breakfast was a nice start to our day and the Sunday breakfast was delicious and held in the formal dining room with the other guests. The walk to the Van Ness UDC station is not too close but also not too far, perfect to jump start your day of touring DC and ideal to begin burning off dinner at the end of the day, so to speak. Ms. DeWitt is a kind and wordly lady who was very inviting and ready to assist us in any way. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay (outside of DC proper) in a quiet and safe neighborhood.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauston, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our stay at Stone Manor provided the space we needed from the intensity and noise of downtown. The interior decor is stunning, giving witness to international experiences and perspective. Our hostess provided helpful insight as we planned our tours. Her genuine hospitality and gracious character create a postive environment. The continental breakfasts were basic, but excellent quality. We walked each day to the Metro (subway), and as we walked (typically during off-peak times) it seemed the busses were scarce. The walk was "doable," but the return at the end of the day is uphill. Wear comfortable shoes! We will fondly remember this trip. Should we return to DC, Stone Manor will will be our first choice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This house is situated in a great DC neighborhood. Rooms are quiet and comfortable, with closets and storage space to let you unpack your bags and feel at home. We chose the room with a hallway bath but it was one-step out the door and private. The hostess is gracious and accommodating, and cooks a great Sunday brunch. We were able to enjoy grabbing a book from the extensive selection on the shelves and curl up in the sun-room, as well as come and go on our own schedule. Street parking is available immediately next to the home. To enjoy DC take a 10 minute stroll to the metro station and start exploring. Surrounding area is mostly residential and safe, even when walking around at night. Shopping and restaurants are a couple metro stops away in either direction, as well as the National Zoo and Dupont Circle. We were able to ride bicycles from the house to the National Mall without much difficulty (6 miles). We would recommend this place to friends and will definitely consider it again for ourselves.

Room Tip: Choose based on your bed size preference and whether or not to have an in-room bath, rooms are other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My time at Stone Manor was an outstanding complement to my ‘DC in 3 days’ scene. The hostess was gracious and a charming conversationalist. It is not your typical B&B; it provides one with an idyllic home out of the main stream - a refuge after the rigors of the tourist day. Its proximity to the Metro system (both bus and rail) provides easy access to any part of D.C. - an essential requirement.
One of the local restaurants provided all of the evening fare that I required; it was oriented to both family and the young adult scene. While the food menu is limited, I found its speciality, the personal size wood-fired pizzas, to be excellent in quality.
I absolutely recommend Stone Manor!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Only one city block off busy Connecticut Ave., yet very peaceful and quiet. The exterior is gives the appearance of a small cottage but inside is a contemporary open space environment with a vaulted ceiling in the great room, a very modern kitchen, and windows all around creating an airy atmosphere.

I stayed in the Blue Room which has a northwest exposure that delays the arrival of the morning sun. Normally an early riser, the comfort, quiet, and limited morning light made me want to stay in bed all day. Very comfortable.

The Green room is slightly larger and will catch the morning sun.

Ms. DeWitt is a gracious hostess and will engage you with intelligent and stimulating conversation if you desire it.

City transportation is readily available with nearby bus stops, a Metro station, and the ever-present taxi cabs. If you bring your own car there is plenty of adequate parking available on 32nd St. There is also parking on Ellicot though spots are a little harder to obtain.

Room Tip: The Green Room has a bathroom within the room. The Blue Room's bathroom is in the hall. It is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I spent a very pleasant week at Stone Manor while attending the recent International AID Conference in DC. The house is wonderful, the breakfasts are excellent, and the owner is a wonderful woman.

I strongly recommend it!

best
sam friedman

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Manor

Address: Ellicot and Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Manor is located in the Upper Northwest of Washington, DC. The hostess decorated the B&B with art from Central America, the Near East and Africa. It is a five-minute walk to the Connecticut Avenue bus stop. American University is two miles from the house. Visitors with a car can easily travel to the National Institutes of Health and the Navy Medical Center in Bethesda, Maryland - about five miles north. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.