We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like home, but better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Independence House Bed and Breakfast

Independence House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Independence House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Independence House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Independence Ave. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Like home, but better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A most comfortable and perfectly located B&B, with a friendly and welcoming hostess/proprietor. Spotlessly clean, the bedroom and adjoining bathroom as well as sitting room/study provided an excellent place for me to do the business that took me to DC. The immediate neighborhood is quiet yet within two blocks of shopping, restaurants, the Eastern Market metro stop, the Folger Library and Library of Congress, and of course the Capitol. An excellent breakfast too -- not cooked, but including an artful fruit cup, abundant coffee, croissant, cereal, etc. All in all, a place I am glad to have discovered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Mary Jo runs and extremely friendly and relaxing B&B. The fruit cup at breakfast was beautiful, and the sweets and muffins too enticing despite my diet. It was also nice having a separate room and desk for working. The location is ideal for visitors to Capitol HIll, and a nice retreat from the more busy streets in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

great place to stay, just a few blocks from Capitol, extremely nice and friendful hostess.
Comfortable big room and comfortable restroom.
Great breakfast.
quite close to both metro and railway station
Definitely a place where to stay in Washington.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice B&B at a relatively affordable price. It is within walking distance (10 minutes) from the metro and located on a residential street with moderate traffic. The bedroom has a nice sitting room connected to it and a private bath. Breakfast was a selection of breads and a fruit dish as well as cold cereals, and a great selection of coffees and juice. We were there two weekday nights and found the price very competitive to other B&B's as well as hotels due to increased business travel during weeknights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you are looking for quiet peaceful accommododation to come back to after a tiring day exploring Washington DC, then Mary Jo's lovely house is the place to stay. The accommodation consists of a large bedroom and sitting room both beautifully furnished . The bathroom is seperate but entirely private and just outside the sitting room. Generous towels and toiletries are provided. Mary Jo only lets out the one apartment so you won't be disturbed with other guests returning in the early hours of the morning. The surrounding area is mainly residential and feels safe and friendly

Cooked breakfasts are not provided but the included superior continental style breakfasts are first class and include a large bowl of mixed fruit, orange juice, varied pastries, toast if required, jam, cereals, and first class coffee or tea.

Location is ideal to see the sights of Washington. The Metro is about ten minutes pleasant walk away and there is an abundance of restaurants within 10/15 minutes walk

Mary Jo is an ideal host. She is knowledgeable, friendly, and happy to chat. However she is not intrusive and gives you privacy.

Not the cheapest B & B in Washington but you are paying for quality and that is exactly what you receive

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were charmed by this B&B, located in the peaceful, historic Capitol Hill neighbourhood that is within walking distance of all the main sights as well as the vibrant Eastern Market and its surrounding restaurants and coffee shops. It's also got excellent public transport connections for sights further afield. After a long day of sight-seeing and museums it was a delight to head up to our immaculate, spacious room, kick off the shoes, sink into the heavenly bed and listen to the crickets chirping outside before heading out to dinner. The simple pleasure of strolling back home on a balmy late summer's evening are memories we will treasure. Mary-Jo was a very gracious and relaxed host, making us feel right at home and offering tips without being intrusive. It was also a bonus to have an adjacent study/sitting room with free wifi to email updates back home or research the following day's activities. The only (very tiny) quibble was that my husband would have preferred a cooked breakfast. I was more than happy with the continental breakfast and generous fruit cup. We will definitely be recommending Independence House to all of our friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Could not have asked for more! Bright, spacious, comfortable, clean, private, secure, great Capitol Hill location with walking distance to National Mall, Eastern Market, Union Station. Our gracious hostess, Mary Jo, provided us with all the comfort of a home away from home. As a former educator, she was able to enrich our DC experience with her depth of knowledge and wonderful stories. It was our pleasure to share her home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Independence House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Independence Ave. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Independence House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.