We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Save Saved
You added Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle to your Saves list
13th and P St., Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Tybee Island, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Great Bed and Breakfast! The place was beautiful and rooms were clean. Very quite in the room I stayed in, I never heard anything but the little bird outside my window early one morning! Early riser...I guess! :) It was unfortunate that I was not able to join the guest s for breakfast due to early business comitment. However, I sure it was an enjoyable experience. Would have loved to meet others staying there. The table was always set by the time I returned at the end of the day. Location was acceptable, but If you are not use to walking alot, be prepared for a 10 minuet walk to the metro station. Several nice places to eat close by. Loved World Market! The rooms could use a little face lift, but overall still a great place. Would definately stay again on my next DC trip!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    31
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
60
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed in Room 3, which is at the top of the house. The room is huge, as is the bathroom - lots of space to spread out. A couch in the room offers a nice spot to relax without having to sit on the bed, and the ambiance is welcoming - lots of antiques, soft colors, wood floors with wool rugs...

Breakfast always included some fruit (fruit salad or slices of melon), bread for toast, coffee/tea, and a cooked item. We had quiche, a veggie frittata, french toast with turkey bacon, and a delightful baked egg dish for which I requested, and got, the recipe.

The B&B is an easy 2-block walk to a bus stop where buses arrive frequently - all headed into the downtown core. The Metro is a bit further away, but is walkable. Several good restaurants are also within easy walking distance. Don provided several recommendations, and those that we tried were great.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, CT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Regina & I stayed at this historic, centrally-located, & economically-priced B & B during a recent trip to DC for the Cherry Blossom Festival (also highly recommended). The owners & hosts (Don & Pat, Eric & Karl) could not have been more gracious & hospitable, & the breakfasts were scrumptious. An easy walk to many fine restaurants & to the Capitol district. All in all, a real winner for anyone staying in DC. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Our two night stay at the Chester Arthur house is one I will always remember happily, and I'll choose it again over a hotel when ever I need to stay in D.C.

First, some background:

My wife and I were to take a respite trip to DC for the Cherry Blossom Festival, and I spent six hour researching hotel prices, and reading reviews that chilled my blood. Hotels on the periphery of DC running $185 a night for a single queen or king bed, but horror stories of bedbugs, raucous by other guests, surly or apathetic desk staff and rooms in horrible repair. Prices downtown were twice as high and had all of the same problems until you moved in to the Marriot and Hilton levels, which were astronomically out of our budget.

Since I had never been to a B&B, I researched DC B&Bs, and discovered that prices were slightly better, but that many of them were 'professional B&Bs,' that is, a hotel run out of a large house. And the complains seemed about the same as the chain hotels.
Then I found the Chester Arthur house, and was thrilled to discover this restored/preserved Victorian (1874) on Logan Circle, just six blocks from the White House. The price was bang-on reasonable (especially since being in town would cut down the transit time/expenses/headaches) and I booked for it.

We arrived late (gale force rain storm coming down from Philly,) but were warmly welcomed by the owner. Problem: The booking agent dropped the ball on our registration! We weren't expected! (This is the fault of the booking agent, NOT of the owner of the Chester Arthur house.) Instead of the 'tough luck' shrug you would get even from a five star hotelier, Don (the owner) invited us in to rest and relax in the parlor while our room was made up (it was unoccupied) and we were shown in to the third floor room (the largest) given keys and shown around. Our room had a kitchenette, a large bathroom and a delightful heavy carved period bed.

Unlike a hotel, this is a private house that you are a guest in. Unlike other B&B's which maintain themselves only on the income from guests, the owners of the C.A. House are independently employed. They offer their home in this way because they like people who want to stay in a period house like this as 'house guests.' If you are a period architecture or history fan, you’re going to walk around this place drooling. The details and the restoration are just stunning.

I wouldn't suggest this environment for poorly behaved children, but if you're an adult or can act like one, you'll enjoy yourself greatly. There is limited off-street parking, as well as a deck and period sitting room, parlor and dining room, in addition to your own bedroom (All Bedrooms have private baths.) If you wish privacy, no one will bug you. If you like informal conversation over breakfast (which is professionally cooked by a chef) you can chat at length.
I see that I need to comment on the food: A five star breakfast (not quantity, QUALITY.) Stay and linger over breakfast, talk or not, or dash out to see the sights. After serving you, the chef may come out and sit down and chat, too.

Some additional things to be aware of:

1) This is a 136 year old house! It is in remarkable repair for its age, but it is not in museum quality repair. Floors creak, the windows are single pane glass, and while it is built like a fortress, and has modern amenities like WiFi and TV in room, doors, latches, etc aren't new, and can't be made new without destroying the period of the house. To other reviewers who complained about such things, please get over yourselves. You're staying in an antique private home, not the Savoy or the Ritz-Carlton.

