We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Save
You added Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle to your Saves list
23 Logan Circle, NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

On a tour of the east coast, this was a shot in the dark. We booked the night before we arrived, and once we got to the front door we were pleasantly surprised. The Victorian house, in the middle of the bustling Logan Circle neighborhood, was a great place to spend a couple of nights. We were in the old master bedroom and it was excellent, beautiful, and very much more than we could have asked for. The antique furniture, fireplace, as well as refrigerator and other modern amenities made our stay wonderful. Additionally, the breakfasts both days were great, exceeding expectations in terms of both food and company. We would certainly recommend this to friends and we look forward to coming back next time we are in the DC area.

The other hotels on our trip were excellent (W hotel in Chicago, Algonquin in NYC), but the appeal of this B&B matches the opulence of those much more expensive hotels. We immensely enjoyed our stay and the character of the hotel (and its hosts) made our trip just that much more special.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    33
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
62
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

This Inn is a fantastic choice for either business or family travelers. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed, the proprietor is attentive but not intrusive and has a wealth of information about the city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We recently stayed at Chester Arthur House and it was an amazing experience - the house is beautiful, full of character and interesting antiques. There was a fridge, hairdryer and aircon so don't be concerned about not having modcons... The breakfasts were absolutely delicious, and the hosts were extremely friendly - telling us interesting facts about DC and making sure we knew where the best restaurants were. Logan Circle is also a great location - very close to the best sites and a vibrant neighbourhood.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Wendy and I loved the location of the Chester A Arthur House at Logan Circle. It provided an easy walk or short cab ride--it allowed us to forego renting a car--to the places where the typical traveler would love to go. There were some wonderful restaurants nearby, as well.
Without question, the most delightful part of our stay were the daily breakfast conversations that we had with our hosts as well as the other guests. That is a dimension of traveling that must never be overlooked and should never be underrated. How would I describe our conversations? Informative, stimulating, wide-ranging, international, frequently funny, and always delightful. Go to DC for its sites. Stay at the Chester A Arthur House house for its charm, its location, and most of all, for the perspective it brings to the world.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye Lake, OH
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Furnishings were period and in good repair. The bedroom was dirty. The entry door to the bedroom was cracked as if it had been broken into and poorly repaired. The bathroom door into the hallway would not stay locked and closed due to the wind from the bathroom window, which also wouldn't remain closed. The windows appeared to be rotted; we were told a carpenter would be there to repair it, though he never appeared.

Breakfast was prepared and served by a man wearing a robe and dewrag. Juice on the last day consisted of a concoction made of the rinds of oranges, melons, etc from previous days, so thick that it was chewable.

Parking cost was $10/day, not unreasonable, but there was limited room for our vehicle and we ended up with door dings.

Never again will we stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbaccomDC, Owners at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, May 29, 2009
The guest’s review is pretty devastating, so we want to address each complaint in appropriate detail.
Cleanliness: The room the guest is referring to is the original master bedroom, one of the grandest spaces in the house. We go out of our way to make sure that it and the rest of the house is spotlessly clean, and often receive compliments on this point. The guest did not say what exactly was dirty, but if something was, it was an anomaly, and we apologize.
Door: Every so often a guest pushes against that door before they have completely turned the key. The result is that the decorative door-jam facing (on the inside of the room) separates a fraction of an inch from the jam. The door was just not made to withstand rough treatment. Fortunately, this happens infrequently. The only way to permanently fix it would be to replace the whole door-jam assembly, which dates (like the rest of the house) to 1883; and we are trying to keep all the original architectural details intact. In the past we have always repaired it promptly by re-nailing. It’s not damage that is readily apparent, however, and we must have missed seeing it before this guest arrived. In light of this complaint, we will try using screws, which we will countersink to hide, and hope that will be a more robust solution. However, as we tell everyone, this is an historic house with irreplaceable period details and furnishings, some of which do not stand up well to rough treatment.
Hallway door: We are puzzled by this complaint. The bathroom door to the hallway is kept permanently shut by a latch that locks positively from the inside of the bathroom. (The bathroom is private: It connects directly with the bedroom by another door.) There is no way the door to the hallway would not remain closed unless the guest unlocks and opens it.
Bathroom: The arched window, with articulated 6/1 mullions, is original to the house and an important part of its Victorian character. It is not rotted: It is just old. The top half had slipped down about one-half an inch during a period of extremely high winds. We (the owners) were out of town at the time. The staff person dealt with the problem by closing the window and keeping it tightly shut by using a piece of lumber as a prop. He also installed insulation materials around the frame to keep out any draft. A permanent repair was done the day after the guests left.
Breakfast: The morning meals are served by one of three different people, all of whom have professional chef experience. We spare no expense on breakfasts. In addition to Starbuck coffee, tea, fruit, cereals, squeezed orange juice, etc., our oven-cooked main courses vary from day to day, and are always yummy and healthy. We also offer a house specialty in keeping with President Arthur’s penchant for convivial living: a cocktail of artfully mixed juices, reminiscent of a tropical island. The cook was trying a different recipe when these folks were here. The guests said nothing about this or any other offering at the time. In fact, they enjoyed one of the cooked dishes so much that they requested the recipe. However, in the case of the juice, the cook decided on his own that the original recipe was better, and has gone back to that.
Attire: The guests did not tell the whole story. These folks made a number of special requests which our staff member went out of his way to accommodate. One of these was to have breakfast at 7 a.m.—an hour earlier than our customary serving time—to accommodate their tourist schedule. Our staff member agreed to be at the house by 6 a.m. to make this happen, and told them that because he lived some distance away, he would have to sleep overnight in our kitchen. He did take the liberty of serving breakfast in a dressing robe. He apologized for his attire at the time, and the guests insisted it was not a problem since he was going out of his way to accommodate their needs. Either they were not being candid, or they changed their minds afterwards.
All that said, we agree with the guests about this. No matter what the circumstances, or how familiar our staff member felt he had become with them, he should have worn regular street clothes for breakfast, and he has been so informed. We are confident that this will not happen again.
Parking: We provide off-street parking at a modest rate as a convenience. We can accommodate as many as three cars in spaces typical of many parking lots. According to our records, only one other car, which belonged to us, was parked there at the time, and it was never moved, since we were out of town. If the guest claims door dings, we can’t dispute it, but such a thing was not mentioned at the time, and in our 18 years of operation, no one has ever made such a complaint before.

Thank you,
Don and Pat- Owners
Chester A. Arthur House B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

This was a wonderful place to stay in DC. Close to everything, wonderful restraurants in every direction! But the best part was the conversations with the hosts and the guests without the pressure to move on with our day. The hosts were very accommodating with our every request: mini-refrig, parking, internet connections, dining suggestions and even the much needed duct tape for the Fiat! The bed was the best we had ever slept in and the bathroom the cleanest.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

My family and I recently spent four nights at this bed and breakfast. We highly recommend staying there. Not only is this B&B charming, but the rooms are spacious and very clean. We all agree that the best part of our trip was chatting with the inn keepers (who by the way, are excellent cooks) every morning at breakfast . The owners of the B&B were also delightful and made us feel welcomed.

  • Liked — how welcomed we felt
  • Disliked — there wasn't anything we didn't like
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Address: 23 Logan Circle, NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old world charm of our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House, at Historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall a block from the house. Washington's Convention center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 3 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Children welcome and off-street parking is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.