We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rain or shine, the convenience and character are great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Independence House Bed and Breakfast

Independence House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Independence House Bed and Breakfast
Independence Ave. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rain or shine, the convenience and character are great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The home is close to the Metro for ease of travel to neighboring cities and local sites. The Internet worked immediately. The private living areas were just right for the 2 of us to work, rest and plan our outings. The furnishings are comfortable and we slept with very well. We look forward to our next stay and catching up with Mary Jo again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I hesitate to tell too much about this place because it will always be booked when I need to return!
The location is perfect for us because our son and his wife live one block away, but besides, it is perfect location for all that Washington offers. Near Capitol South Metro, all monuments an easy walk, Eastern Market, plenty of good restaurants, etc. But we could have just relaxed and enjoyed conversation with Mary Jo. But don't tell too many people!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A most comfortable and perfectly located B&B, with a friendly and welcoming hostess/proprietor. Spotlessly clean, the bedroom and adjoining bathroom as well as sitting room/study provided an excellent place for me to do the business that took me to DC. The immediate neighborhood is quiet yet within two blocks of shopping, restaurants, the Eastern Market metro stop, the Folger Library and Library of Congress, and of course the Capitol. An excellent breakfast too -- not cooked, but including an artful fruit cup, abundant coffee, croissant, cereal, etc. All in all, a place I am glad to have discovered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Mary Jo runs and extremely friendly and relaxing B&B. The fruit cup at breakfast was beautiful, and the sweets and muffins too enticing despite my diet. It was also nice having a separate room and desk for working. The location is ideal for visitors to Capitol HIll, and a nice retreat from the more busy streets in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

great place to stay, just a few blocks from Capitol, extremely nice and friendful hostess.
Comfortable big room and comfortable restroom.
Great breakfast.
quite close to both metro and railway station
Definitely a place where to stay in Washington.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice B&B at a relatively affordable price. It is within walking distance (10 minutes) from the metro and located on a residential street with moderate traffic. The bedroom has a nice sitting room connected to it and a private bath. Breakfast was a selection of breads and a fruit dish as well as cold cereals, and a great selection of coffees and juice. We were there two weekday nights and found the price very competitive to other B&B's as well as hotels due to increased business travel during weeknights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you are looking for quiet peaceful accommododation to come back to after a tiring day exploring Washington DC, then Mary Jo's lovely house is the place to stay. The accommodation consists of a large bedroom and sitting room both beautifully furnished . The bathroom is seperate but entirely private and just outside the sitting room. Generous towels and toiletries are provided. Mary Jo only lets out the one apartment so you won't be disturbed with other guests returning in the early hours of the morning. The surrounding area is mainly residential and feels safe and friendly

Cooked breakfasts are not provided but the included superior continental style breakfasts are first class and include a large bowl of mixed fruit, orange juice, varied pastries, toast if required, jam, cereals, and first class coffee or tea.

Location is ideal to see the sights of Washington. The Metro is about ten minutes pleasant walk away and there is an abundance of restaurants within 10/15 minutes walk

Mary Jo is an ideal host. She is knowledgeable, friendly, and happy to chat. However she is not intrusive and gives you privacy.

Not the cheapest B & B in Washington but you are paying for quality and that is exactly what you receive

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Independence House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Independence Ave. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Independence House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Independence House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list