We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in the perfect location with a lovely hostess!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corcoran Street Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corcoran Street Bed and Breakfast
13th and Corcoran St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in the perfect location with a lovely hostess!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is DC's best kept B&B secret! I stayed for 4 nights while in DC for a conference in the sleeper sofa room downstairs. It was perfect! Paulette is lovely and her home is on a charming street in the Logan Circle / U Street area. The neighborhood has become a "hot spot" in DC, so there are plenty of fantastic restaurants and bars within walking distance. It is also within walking distance to the Dupont and U Street metro stops, which makes it very convenient if you are getting around the city via the metro. I lived in DC for three years and love coming back to visit. Corcoran Street B&B will definitely by my first choice for a place stay from here on out! Thank you Paulette for a wonderful week!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
8
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Paulette is a delightful host in this renovated row house. The location is ideal for easy access to DC nightlife and to the attractions along the Potomac. However, if you like to sleep with the window open, nightsounds may interrupt your sleep until the bars close. The upstairs room offered everything I needed for a two night stay with just enough room to do some yoga. Remember, this is an old home that has been renovated. The steep stairs could pose a problem for some guests. Every city amenity is nearby, including Whole Foods and Starbucks.

I judge a location with the husband test. When I return to DC, would he like to stay here, too. This b and b passes this test -- at an affordable price, too.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This B&B was beautiful and Paulette was an absolute joy. The decor of the property is charming and lovely and the room is elegant and comfortable. It is located within walking distance of many key places with easy public transport and is just around the corner from the restaurant hub of DC and the wonderful Whole Foods market. Paulette was a perfect host and a wealth of great information and very entertaining stories. She prepared lovely breakfasts for us and even lent us gloves when the weather turned very cold. We thank her sincerely for her hospitality and kindness and highly recommend the B&B to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just completed a 4 night stay with Paulette and could not have left happier. Washington is an expensive city, so I chose a B&B to help with cost's on my vacation. I had found lots of information about Logan circle (where the house is located) but found the neighborhood even better than I expected. There were lots of restaurants nearby and a Whole Foods, with great prepared meals- an easy place to grab a quick dinner. I used the Metro, just a few blocks from the house but also followed Paulette's suggestion to use the circulator bus, getting around was easy and cheap! Paulette served a great breakfast each morning-- much more than I normally eat each morning, but hey, I was on vacation. Talking with Paulette each morning was a treat, amazing to still have her energy at 91! I could not disagree more about my experience than the last reviewer-- I'd go back here in a moment- not just because of the value, or location, but specifically for the charm of Paulette!

Room Tip: Second floor room - great bed and a private clean bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was a sorry experience altogether. Whatever the hype, it is now a construction site from before 7am and in any case gets the noise from 14th Street. It was clean, we were lent a metrocard and breakfast was passable (actually rather a strain as service was only by a 91 year old with hip problems). Having run a B and B myself, I think she should gracefully retire rather than complaining about the cost of everything and not considering valuefor money for her guests. How she makes the beds beats me! The place is also a fire hazard - the smoke detector in our first-floor bedroom had been taoed over and the entrance grille gate coud only be opened with a key (would one remember it in caseof a fire...) Rather far from everything too. Try elsewhere... ps bed a small double...

