We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Washington at its finest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Save Saved
You added Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle to your Saves list
13th and P St., Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Woodstock, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Historic Washington at its finest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We travelled to Washington in the middle of "snowpocalypse". Despite the weather, we enjoyed our stay in the Chester Arthur B&B. Our host gave us straight forward advice on how to get aroung the city and places to dine. The morning breakfasts were quite engaging as Don is a very interesting story teller. The location is relatively close to the major museums and monuments. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone travelling to Washington.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    31
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
60
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

The house is beautiful and in a great historic neighborhood, within vigorous walking distance of Dupont Circle, the Mall, and all things in between. The hosts were friendly, informative, and good conversationalists. The common rooms are charmingly furnished and decorated. The house well deserves the owners' efforts to maintain and restore it. There's so much potential here! And it would be so easy to remedy the few negatives that keep it from being a really good value: moldy shower curtain, brown soap spots on bathroom woodwork, no bedside table, bad or no light for reading in bed, and limited breakfast options (Less fried stuff, please: some whole wheat bread for toast , healthful dry cereals? milk as well as cream? bananas or whole oranges? Just to have choices would feel luxurious).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 3, 2010
We appreciate the good words, but feel we need to respond to a couple of things. These must be the folks who reported the shower curtain liner problem that the housekeeper missed. We replaced the liner and apologized for the oversight. Each of our three guest rooms has a bedside table and lamp – don’t know why they said otherwise. The only thing we fry is sausage and turkey bacon. The two individuals who swap turns coming in each morning both have professional chef experience and some of the dishes they make are frittatas, quiche, a special egg casserole baked in individual ramekins, eggs scrambled with dashes of cheddar and dry mustard, blueberry pancakes, home-made country biscuits with gravy, grits (it's a sleepy southern town after all) crème brûlée French toast, and stuffed French toast. Also available are a variety of breads, fresh fruit, dry cereals, hot oatmeal, squeezed orange juice, milk and cream, and as much Starbucks coffee as guests can put away. We pay a lot of attention to the morning meal. Sorry these folks were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I searched for quite a while before deciding on the Chester Arthur House for our 3 night stay in Washington. This is a true period B & B and the place just radiates age and character from the front stoop all the way to the top of the staircase. There is a magnificent Victorian parlor/sitting room which is breathtaking to behold when you first walk in. The rooms are also furnished mostly with antique furniture. We chose the top room but it was apparently under renovation when the booking was made and a few days before we were moved to another room. This room was huge, very nice, but also a bit noisy as it was in the front of the house; the street outside is Logan Circle and can be a bit busy, but not terribly. The back room of the house was super-quiet though and we stayed the last two nights in there. The breakfasts were magnificent, and we met a wonderful couple from England on the first morning; on other days we chatted with the chef and the owner! These conversations were the best part of staying here. Bathrooms were a mix of some ultra-modern renovations and some older fixtures, but everything worked. The hose was extremely accomodating to our request for a room change and also setting up the dining room for us to bring in take-out Chinese! Although they did forget to make up the room the last night, I still liked their service attitude towards taking care of our needs. Stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

On a tour of the east coast, this was a shot in the dark. We booked the night before we arrived, and once we got to the front door we were pleasantly surprised. The Victorian house, in the middle of the bustling Logan Circle neighborhood, was a great place to spend a couple of nights. We were in the old master bedroom and it was excellent, beautiful, and very much more than we could have asked for. The antique furniture, fireplace, as well as refrigerator and other modern amenities made our stay wonderful. Additionally, the breakfasts both days were great, exceeding expectations in terms of both food and company. We would certainly recommend this to friends and we look forward to coming back next time we are in the DC area.

The other hotels on our trip were excellent (W hotel in Chicago, Algonquin in NYC), but the appeal of this B&B matches the opulence of those much more expensive hotels. We immensely enjoyed our stay and the character of the hotel (and its hosts) made our trip just that much more special.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

This Inn is a fantastic choice for either business or family travelers. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed, the proprietor is attentive but not intrusive and has a wealth of information about the city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We recently stayed at Chester Arthur House and it was an amazing experience - the house is beautiful, full of character and interesting antiques. There was a fridge, hairdryer and aircon so don't be concerned about not having modcons... The breakfasts were absolutely delicious, and the hosts were extremely friendly - telling us interesting facts about DC and making sure we knew where the best restaurants were. Logan Circle is also a great location - very close to the best sites and a vibrant neighbourhood.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Wendy and I loved the location of the Chester A Arthur House at Logan Circle. It provided an easy walk or short cab ride--it allowed us to forego renting a car--to the places where the typical traveler would love to go. There were some wonderful restaurants nearby, as well.
Without question, the most delightful part of our stay were the daily breakfast conversations that we had with our hosts as well as the other guests. That is a dimension of traveling that must never be overlooked and should never be underrated. How would I describe our conversations? Informative, stimulating, wide-ranging, international, frequently funny, and always delightful. Go to DC for its sites. Stay at the Chester A Arthur House house for its charm, its location, and most of all, for the perspective it brings to the world.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Address: 13th and P St., Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old world charm of our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House, at Historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall a block from the house. Washington's Convention center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 3 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Children welcome and off-street parking is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.