We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Save Saved
You added Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle to your Saves list
13th and P St., Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed three nights just after Memorial Day weekend and it was so quiet and relaxing. There are literally scores of really great little restaurants right in the neighborhood. Your hosts can give you fantastic suggestions and insight. And the gourmet breakfasts at Chester Arthur House are something to behold! Come and go as you will and you are virtually steps from the bus lines for a quick trip to the monuments and museums on the National Mall. (Hint: If arriving by public transportation, don't take the Metro--the walking is more than you think--instead, use www.wmata.com/tripplanner to find the exact bus lines that will get you right there.)

Room Tip: The Magnolia Room, where we stayed, they say is the most quiet--but if you've ever lived in the...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    30
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
58
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Simply put, they do a superb job! I also really enjoyed the Washington, DC stories of the owner and lovely host who had worked for National Geographic and the Congressional Quarterly as a writer. But, lets go back to the very amazing breakfasts. Thank You.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for four nights at Chester A Arthur House B&B in Washington. We stayed there following an enthusiastic recommendation of a friend and we were not disappointed. You could not get a better location from which to experience Washington with the added bonus of the charm of this Victorian era house in a real village location only a mile or so from the White House. The room we had was spacious and quiet and the breakfast each morning was delicious and varied. This was added to by the convivial discussions between guests and hosts over each breakfast. I would recommend Chester A Arthur House to anyone visiting Washington.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia room at the back of the house on the 1st floor and I think this was the qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

A very welcoming and interesting place in a beautiful neighbourhood. The room was spacious, quiet, and comfortable, the breakfasts excellent. Best of all, the hosts and guests mixed very easily at breakfast. Remarkably friendly people with lots of interesting experiences and backgrounds to share. Also worth mentioning are the host's efforts to preserve an 1880s interior true to the house's history. If you are looking for a comfortable accommodation with genuine character, this is definitely the place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: It's a quiet neighbourhood in general, but you might want to ask for a room towards the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Lets me start off by saying that some residents in rooms closer to the road were experiencing noise and interrupted sleep. If you are a light sleeper I suggest you talk to the staff about a low noise room at the back at the time of booking. I certainly don't recall any noise in my room.

This is a old house from the 1880s its charming and largely authentic, including the original (non functional) gas lighting. As it is a 1880s house, it is a little rough around the edges and best avoided if you are looking for ultra modern accommodation.

Old fashioned charm describes both the house and the hosts. The owner Don, is a gentleman in every respect and was a wealth of information and suggested some truly excellent places to eat.

The Breakfasts provided were far above the standard I expected of a B & B, on my last morning the chef Eric was in and the breakfast was truly outstanding and clearly a lot of effort had gone into it including the sourcing of ingredients.

The final thing I would like to point out was the location of this B & B. The neighbourhood is safe and delightful, with an abundance of good restaurants and stores like whole foods. Its a leafy neighbourhood with wide streets and lots of charmingly restored old fashioned housing. The major attractions are a short distance away. Don suggested the bus, but I found a vacant taxi within moments of leaving the front door each time and chose that option.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road have much much less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Not for the luxury crowd, but a fair price for a quiet room in a lovely old house in the heart of DC. And one of the best breakfasts I've had at a B&B in years. Thanks, Eric! Also, real coffee (that is, not flavored and not from a Keurig, both of which seem to be epidemic in B&Bs these days).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Lots of character in this house. It's got the great floor creaking that you would expect from a 100+ year old house. :)

We stayed in room 4, which was sufficiently large for the two of us. Nice large bed, ceiling fan, and little refrigerator. It faced the alley which was extremely quiet at night --- no road noise at all.

The location couldn't have been better. *Everything* was within walking distance. We walked to the National Mall (Lincoln Memorial) in about 30 minutes. There is a bus stop directly in front of the house which makes it convenient to hop on/off from.

The host was fantastic. He greeted us when we got there, and showed us to the room. He gave us a quick rundown of the history of the house, as well as the neighbourhood (Logan Circle has definitely improved over the years it seems --- we found it extremely safe and relaxing). He pointed out a few restaurants he recommended, and how to navigate about.

The breakfasts in the morning were great. The chef (Eric) was friendly and made some great items. Had a very tasty dish with grits (our first exposure to grits), and a great blueberry french toast casserole the following morning. The other guests staying were friendly and a pleasure to chat with in the mornings. We were over the kitchen but the smell of coffee at 7:30 helps you wake up as it wafts into the room :)

All in all, a great experience, and if we're ever in the DC area again, would definitely rebook.

Room Tip: Room 4 is quiet, large, and appears to be isolated from the rest of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Address: 13th and P St., Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old world charm of our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House, at Historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall a block from the house. Washington's Convention center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 3 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Children welcome and off-street parking is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.