We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice about staying here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
13th and P St., Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Think twice about staying here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I wanted to like this place, so I will give the pluses first -- it is conveniently located (on Logan Circle), the house is very attractive from the outside, my room was large, and the two men who are there on alternate days are very friendly. Breakfasts were good, although the quantity of food available was modest. However, the negatives clearly outweigh the positives. The inside of the house is rather dilapidated -- I appreciate the challenges of renovating and maintaining an old house, but much of the renovation is of poor qualiy (poor paint jobs, uneven walls) and there is peeling paint almost everywhere that you look. The place REALLY needs a good cleaning -- there was a thick layer of dirt/dust on the window frames in my room. And...they never did any cleaning or room maintenance during the four nights that I was there -- they didn't even make the bed! I have never stayed in a B&B before with so little service. There is also tremendous traffic noise (trucks, buses, horns, car alarms) that begins around 5:30 every morning -- the rooms have sound machines to mask the outside noise, but the outside noise overwhelms the machines. Given the price point (nearly $200 per night). I expected more charm and more service, and will look elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, book the room in the back (away from the street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We are sorry we did not live up to this guest’s expectations. We’ve read this review over several times in hopes of finding something we could fix on our end. In our 18 years of operation this is the first complaint we’ve had about the amounts of breakfast food served. We prepare more than enough for the guests attending our served, family-style breakfasts (not buffet), and always can make more in a jiffy if requested. “Rather dilapidated” is in the eye of the beholder, and is certainly at odds with comments we have received praising the grandeur of the house. “Peeling paint almost everywhere that you look” is simply not true. We seriously doubt there was a “thick layer of dirt/dust on the window frames in my room,” but we certainly will redouble our efforts to make every room “my mother’s-house clean,” as one previous guest put it, and which is our goal. We will make up beds on request, but do not employ a fulltime housekeeping staff to do this on a regular basis, which would force us to charge significantly higher rates, putting us into the realm of comparable commercial lodgings in downtown-area hotels.

By the way, a look at this guest’s history as a reviewer on TripAdvisor indicates that he/she tends to stay at hotels and motels (nine of eleven reviews) and gives them the highest ratings. The only two identifiably authentic B&Bs (two reviews, including us) received the worst. The other recipient received the comment, “A little weird to be there for business.“ Although we welcome business travelers and have gotten good reviews from them, our conclusion is that this guest probably would be happier sticking with motels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    27
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
47
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
River Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We travel to DC a couple time per year to see our college student son. Have stayed in various locales, but not this one. We stayed 3 nights. This was very convenient for going downtown to the "sites" or getting to the metro to go elsewhere. Use the bus system! It gets you a lot of places the train doesn't. And the stop is right on Logan Circle. Nice choices of bars/restaurants to walk to from the B &B. The accommodations and breakfast were basic B&B, but that translated to very affordable lodging for DC! Thanks to the hosts for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in #4 which is the owners room, with king bed. Nice big room. The mattress is pretty har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for all the good words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

What an amazing house. Really a step back in time. The house was very comfortable, we loved all the period furniture, and wow! those pocket doors. Terrific view out the 1st floor window of the 'circle'. Eric and Carl were very helpful and cooked some wonderful breakfasts. The house was very close to the Metro subway and bus lines. Used both, worked very well. Would come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia room,comfortable bed,clean bathroom,quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks aceeman. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I came here with my boyfriend for two nights in late March. We had never stayed in a bed and breakfast and now I'll never stay anywhere else! The house is a beautiful, authentic Victorian with much of its original structure and furnishings. The host, Carl, knew so much about the house's history and the area, and he was very sweet and funny. Breakfast was delicious and definitely worth rising early (8 am sharp!). We stayed in the Magnolia room, which is the quietest room as it faces away from the street, and I slept like a baby. Everything about the room was clean and it had everything we needed, including a firm mattress. The neighborhood is charming and adorable, like being transported back in time. We went to two of the suggested restaurants/coffee shops and both were fantastic. We went during the off-season so the room rate was lower, but even the peak-season rate is completely worth it! Private parking was a huge plus. My favorite part about the house was all its little quirks - original gas lamps (they aren't operational of course), the scent of old carved wood, the dumbwaiter in the dining room, the step-down bathroom. I visit D.C. somewhat often and I'll definitely be coming back to the Chester A. Arthur House!

Room Tip: The Magnolia Room is the quietest room and has a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Your review made our day! It’s such a joy to have guests who like what we’re doing and take the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My stay at the Chester A Arthur B &B was everying I hoped it would be and more. Our hosts Carl & Eric were very helpful and gave great insights to areas to visit. Breakfast was wonderful! The house was built in 1883 and has so much charm. The website photos are very true. Love having a private bath and the mini fridge was very welcome. Wonderful neighborhood, can walk to so many places, which I did. I look forward to staying there again

Room Tip: My stay was in the Magnolia Room, in the rear of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks so much. It was a pleasure having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a lovely B& B, a victorian home built in 1883, so if you are looking for alot of modern furnishings and appliances presented within the shell of an older home, this is not the place for you. We stayed here for a conference at the DC Convention Center which is only a few blocks away and the location was great. In addition, parking was provided behind the house. Standing in Logan Circle at night (when there is little or no traffic) is like stepping back in time. Walking up to the B&B is also like stepping back in time - the wooden staircase, the beautiful moldings, the pocketdoors to the parlor and the furnishings in the public areas are all period-perfect. The hosts, Eric and Carl, are friendly and gracious and prepare delicious breakfasts. Our bedroom was large, and the queen size bed was comfortable. The steam heat in March was loud and heated up the room so much that we turned on the air-conditioner (the vents needed a good dusting). The bathroom was old (not from the 1880s - but old) though everything worked fine. We were a little surprised by two things: the TV in our large room was tiny and across the room. Watching it as you lay in bed, you could only see your toes. Although the room decor was of the period which is part of the ambiance of the house, a larger TV would have been nice. Secondly, the only thing provided in the bathroom was soap - there was no shampoo, conditioner, or body lotion. Its a little thing, but something that makes a guest feel a bit pampered when they are traveling. These things aside, staying in the B& B felt like we were experiencing a little bit of Washington DC history.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks for your nice comments. We chose the TVs in the guest rooms (17" diagonal flatscreens) as a compromise between providing cable TV, and trying not to take too much away from the Victorian ambience. We've also always been concerned that setting out shampoo, conditioner, etc., would make us look too much like a motel or commercial hotel - something we go to some lengths to avoid. In everything we do we try to recreate the 19th-century houseguest experience, with modern conveniences. We do have the amenities you mention on hand in case they are requested, though we've found most guests prefer their own shampoo, etc. However, your comment has given us cause to look at this in a new light. We certainly DO want our guests to feel "pampered;" so we have decided to start providing these amenities. Thanks for your suggestion and persuasive way of putting it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was my first visit to Washington DC and I had no idea where to stay. I stumbled upon Chester Arthur House and decided to give it a go. What a little gem. The house is in a great location which is close to amazing restaurants which are all in walking distance. The bedrooms are clean and spacious with their own lovely bathrooms. This house has lots of history which adds to the experience. The hosting was impeccable - Both hosts were extremely friendly and super helpful. This house is a B&B and the breakfasts are made fresh every morning. One word to describe the breakfasts - delicious!! I will definitely return to this place on my next visit. For a first time visitor to DC or for just a short business trip this is lovely accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel
Address: 13th and P St., Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old world charm of our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House, at Historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall a block from the house. Washington's Convention center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 3 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Children welcome and off-street parking is available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle to your Saves list