We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy old place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Save
You added Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle to your Saves list
23 Logan Circle, NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Groningen, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cozy old place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This B&B is in a beautiful old house that has been lovingly restored. All the rooms have nice details and beautiful furnishings, and the housekeeper showing us around told many interesting stories about the rooms and their history. Despite being really old, both the bed and the shower were very comfortable!
The breakfast was great, including fresh fruit and some very tasty home-made warm dishes. The house fronts on a circle or roundabout that can be quite noisy late at night, so ask for one of the rooms in the back for a quiet night (we stayed in the Magnolia room). It is quite far away from the subway, but busses stop close by. There are some nice restaurants close by on P Street.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    32
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
62
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our stay at the Chester Arthur House was our second stay at a bed and breakfast. The furniture and decorations are all of the original period which creates a really nice change from typical hotels. The cost of our stay also was significantly less than it would have been at local hotels. The two hosts that saw to the needs of our stay were polite, informative, and responsive to our requests. The home's location was nicer than I had imagined and the neighborhood seemed quiet enough. The train in from DCA airport is short enough and the walk to the monuments and museums is only about 10 to 15 minutes depending on where you're headed. We stayed in the Magnolia Room and heard no noise from the outside world. The only real suggestion I would have would be to have a healthier breakfast. That said, freshly cut fruit and yogurt was served each morning alongside the main course. As someone who travels for a living and spends many nights in pricey hotels, the Chester Arthur house is a very nice way to stay while away from home.

Room Tip: Bring good walking shoes and engage the hosts. They are very informative and can help you make the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I have stayed in quite a few B&Bs and they are always interesting. This one is a bit rough round the edges, but the house was built in the 1800s, so I am not expecting a perfect plastic experience. The breakfast is served promptly at 8 am, which seems a bit early for a weekend morning. It was delicious and we especially loved the generous portions of fresh fruit and yogurt. I usually like to sleep in a bit later on the weekends and had a bit of a jolt keeping up with the extra-early (for me) witty morning banter. I know it is a b&b and that is part of it, which I usually like - just need an extra hour or two for my morning charms to appear.... Super comfy mattress was much appreciated and the sound machine was wonderful to block out the city noise. Lovely coverlet on the beautiful antique bed. Very kind and courteous hosts seemed genuinely interested in making us feel welcome and comfortable. Great location in a fabulous and fun neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We are grateful for the nice words, but very concerned about the “rough round the edges” comment. By the guest’s next sentence about the house having been built in the 1800s (1883), and thus he/she was not expecting a “perfect plastic experience,” we gather he/she was referring to the fact that our plaster walls and ceilings, and copious amounts of varnished woodwork (including hall paneling and nine fireplace mantels), are all original, and do not look brand new. That is quite correct, purposefully so. We keep everything shined up, painted and in good repair, and do not plan on replacing good 19th-century plaster with wallboard, which would give a completely different experience. “Rough around the edges” is a little harsh though, we believe. We like to think our house is a museum-quality restoration – and one that you can actually step into, rather than viewing from behind a rope barrier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

It was incredible stay in a 1830 former house of a secretary of tresury of a US President!!!
The house is in original shape, luxury and confortable, service excellent and great location!!!
The best B&B I have been!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Chester Arthur House in Logan Circle is conveniently located close to the convention center yet walkable to Georgetown. We were in town for a convention and were very pleased with the location. We had a spacious room with a step down small bathroom. Comfortable bed. Our hosts Eric and Carl were very accommodating and helpful with directions, etc.. Breakfast was good starting each morning with a fresh fruit, french toast or quiche, etc. coffee,
The only negative thing I have to say is overall the house in my opinion needs to be brightened up and appears a bit 'tired' in need of a few interior repairs that probably need to be professionally addressed in order to keep with the lovely character of the house.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We appreciate so much the compliments. Just want to mention that since this guest stayed, several rooms along with the two front parlors have been “brightened-up” with fresh coats of paint and repairs where needed, all professionally done. Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

The old home is lovely but if you don't sleep with a bit of noise, ask for the quieter rooms at the back of the house overlooking the garden.
Logan circle is a great spot to stay, lots of food options & activity into the night, a very vibrant area.
Your hosts and breakfast are also great, I just wish those creamy breakfasts really were fat free!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAlester, Oklahoma
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Located in a quiet historic district you aren't far from all the fun things to see and do. Don, the owner is a wealth of info and the hosts Carl and Eric start your day with fabalous breakfasts. It is a short walk to the bus stop or the rail which will take you all over the city or most places are in walking distance. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Address: 23 Logan Circle, NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old world charm of our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House, at Historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall a block from the house. Washington's Convention center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 3 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Children welcome and off-street parking is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.