We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Save
You added Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle to your Saves list
23 Logan Circle, NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Lots of character in this house. It's got the great floor creaking that you would expect from a 100+ year old house. :)

We stayed in room 4, which was sufficiently large for the two of us. Nice large bed, ceiling fan, and little refrigerator. It faced the alley which was extremely quiet at night --- no road noise at all.

The location couldn't have been better. *Everything* was within walking distance. We walked to the National Mall (Lincoln Memorial) in about 30 minutes. There is a bus stop directly in front of the house which makes it convenient to hop on/off from.

The host was fantastic. He greeted us when we got there, and showed us to the room. He gave us a quick rundown of the history of the house, as well as the neighbourhood (Logan Circle has definitely improved over the years it seems --- we found it extremely safe and relaxing). He pointed out a few restaurants he recommended, and how to navigate about.

The breakfasts in the morning were great. The chef (Eric) was friendly and made some great items. Had a very tasty dish with grits (our first exposure to grits), and a great blueberry french toast casserole the following morning. The other guests staying were friendly and a pleasure to chat with in the mornings. We were over the kitchen but the smell of coffee at 7:30 helps you wake up as it wafts into the room :)

All in all, a great experience, and if we're ever in the DC area again, would definitely rebook.

Room Tip: Room 4 is quiet, large, and appears to be isolated from the rest of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    32
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
62
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Logan Circle has become a great district north of the Mall in DC. From the circle, it is easy walking distance (about 2 blocks) to bus lines to the Mall and further north plus a ton of great restaurants, stores, and pubs. The Chester A. Arthur House is a Victorian house restored to its original majesty. There are 4 rooms in the house, each with their own bath. Our family occupied 3 of the rooms during our stay and each room was great and unique. The front second floor bedroom can be a bit noisy due to car noise from the circle, but they offer some noise cancelling tools. The third floor front room and all of the back rooms are very quiet. Carl and Eric cooked amazing breakfasts for us each morning and Don, the owner, did a great job of greeting us and telling us about the area. All in all, a perfect spot in a fun and vibrant city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Highly recommend staying at this historic B&B. The host Donald rents out the front rooms to maintain this as one of the last period homes on Logan Circle. The area itself is like a little slice of Paris and was very safe. The room was comfortable and we throughly enjoyed breakfast in the formal dining room. Would absolutely stay here again if we make it back to DC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay in a great location, then this is your place! If, on the other hand, you want a little luxury, I would not recommend. This Inn, which is directly on Logan Circle, has the ultimate location. You can walk to most everywhere - 14th Street, P Street, the Mall, Dupont Circle, and beyond. Plus, it is such a pretty location. The rooms, though, are a little tattered and old. But they are large, and the windows onto the Circle are very nice. We had a "kitchenette", which had a little stove, microwave and refrigerator, but no dishes or utensils. So what is the point? There was not even a wine opener! Or glasses! That was very disappointing. Plus, there was no service while we were there, so our wastebaskets were overflowing. Another point of contention was the parking. While we had prepaid for parking, apparently there were not enough spaces, so we were being called about where we should park, if we could park, or the problems they were having with parking. Bottom line - we had paid for parking and we did not want to hear about their parking problems!
Back to the positive, our breakfasts were very good, thanks to Carl. Carl was delightful and we so enjoyed having breakfast with him!
Bottom line - the location is so awesome we would probably stay here again. But hopefully the owner will realize it is time to fix it up!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We are most grateful for the compliments, and sorry we didn’t live up to their expectations in every way. We have a limited amount of parking available at one-half the cost of parking in the area, and do regret that for the first time in our 19 years of operation we were overbooked for one night. We are well aware this caused inconvenience for these folks, understood their annoyance, and apologized profusely.

Regarding our guest rooms: all are fully restored, and underneath every fresh coat of paint or varnish is an original (1883) plaster wall, molding, or fireplace mantel. Anyone expecting new wallboard, for example, which would be the only way to completely erase 131 years of existence, is in for a disappointment. In fact our whole objective is to preserve as much of the original house and its historic nature as possible – and by staying with us, our guests are helping us accomplish that purpose.

Regarding the kitchenette: we have found that most guests prefer not to deal with dishes. The cabinets are amply stocked with disposable dishes and flatware, and we provide pots and pans and other cooking utensils. We’re not sure how they missed the corkscrew in the cutlery drawer. We entirely agree that wine requires fine glassware, and it is happily supplied upon request. We do not regularly provide daily maid service, which would add considerably to the nightly tariff; however we change towels, empty trash, and generally freshen up rooms as often as requested and after every third night at a minimum. We also inform guests we will be happy to make up a their bed on a daily basis, compliments of the house, if requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't have enjoyed our stay in Washington as much if we had stayed in one of the large hotels. The Chester a Arthur house was a wonderful way to experience Washington DC. It was both a great location and a good value

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Vermont
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were excited to stay at the Chester Arthur House on our first visit to Washington DC and it was everything and more than we had expected. The house is beautiful, our room, with a view of Logan Circle, was warm and inviting. We had delicious breakfasts-healthful, tasty and filling to get us going in the morning. The hosts are friendly, informative and helpful while also giving us our privacy. The neighborhood is the perfect location to explore Washington-we were within walking distance of all the great sites, the White House was a 20 minute walk with plenty to see along the way. And, the architecture is wonderful with great victorian style houses around the circle. It's a quiet neighborhood, yet within a 2 minute walk, many good restaurants and bars. My only criticism-no cherry blossoms! Due to the late spring. Well, we'll save that for next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I'm not sure why I never considered a B&B for DC accommodations before, but I certainly won't be staying at a downtown hotel again any time soon. The Chester Arthur house is cosy, well located, and the breakfasts can't be beat. Don is a delightful host, and you get all of this for less than the price of a square box hotel. There are numerous interesting restaurants in the area and it's a 15 minute walk to the convention center. Staying here is a no-brainer and I'm sure that I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Address: 23 Logan Circle, NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old world charm of our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House, at Historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall a block from the house. Washington's Convention center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 3 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Children welcome and off-street parking is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.