We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Save
You added Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle to your Saves list
23 Logan Circle, NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

There is a bus stop right in front of the B and B which made it so easy to get around the city. Rooms large and wonderfully decorated. Location at Logan Circle offers the option of many restaurants and cafes. Good breakfast and great conversation around the table. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    32
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
62
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The B & B is in an excellent position to access lots of local restaurants. The breakfasts were superb. The hosts couldn't do enough for you. The property is full of atmosphere. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We found the historic character of the neighborhood a wonderful spot to rest after exploring the city of Washington DC. We found some great places to eat within a few short blocks (and a Whole Foods nearby too), and we enjoyed visiting over breakfast with the other guests. The hosts met my dietary requirement for gluten free breakfasts which exceeded my expectation and was delicious! The building itself is aging, but the bed was comfortable with nice linens and the necessary amenities.

Room Tip: The top floor has a kitchenette and a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Chester Arthur House is stately, gracious, and convenient. We were able to leave our car at the house and walk to the White House, the Capitol, all the museums, all the monuments, and many unique restaurants. The breakfasts at the house were outstanding — especially the Pineapple Upside-Down French Toast stuffed with cream cheese, crushed pineapple, and ginger. We enjoyed sharing the breakfast table with other guests and the owner of the house, Daniel Smith. By Washington standards, the price was reasonable. We appreciated the historic home, its antiques, and its Logan Circle neighborhood where all of the row houses are well over a hundred years old. Visitors who can't see the charm in creaky floors, extension cords, and window air conditioners might be happier in a generic motel at a freeway exit.

Room Tip: We had the "Magnolia Room" on the back side of the house on the second floor, and it was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had an extremely enjoyable stay. The B&B is very conveniently located for restaurants, bars, shops and sights. Imaginative breakfasts, period charm and the most fascinating host you are ever likely to meet.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July 2013, and I'm so glad we did. It was like taking a step back in time. I was looking for a place with character-- not just the run-of-the-mill hotel room. The owners were very friendly, and the host, Don, was a hoot! His stories from the National Geographic were fascinating, and his recommendations for getting around were spot on! We stayed in the Magnolia Room which is in the back, and very quiet. Breakfasts were fabulous and filled us up to begin the day exploring. It was great staying in a neighborhood but it was an easy walk or bus ride down to the Mall area. I would return to this amazingly beautiful house!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed three nights in the third floor suite. It has a small separate kitchenette and a very large room with a sitting area, and a large bathroom. its a lovely room in a lovely old Washington house. The owners have effectively worked at striking a balance between the original features of the house and bringing the essentials up to modern standards. While not centrally air conditioned it has a very functional window air conditioner which effectively brought the temperature down and provided some white noise to cover the occasional street noise. No problem sleeping. its located on Logan Circle, within a 25 minute walk of the central areas of the city. Its also close to restaurants and a large Whole Foods supermarket. The nearest metro station is a distance away, but the area is well served by buses. Don, one of the owners greeted us when we arrived and gave us a rundown of the area. He has keen interest in history; we spent time over breakfast discussing early US and Washington history. It made for a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Address: 23 Logan Circle, NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old world charm of our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House, at Historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall a block from the house. Washington's Convention center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 3 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Children welcome and off-street parking is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.