We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely peaceful accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Independence House Bed and Breakfast

Independence House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Independence House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Independence House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Independence Ave. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Stockport UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“lovely peaceful accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you are looking for quiet peaceful accommododation to come back to after a tiring day exploring Washington DC, then Mary Jo's lovely house is the place to stay. The accommodation consists of a large bedroom and sitting room both beautifully furnished . The bathroom is seperate but entirely private and just outside the sitting room. Generous towels and toiletries are provided. Mary Jo only lets out the one apartment so you won't be disturbed with other guests returning in the early hours of the morning. The surrounding area is mainly residential and feels safe and friendly

Cooked breakfasts are not provided but the included superior continental style breakfasts are first class and include a large bowl of mixed fruit, orange juice, varied pastries, toast if required, jam, cereals, and first class coffee or tea.

Location is ideal to see the sights of Washington. The Metro is about ten minutes pleasant walk away and there is an abundance of restaurants within 10/15 minutes walk

Mary Jo is an ideal host. She is knowledgeable, friendly, and happy to chat. However she is not intrusive and gives you privacy.

Not the cheapest B & B in Washington but you are paying for quality and that is exactly what you receive

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were charmed by this B&B, located in the peaceful, historic Capitol Hill neighbourhood that is within walking distance of all the main sights as well as the vibrant Eastern Market and its surrounding restaurants and coffee shops. It's also got excellent public transport connections for sights further afield. After a long day of sight-seeing and museums it was a delight to head up to our immaculate, spacious room, kick off the shoes, sink into the heavenly bed and listen to the crickets chirping outside before heading out to dinner. The simple pleasure of strolling back home on a balmy late summer's evening are memories we will treasure. Mary-Jo was a very gracious and relaxed host, making us feel right at home and offering tips without being intrusive. It was also a bonus to have an adjacent study/sitting room with free wifi to email updates back home or research the following day's activities. The only (very tiny) quibble was that my husband would have preferred a cooked breakfast. I was more than happy with the continental breakfast and generous fruit cup. We will definitely be recommending Independence House to all of our friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Could not have asked for more! Bright, spacious, comfortable, clean, private, secure, great Capitol Hill location with walking distance to National Mall, Eastern Market, Union Station. Our gracious hostess, Mary Jo, provided us with all the comfort of a home away from home. As a former educator, she was able to enrich our DC experience with her depth of knowledge and wonderful stories. It was our pleasure to share her home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

This B&B has a bedroom and sitting room which makes it extra nice. The owner did a great job of making us feel comfortable. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Independence house is run by the the lovely Mary Jo. She made us feel instantly at home and was very accommodating with our late arrival (not that I'm suggesting she can do that all the time!).

Staying in independence house is being part of Washington history. Mary Jo knows a lot of her US history and was a delight to talk to about this. the room is large and comfortable as was the bed. Free wifi is great and the breakfast fruit bowl was absolutely wonderful.

Would recommend this in a heartbeat and will stay again if/when we come back.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Mary Jo is a gracious hostess. Her home is welcoming, comfortable and spotless! The set up is more than generous. Our private bath was larger and brighter than provided at most bed and breakfasts. We had our own sitting/tv/computer room in addition to our spacious bedroom. The bed was very comfortable!!! This is a great location. We felt safe in the neighborhood (filled with adorable homes). We could not have found a closer place to the capital to call "home" for the short time we were there. We would definitely recommend! Enjoy! We did!
Julie from Oregon

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2003

As you drive east on Independence Avenue, be aware that it makes a left turn shortly before approaching the 500 block. 504 is the address of Independence House. The hostess, Mary Jo, obtained a parking permit for our car right on the street in front of her house. She is a gracious, intelligent, helpful and interesting person with a good sense of humor. Rightly so, I doubt that she would put up with nonsense or rowdy behavior. She has good tales to tell about the local scene if you ask, but is not intrusive. The breakfasts were superb. Each morning there was a delicious combination of fresh fruit and berries along with various breads, buns, muffins, toasts, cereals, juice, coffee and tea. A truly civilized way to start the day. There are many neighborhood restaurants and bars nearby. Everything in the center of Washington, D. C. is within easy walking distance. The Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress is but four blocks away. I was able to walk to Union Station in twenty minutes. This is an excellent quiet place for those who appreciate the finer things without ostentation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Independence House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Independence Ave. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Independence House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.