2) This house is downtown in a modern CITY and facing the major thoroughfare of Logan Circle (Rhode Island Ave. runs through this). Because of its style of construction (e.g. a front yard the size of a throw rug) the face of the house is 30 feet from the street. You will heard traffic noise, buses, etc. But unlike a hotel, you won't hear drunks or arguments, or the coitus in the next room. But you WILL hear road noise. If this is a problem, bring ear plugs. My wife and I did and we got the best night's sleep we've had in months (and we live in the woods.)

3) Because of the single pane glass and the permanently installed AC units, the windows are drafty and have not gone through the expensive restoration process yet. The first week in April made the room a little cool, despite the excellent bedding and massive period hot water heater in the room. The owners provide an electric heater in each room that you may use if you'd like it warmer. We used it the second night and it was perfect.

4) If you can't handle stairs, this isn't the house for you. It is not handicap accessible. 1874 wasn't the golden year for accessibility.

5) While there is near by bus service (a few blocks) the nearest Metro stop is a bit of a hike at about 5 blocks. If this is too much walking, you're probably in the wrong city, as most of the attractions in DC assuming some walking.

When I vacation, I do so by sightseeing. Some people prefer to vacation by sitting and reading a book in a quiet place. The Chester Arthur house caters to either type of guest with informal friendliness. All in all, it is the friendliest, most relaxing experience I've had staying anywhere, at any time (London, New York, Chicago, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Seattle, Orcas Island.) I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We travelled to Washington in the middle of "snowpocalypse". Despite the weather, we enjoyed our stay in the Chester Arthur B&B. Our host gave us straight forward advice on how to get aroung the city and places to dine. The morning breakfasts were quite engaging as Don is a very interesting story teller. The location is relatively close to the major museums and monuments. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone travelling to Washington.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

The house is beautiful and in a great historic neighborhood, within vigorous walking distance of Dupont Circle, the Mall, and all things in between. The hosts were friendly, informative, and good conversationalists. The common rooms are charmingly furnished and decorated. The house well deserves the owners' efforts to maintain and restore it. There's so much potential here! And it would be so easy to remedy the few negatives that keep it from being a really good value: moldy shower curtain, brown soap spots on bathroom woodwork, no bedside table, bad or no light for reading in bed, and limited breakfast options (Less fried stuff, please: some whole wheat bread for toast , healthful dry cereals? milk as well as cream? bananas or whole oranges? Just to have choices would feel luxurious).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 3, 2010
We appreciate the good words, but feel we need to respond to a couple of things. These must be the folks who reported the shower curtain liner problem that the housekeeper missed. We replaced the liner and apologized for the oversight. Each of our three guest rooms has a bedside table and lamp – don’t know why they said otherwise. The only thing we fry is sausage and turkey bacon. The two individuals who swap turns coming in each morning both have professional chef experience and some of the dishes they make are frittatas, quiche, a special egg casserole baked in individual ramekins, eggs scrambled with dashes of cheddar and dry mustard, blueberry pancakes, home-made country biscuits with gravy, grits (it's a sleepy southern town after all) crème brûlée French toast, and stuffed French toast. Also available are a variety of breads, fresh fruit, dry cereals, hot oatmeal, squeezed orange juice, milk and cream, and as much Starbucks coffee as guests can put away. We pay a lot of attention to the morning meal. Sorry these folks were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I searched for quite a while before deciding on the Chester Arthur House for our 3 night stay in Washington. This is a true period B & B and the place just radiates age and character from the front stoop all the way to the top of the staircase. There is a magnificent Victorian parlor/sitting room which is breathtaking to behold when you first walk in. The rooms are also furnished mostly with antique furniture. We chose the top room but it was apparently under renovation when the booking was made and a few days before we were moved to another room. This room was huge, very nice, but also a bit noisy as it was in the front of the house; the street outside is Logan Circle and can be a bit busy, but not terribly. The back room of the house was super-quiet though and we stayed the last two nights in there. The breakfasts were magnificent, and we met a wonderful couple from England on the first morning; on other days we chatted with the chef and the owner! These conversations were the best part of staying here. Bathrooms were a mix of some ultra-modern renovations and some older fixtures, but everything worked. The hose was extremely accomodating to our request for a room change and also setting up the dining room for us to bring in take-out Chinese! Although they did forget to make up the room the last night, I still liked their service attitude towards taking care of our needs. Stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Address: 13th and P St., Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old world charm of our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House, at Historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall a block from the house. Washington's Convention center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 3 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Children welcome and off-street parking is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.