Room Tip: Ground floor guest was also disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbaccomDC, Manager at Corcoran Street Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We thank this guest for taking the time to write about their stay at the Corcoran St. B&B. It is unfortunate they did not enjoy their stay. Construction is seemingly ever present here in the city, and this guest is correct, there are several projects happening in the neighborhood including essentially next door (across the alleyway). In efforts to minimize the effects of construction on neighborhoods, the city of Washington restricts construction hours to between 7am and up to 5 pm, for most projects. As the B&B is located in a residential neighborhood, this is true for the project closest to the B&B. This guest contacted us, B&BDC the reservation service this B&B uses to secure all reservations on the morning after their first night. They were offered alternative accommodations away from the noise, or a refund for the remainder of their stay so they could seek accommodations more suited to their needs. They declined both offers and decided to stay. Since this guest’s departure, we have alerted each guest to the nearby construction. We have not had any other guest’s remark that it has inconvenienced or disturbed their stay. Most guests have commented they were more interested in getting out to enjoy the city and appreciate a delicious breakfasts prepared by Paulette. They were also correct about tape on the smoke detector; it was missed when the room was painted in the late spring and agree it is very important to have the unit functioning correctly for everyone’s safety. It has been removed and the detector tested to be sure it is functioning properly. Paulette; at 91 has not given us any indication that she plans to retire. She truly enjoys meeting guests from all over the world and has for more than 25 years. She has a wealth of information to share with guests regarding the usual tourist stops and more importantly the off the beaten path sites that many have no knowledge of.
Respectfully submitted by BedandBreakfastDC.com, as one of the more charming characteristics about Paulette—at 91, she has no use or desire to use a computer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights at Corcoran Street, run by a delightful lady of 91, Paulette Siegrist, and it was indeed a memorable stay.
Paulette knows a lot about the city, and is keen to share her knowledge with guests over breakfast.
The house is in a pleasant tree-lined street, only 30 metres from 14th Street, where buses to downtown are available for those who do not fancy the 25-minute walk to the White House area. The area appears safe, with many female joggers and runners pounding the streets even in the later part of the evening.
We had the upstairs room, which is a good size and overlooks the street to the front and 14th Street to the right. Paulette explained that she has so many possessions that many of the drawers in the guest rooms are full, but there was plenty of space for our possessions and a wardrobe (in the en-suite!) for hanging clothes. Nice touches include an umbrella for guests to use, a tray of pens and pencils, a hairdryer, etc.
We were the only guests for the first two nights, then the ground floor room was let from night three. We were offered a choice of breakfast on the first day, then had a different freshly cooked breakfast on the following two mornings without a choice being offered. Guests share a breakfast table, and Paulette joins you once she has cooked and served the breakfast.
The only downside to the delicious meals was the milk/cream for the coffee/tea, as this was not fresh from the fridge but was long-life portions which sadly had begun to curdle - Paulette explained that she does not keep fresh milk as it creates wastage.
Overall this was a very enjoyable and memorable stay, with a delightful hostess and a unique ambience - Paulette has a house full of treasures collected over many years, and a lifetime of memories to share with guests - our conversations included Syria (Paulette's father was half-Syrian), the Obama insurance plan, unemployment, visiting Britain, etc., etc.
If using public transport, Dupont Circle is around 15 minutes' walk to Paulette's and 13th Street is around 10 minutes' walk. Buses run regularly to downtown Washington, and the Metro is very simple to navigate.
The neighbourhood has a variety of shops, restaurants, bars and cafes within a few minutes' walk.
One slight issue for those visiting during the next three or four months is a construction site on 14th Street, which has access via Corcoran Street - during our stay the guys started at 07.00 and were still there at 18.30 for deliveries of cement, but the noise was at an acceptable level.
Enjoy Corcoran Street B & B - we did!

Room Tip: The upstairs room is a good size and well equipped - suitable for two guests for whom one flight of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wonderful experience. The room and washroom was clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable Paulette was amazing, good person better personality. Great knowledge of the DC area and excellent host. Location is in a safe neighborhood ( even walking at night) and is in 25 minute walking distance from the white house. Neighborhood has tone of restaurants, fitness center and a grocery store in a 2 block ( 3 minute walk). Breakfast was eggs or pancakes with toast/biscuit/ fruit, juice and tea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corcoran Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corcoran Street Bed and Breakfast

Address: 13th and Corcoran St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is just North of historic Logan Circle at 13th & Corcoran Street NW, about ten blocks North East of the White House. The Dupont Circle neighborhood is six blocks West of the home, or about a 12 minute walk. The Smithsonian Museums, the new Convention Center, the Verizon Center and all other major attractions are easily accessible by public transportation; and this B&B is only two blocks from the Metro, Washington's subway system. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corcoran Street Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Corcoran Street Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list