We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Washington DC - Logan Circle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Save Saved
You added Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle to your Saves list
13th and P St., Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
cleveland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Washington DC - Logan Circle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Chester Arthur B&B is a beautiful old victorian house in the Logan Circle area of Washington DC. Both our hosts were fantastic. We spent most of our time with Carl, who shared numerous interesting stories about the house, the local area and recommended a few excellent nearby spots to eat. (Logan Tavern - great food and atmosphere, just a short walk from the B&B; The Heurich house is a must see for opulent Victorian architecture). Carl really seemed to enjoy being the caretaker of this wonderful property, which retains so many outstanding historical qualities and period pieces. He was an absolute joy to converse with. The General Logan room (bedroom #1, 2nd floor front of house) was perfect...spacious and comfortable. We appreciated the well functioning air conditioning since D.C. was in the 90s and humid for our 3 day stay. Yes, there was some street noise intermittently but A/C helped reduce the noise. Logan circle is an awesome, mainly residential neighborhood filled with fantastic architecture. Nearby14th street is a revived happening area with tons of restaurants, bars, and shops. There are 2-3 nearby metro stations but they are approximately 0.5miles away, which was no issue for us since we like to walk. Most people who enjoy traditional B&Bs will love the Chester Arthur house, those that need modern, contemporary predictable cookie cutter hotels with numerous amenities, their bed made and linens changed daily....shouldn't be looking in this section anyway. We'll be back, love D.C. and love the Chester Arthur House and its hosts. Carl, when you want to retire, just let us know & we'll take over :)
-John & Beth

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    30
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
58
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Il
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hosts were terrific. Our room was spacious. Very accommodating for the family. We had a queen sized bed and our son had a twin sized trundle bed. The breakfasts were very good. Our host Eric was especially creative with what he prepared. Both Carl and Eric were very helpful and great conversationalists. We would recommend the Chester A Arthur House for anyone. We had a great time in DC. And Eric the cranberry/orange jam made it through TSA security. It was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I just stayed two nights at this Bed and Breakfast and it was lovely. The room was very nice and the bathroom was very nice as well with a great shower. The morning breakfast was very good and Eric was delightful. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Chester Arthur House is a perfect B & B for visitors to DC! Ideally located on Logan Circle, the neighborhood is quiet and very close to wonderful restaurants, a huge Whole Foods Market, and a short walk to the Metro station. Our genial host was very helpful and entertaining, the breakfasts were marvelous, and our room was quite spacious and well-appointed. It is very easy to get the major sights, the Trolley stops, and restaurants in downtown DC from the B & B.

Room Tip: The Cinnamon Room is in the back of the B & B so you don't hear any street noise, and it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband, Paul, and I stayed June 1 - 3. We came up for the US vs Germany soccer game. USA won- Yea! We opt for B & Bs when we can and Chester Arthur House was wonderful. Carl welcomed us. Each morning at breakfast, we enjoyed tasty fare and great conversation with Don and Carl. Even when there was a minor glitch related to our first breakfast, they came through and we remained delighted. We hope Eric is okay. We were on the 3rd floor so a bit warmer but with the AC and fan, all was right with the world. Clean, great that Don is keeping it historic, neighborhood nice. Go to Logan's Tavern for delicious food-Thanks Carl! We enjoy visiting different B & Bs. If back in DC for an event, Chester Arthur House is at the top of the list. Thanks for a great stay. Kimberly and Paul Emig - Virginia Beach VA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Chester A. Arthur House is a gem! Great location, clean and comfortable rooms. This is a great choice if you want D.C. charm rather than the corporate hotel experience. I traveled from Colorado for a girls' weekend, and this was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montclair njj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Terrific location - near all sorts of restaurants. On Logan Circle, ( named after Gen John Logan) who intiated Decoration Day ( now Memorial Day. We had a lovely Victorian room - not full of 'stuff' but crisp and bright. Comfortable bed and a very good breakfast every morning - including ' real oatmeal' when I did not opt for the packaged variety.
Host was interesting and informative about the area - and the other guests quite comfortable to talk to also.

Room Tip: if you cant do steps - dont stay here - otherwise it is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Address: 13th and P St., Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old world charm of our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House, at Historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall a block from the house. Washington's Convention center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 3 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Children welcome and off-street parking is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;