We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIghly receommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
13th and P St., Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 50 Washington DC B&B and Inns
NYC
1 review
“HIghly receommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I spent a weekend at the Chester A Arthur House and really enjoyed my stay. The house is lovely, warm and tastefully decorated. The location was great, centrally located and across the street from a beautiful park. Logan Circle itself is lovely; i enjoyed walking there in the mornings. My room was large and comfortable and I slept very well which doesn't always happen when I travel. Breakfast and coffee was great and the caretaker was very friendly and accommodating. Overall a great expereince, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    28
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
52
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in April, and it was a very positive experience. The room was large and comfortable, the house is historic and in a fantastic location, the breakfast was tasty, and I slept great while I was there. The house is close to Whole Foods and all kinds of new restaurants. Apparently Logan Circle is a hot area these days. I'll definitely be back.

Andrea from Louisville, Colorado

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Metro Area, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We recently spent a week at the Chester A. Arthur house and really enjoyed our stay. The location is very convenient to the major attractions in DC. 1 1/2 blocks to two different bus lines that go directly to the Smithsonian/Mall, a quick couple blocks through Logan Circle to P Street full of restaurants and a Whole Foods, and a reasonable quick walk directly down Vermont St. to the Metro & the front of the White House. Also, much to my relief, though we were never out very late, we felt safe in and around the house/neighborhood at all times during our trip.

We got caught in the rain and we able to quickly catch a cab to the Capitol from the intersection in front of the building and our cab rides to the Capitol & Union Station were never in excess of $10. Only on those rainy days though did we take cabs, we took a couple bus/metro rides but were able to walk to most of the attractions we hit.

The house is a little old and shows its age but it has been well kept by the owner, Carl & Eric (the innkeepers). We didn't spend any time in the parlors but they were always available and well stocked with books & games. It was very quiet inside, we spent our time between two different rooms on the 2nd & 3rd floors and never heard any of the other guests. Both of our rooms were on the front of the house and the traffic noise from Logan Circle was a little noticeable but for us was just a factor of being in the middle of a city. Expectedly a little louder than our suburban home but it didn't interrupt our sleep.

Breakfasts were always good and we never had any issue with portion sizes. Every day we were there, there was enough for seconds if one so chose. My request for a differnt type of juice later in the week was also accomodated graciously. The meals alternate days from sweet to savory and it really broke up the sometimes monotonous eggs for breakfast routine. Eric is a little more hands-off and doesn't join guests for breakfast, Carl sat with all the guests. Both are easy to talk to and have good tips for what to see, where to eat and how to get to places.

We didn't notice that our bed wasn't made daily until reading some of the other reviews but appreciate the privacy of the innkeepers not entering our room. They tell you when you arrive that the standard practice is to replace towels every 3rd day but they were very accomodating and would, I'm sure, be able to either service the room daily or meet whatever reasonable requests any guest made.

We would stay again at this B&B in a heartbeat. The location is enough but the service that went with it and the personal touch of breakfast makes this better than any hotel in DC could offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

WE spent 2 night at the Chester Arthur House and really fell for it. It's attractive outside and inside, with most of its original structure (wooden staircase, pocket doors) and authentic Victorian furnishings lovingly cared for. There is a wonderful homey feeling in every room. Carl welcomed us and kindly explained all we wanted to know about the house, the neighborhood, restaurants and events in DC. He's extremely knowledgeable and willing to share his knowledge. Eric cooked both breakfasts for us and he is a great cook ! He is also very kind and attentive. They both made us feel like we were visiting friends rather than paying customers. We chose the Magnolia room since it was described as the most quiet, and indeed we did not hear any traffic from Logan circle. The mattress was brand new and firm and we slept like babies. I was a bit surprised to see the beds were not made when we came back the first evening, but I won't pretend I make it everyday at home, so that's not a big issue. There are a couple of parking slots at the back of the house, and the price for them is rather decent compared to other places in DC, so we were happy to leave our car there and use public transportation. There are 3 metro stations within 15 mn of the house, and the great restaurants and nightlife of Dupont Circle are a 15 mn walk away. Nice little cafes and a Whole Foods market within 5 mn walks. The White House and city center are about 20 mn away. This B&B is reasonably priced for DC and make a convenient base camp to explore and enjoy the capital.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Many thanks for this generous and informative review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early April 2013. The location is good but apart from that, this place has nothing to recommend it. It was overpriced (US$245 with taxes per night for one room) and under-serviced.
We were greeted by Carl (or Eric?) when we arrived and then saw no-one until we checked out. We were not given a phone number to call should anything go wrong.
The decor was tacky - dolls propped up on chairs, kitsch Edwardian framed posters and plastic flowers gathering dust. Although we didn't see anyone else in the b & b, there was music playing constantly which gave the whole place a kind of creepy, sinister feel.
All in all, the place looked sad and unloved.
There were no additional towels provided other than those we were issued with on the first day and the toiletries were of the cheapest type which made our skin itch. And instead of a drinking glass in the bathroom there were disposable plastic cups. We found nothing stylish or genteel or nice about this place (contrary to what they say on their webpage).

