We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian charm in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Save Saved
You added Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle to your Saves list
13th and P St., Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
new york city
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Victorian charm in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a lovely B& B, a victorian home built in 1883, so if you are looking for alot of modern furnishings and appliances presented within the shell of an older home, this is not the place for you. We stayed here for a conference at the DC Convention Center which is only a few blocks away and the location was great. In addition, parking was provided behind the house. Standing in Logan Circle at night (when there is little or no traffic) is like stepping back in time. Walking up to the B&B is also like stepping back in time - the wooden staircase, the beautiful moldings, the pocketdoors to the parlor and the furnishings in the public areas are all period-perfect. The hosts, Eric and Carl, are friendly and gracious and prepare delicious breakfasts. Our bedroom was large, and the queen size bed was comfortable. The steam heat in March was loud and heated up the room so much that we turned on the air-conditioner (the vents needed a good dusting). The bathroom was old (not from the 1880s - but old) though everything worked fine. We were a little surprised by two things: the TV in our large room was tiny and across the room. Watching it as you lay in bed, you could only see your toes. Although the room decor was of the period which is part of the ambiance of the house, a larger TV would have been nice. Secondly, the only thing provided in the bathroom was soap - there was no shampoo, conditioner, or body lotion. Its a little thing, but something that makes a guest feel a bit pampered when they are traveling. These things aside, staying in the B& B felt like we were experiencing a little bit of Washington DC history.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks for your nice comments. We chose the TVs in the guest rooms (17" diagonal flatscreens) as a compromise between providing cable TV, and trying not to take too much away from the Victorian ambience. We've also always been concerned that setting out shampoo, conditioner, etc., would make us look too much like a motel or commercial hotel - something we go to some lengths to avoid. In everything we do we try to recreate the 19th-century houseguest experience, with modern conveniences. We do have the amenities you mention on hand in case they are requested, though we've found most guests prefer their own shampoo, etc. However, your comment has given us cause to look at this in a new light. We certainly DO want our guests to feel "pampered;" so we have decided to start providing these amenities. Thanks for your suggestion and persuasive way of putting it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    31
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
60
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was my first visit to Washington DC and I had no idea where to stay. I stumbled upon Chester Arthur House and decided to give it a go. What a little gem. The house is in a great location which is close to amazing restaurants which are all in walking distance. The bedrooms are clean and spacious with their own lovely bathrooms. This house has lots of history which adds to the experience. The hosting was impeccable - Both hosts were extremely friendly and super helpful. This house is a B&B and the breakfasts are made fresh every morning. One word to describe the breakfasts - delicious!! I will definitely return to this place on my next visit. For a first time visitor to DC or for just a short business trip this is lovely accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My Mom was coming into town and her allergies don't let her stay with us and our dog. The Magnolia room was a perfect choice, a lovely setting to come home to at the end of our evening. I was also able to join her and the other guests for breakfast the next morning for a small charge -- tasty food and nice conversation with an Australian family traveling through. Very positive experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We were so glad to have your Mom, and glad to know she enjoyed herself. Thanks for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a lovely B & B. The rooms are spacious yet cozy, homey yet elegant. The bathroom large, the kitchenette functional (it could use some dishes and a few more utensils). The bed, comforter and sofa are soft. Homemade breakfast and coffee were excellent. The Inn Keepers were gracious and very knowledgeable about the city. Do keep the number of your host on hand, as they do not live there and you do want them to be there when you arrive. Logan Circle is a fine location, not far from the metro, Whole Foods, theatre and dining. However, there is quite a bit of traffic and the old windows do little to dull the noise of car horns, motorcades and frequent ambulances. Wi Fi and television went in and out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Sometimes on-line photos really make accommodations look roomier, cleaner, more gleaming and upscale than they really are. Chester Arthur house fully lived up to expectations. The Logan room is spacious, well maintained, the bathroom is the only part of the house (other than the kitchen) that is quite modern (but still esthetically matching the house), the living room, dining room, even the stairs are beautiful. The staff serves breakfast as a work of art - the only caution would be, if there are ingredients you don't eat, let them know. Fruit, meat or eggs, toast, pancakes... all skillfully done. G2 bus right outside the door, and not a bad walk to Du Pont Circle or Lafayette Square. Very nice location.

Room Tip: We loved the Logan room. Front view of the circle, plenty of space, nice bathroom. There is, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We love it when business travelers discover us. Thanks for the nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We enjoyed a two-day stay shortly after Christmas.The local architecture is charming. Location quite convenient to DuPont Circle dining, Philips Collection art gallery, National Geographic, etc. Our host for the entire stay, Carl, served nice breakfasts and was a most pleasant conversationalist.
David & Beverly Brumbaugh

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks for your good words, and glad you got to the Phillips Collection. It is one of DC’s hidden treasures and a “must” if you like French Impressionism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A lovely and comfortable guest house, with great hosts and fab breakfasts. Excellent location with all main sights within walking distance. However, if travelling alone please be aware that hosts do not live on site so if you are the only guest, you may be on your own in the house.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Address: 13th and P St., Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old world charm of our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House, at Historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall a block from the house. Washington's Convention center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 3 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Children welcome and off-street parking is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.