We came down to breakfast on the first morning to a table set for a crowd that never arrived (shades of the Mary Celeste)– we were the only ones in the breakfast room and there was no sign of Carl or Eric or any other guests. Aside from that the breakfast was inedible. A fruit salad that appeared to come from a can, some cheap supermarket bread for toasting with some dubious-looking jam, a soggy tasteless bread & butter pudding type thing that made us gag and some cold scrambled eggs. Urgh!!! We left and went out for breakfast that morning and the next as the food here was so awful.
Of the seven hotels and b & b's that we stayed at during our trip across the US, this was the second most expensive and the only one we had any issues with. (We loved everywhere else we stayed in the US).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We always look negative reviews over carefully and ask ourselves what we can do to improve our offerings. But this one is so out of line with the vast majority of our other reviews that it makes us wonder. A few facts: (1) Their per-night rate was about half what a typical hotel room in downtown DC would have cost for the time they were there – which was the peak of high season in DC. (As there were three adults staying in the room, it worked out to $81 per person/night.) (2) This is an actual residence, not a hotel, so there is not a lot of foot traffic in and out, which these guests seem to prefer. (3) All guests are given a list of five phone numbers, including Carl's and Eric's, the house phone, the booking agency, and our personal cell, in case they need something and they don’t see anyone around at the time. (4) There is an authentic late 19th century porcelain doll sitting in the authentic late 18th-century Bishop’s Chair of Italian provenance in the front parlor. We don’t believe it is tacky in the slightest. (5) The room they stayed in has three framed, intact Washington Evening Star Sunday Magazines (not posters) dating to c. 1890-1918, with “Gibson Girl” portraits by Charles Dana Gibson himself on the covers. These are souvenirs of Don’s first newspaper job (though Don worked at the Star considerably later than the 1890s). (5) Our house music is Baroque and Ragtime, both of which we believe fit the settings. We don’t find Vivaldi a bit creepy. (6) The only toiletry we provide, and have for years, is Lord & Mayfair soap, which is not at all cheap, and, according to their website, is “made with essences of chamomile, henna, apricot, orange and aloe vera – nature’s sweetest balms. Mildly formulated to cleanse, invigorate and soften the skin.” (7) They had a full compliment of toweling for their two-night stay, and could have had more if they had asked. (8) Although we were 100% booked during the time these folks were here, by their own account the first morning they took a look around the dining room and left before either Carl or Eric emerged from the kitchen, or the other guests arrived, and didn’t return the next morning. Which is a shame, because the breakfast conversations around our candle-lit table can be quite fun. (Btw, the French family staying with us during the same period left an extravagantly nice thank-you in our guest book.) (9) The food review is surprisingly detailed seeing that they didn’t stay to eat. It is completely at odds with all the praise we’ve received over the years (and request for recipes), for which we are most grateful. We put out a variety of fresh breads each morning, the jams are choice, hot food is kept hot on a hotplate, and the fruit cups are always from scratch made every morning – never canned! But, as the saying goes, you can’t please all the people all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I wanted to like this place, so I will give the pluses first -- it is conveniently located (on Logan Circle), the house is very attractive from the outside, my room was large, and the two men who are there on alternate days are very friendly. Breakfasts were good, although the quantity of food available was modest. However, the negatives clearly outweigh the positives. The inside of the house is rather dilapidated -- I appreciate the challenges of renovating and maintaining an old house, but much of the renovation is of poor qualiy (poor paint jobs, uneven walls) and there is peeling paint almost everywhere that you look. The place REALLY needs a good cleaning -- there was a thick layer of dirt/dust on the window frames in my room. And...they never did any cleaning or room maintenance during the four nights that I was there -- they didn't even make the bed! I have never stayed in a B&B before with so little service. There is also tremendous traffic noise (trucks, buses, horns, car alarms) that begins around 5:30 every morning -- the rooms have sound machines to mask the outside noise, but the outside noise overwhelms the machines. Given the price point (nearly $200 per night). I expected more charm and more service, and will look elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, book the room in the back (away from the street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We are sorry we did not live up to this guest’s expectations. We’ve read this review over several times in hopes of finding something we could fix on our end. In our 18 years of operation this is the first complaint we’ve had about the amounts of breakfast food served. We prepare more than enough for the guests attending our served, family-style breakfasts (not buffet), and always can make more in a jiffy if requested. “Rather dilapidated” is in the eye of the beholder, and is certainly at odds with comments we have received praising the grandeur of the house. “Peeling paint almost everywhere that you look” is simply not true. We seriously doubt there was a “thick layer of dirt/dust on the window frames in my room,” but we certainly will redouble our efforts to make every room “my mother’s-house clean,” as one previous guest put it, and which is our goal. We will make up beds on request, but do not employ a fulltime housekeeping staff to do this on a regular basis, which would force us to charge significantly higher rates, putting us into the realm of comparable commercial lodgings in downtown-area hotels.

By the way, a look at this guest’s history as a reviewer on TripAdvisor indicates that he/she tends to stay at hotels and motels (nine of eleven reviews) and gives them the highest ratings. The only two identifiably authentic B&Bs (two reviews, including us) received the worst. The other recipient received the comment, “A little weird to be there for business.“ Although we welcome business travelers and have gotten good reviews from them, our conclusion is that this guest probably would be happier sticking with motels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We travel to DC a couple time per year to see our college student son. Have stayed in various locales, but not this one. We stayed 3 nights. This was very convenient for going downtown to the "sites" or getting to the metro to go elsewhere. Use the bus system! It gets you a lot of places the train doesn't. And the stop is right on Logan Circle. Nice choices of bars/restaurants to walk to from the B &B. The accommodations and breakfast were basic B&B, but that translated to very affordable lodging for DC! Thanks to the hosts for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in #4 which is the owners room, with king bed. Nice big room. The mattress is pretty har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for all the good words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Address: 13th and P St., Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old world charm of our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House, at Historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall a block from the house. Washington's Convention center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 3 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Children welcome and off-street parking is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle to your Saves list