We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room with a View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Save
You added Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle to your Saves list
23 Logan Circle, NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Waterloo, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Room with a View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I recently had the opportunity to stay at this B & B. It was great! Even though this is a large Victorian home, it felt very cozy. The rooms are all decorated with period furniture and each room has a private bath; a bonus in the B & B world. The hosts were very gracious and welcoming. I was treated as a valued guest, but felt like family. Eric and Carl were very personable and friendly; eager to share their knowledge of the DC area. The breakfasts were delicious and it was wonderful talking to the other guests. I have often stayed at a hotel during my visits to DC, but the only thing that would entice me to stay at one again would be the availability of a pool. It is located within walking distance of many points of interests as well several good restaurants. I really enjoyed this experience and felt it was a great value!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    40
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
69
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

After shopping around for a hotel located in walking distance to the National Mall, we chose to stay at this B & B. The nightly rate for this B&B was about the same as the no-thrills, one and two star hotels, and much, much cheaper than the nicer brand-name hotels.

We stayed for 6 nights in October 2011, and we would recommend the Chester Arthur house.

Our hosts, Eric and Carl, were friendly, informative, accommodating, cordial, and fantastic chefs. Each breakfast was delicious, perfectly prepared, and would rival the best D.C. restaurants. The fresh blueberries over French toast, the Eggs Lorraine and other dishes were fantastic, and my wife’s special dietary request was met and served to her every morning.

The house is an old, beautiful home. While some guests may be turned off by the older, worn furnishings, or the squeaky floors and doors, we found the house to be full of charm, beauty, and character. Most of the decor, hard-wood floors, light fixtures, and furnishings are original to this 125-year-old home. Yet, our room had the modern comforts of cable TV, wi-fi, air-conditioning, a small refrigerator, hair-dryer, iron and ironing board. You have to realize that this is not a modern hotel, rather it’s somebody’s home--a very old home.

We felt like welcomed guests in this house, and we found all guests to be quiet and respectful of each other. At first, we thought it may be uncomfortable to share a dining room table with strangers each morning, but we met some wonderful people from across the U.S., Canada and Germany. Each morning we all shared our previous day’s adventures and exchanged sightseeing tips and ideas with each other.

Our hosts also accommodated our special request regarding towels, as fresh towels are provided on every third day. We, however, asked for fresh towels each day, and each day our host graciously left a set of fresh towels in our bathroom.

The home is about a 20-25 minute walk to the National Mall, and there are some great places to eat near Logan Circle and around Dupont Circle, which is only a 15 minute walk from the B&B. Luna Grill in Dupont Circle was our favorite.

The area felt safe and appeared to be safe when walking at night.

This was our first time staying in a B&B, and our hosts made our stay very enjoyable and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed for three nights in DC in late August and decided to try a B&B; we are not experienced B&B people, but do like old houses and thought this was a good way to learn more about the history of this area of DC. The hosts were very nice and helpful and the breakfasts were also very tasty. We wound up spending more time in the room than we had expected after realizing that trying to see all the historic sites in DC in three days wasnt practical. It's easy to feel comfortable there, especially since we were the only ones there after the first day. B&Bs seem to attract people who love people and want to interact, so what you might imagine would be an awkward breakfast sitting at a table with strangers actually turned out to be delightful. The transoms over the doors were very neat as well as the bay windows overlooking Logan Circle. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

All in all, a good experience. We stayed 5 nights. We had some concern about street noise that others reported (although the neighborhood is not all that loud), so we asked for the quietest room and got Magnolia and had no noise problems at all. That room is small but comfortable in bed, decor and atmosphere. However, maybe in the effort to maintain the vintage look, the owners have let things become a little grungy - the closet area was pretty antiquated, wiring along the floor, decrepit paint in places. As others have said, the downstairs parlor is quite elegant. Wi-fi internet worked fine. Breakfast was typically good mixed fruit, toast, and a hot dish, usually of eggs. We did request an alternative once and the next day got cereal and excellent pancakes. The hosts were courteous and helpful, though not visibly around very much. One demerit - the bed was never made up during our stay. Also, the room card says towels are changed every 3 days, but this never happened until one of us got them from the linen cupboard in the hall. The location turns out to be good, but it takes a little exploring and figuring. We found the local bus lines 2 blocks away to be much more useful than the nearest Metro for getting into the major tourist areas like the Mall. We felt no concern about the neighborhood -- Logan Circle has evidently come up a great deal in just the past few years, and there are lots of restaurants a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
We much appreciate the good words. We agree that their closet, while it is always kept rigorously clean, could use some sprucing-up, including fresh coats of paint and varnish, and we are doing that. We sincerely apologize for missing their towel changes. That should never happen, and the staff has been so advised. We do wish they had mentioned this at the time, and it would have been taken care of right away. Regarding local travel options: all of us are experts in that field, and are always happy to advise when asked. There are better options than they discovered on their own.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Another visit to Washington DC, another lovely stay at the beautiful Chester A. Arthur Bed and Breakfast. This charming B&B is my favorite place to stay in Washington because it makes me feel like I'm living in a glorious past. From the moment you walk through the front door you are greeted with a splendor preserved from the 1800's - gilded chandeliers and period furniture welcome you to another time. The rooms are big and the beds comfortable; I am always impressed with the care of the bathrooms. I stay in a lot of B&B's and this is one of my favorites - away from the tourist-y part of DC but close enough to get anywhere I need to be in about 15 minutes. Breakfast is always a treat and a great way to start the day - lots of hot coffee and I don't have to make any decisions!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I was disappointed with my recent stay at the Chester A Arthur B&B. The wooden front doors did not lock -- the metal gate did -- but there was a trick to locking it and I noticed most people did NOT lock is correctly. I was concerned with people from the street walking in and easily busting through the flimsy dead bolt on the bedroom door. The room was lovely but don't get the one facing the street unless you live on a busy street and are used to the noise. Even with earplugs it was loud. The breakfasts were only so so -- I was disappointed with the food. The location is great as long as you don't need a taxi -- as it is in a residential neighborhood and I had to walk 5 long blocks before finally catching one.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
When a guest is disappointed, so are we. A couple of comments: The lock on the iron gate is easy to operate and keeps our house very secure. In our 17 years we’ve never had a break-in – or crime of any kind. Street sounds: we are in the middle of the city. Some guests are more sensitive to city sounds than others. Our quietest place is the Magnolia Room – so named for the 40-foot magnolia tree it overlooks in our back yard. The only sounds you’re likely to hear here are songbirds and mourning doves. Taxis: A main thoroughfare with plenty of taxis (14th Street) is one block away. Two blocks away is a 340-room hotel that always has a string of taxis queued up. Or one can call a taxi to the door – Diamond Cab Co. is three blocks from our house and they usually respond within five minutes. Food: our guest books are full of gushes for our cooks, both of whom have professional chef experience. Offerings include frittatas, quiche, egg cup with ham and cherry tomatoes, praline French toast casserole, eggs Lorraine, stuffed French toast, turkey bacon and sausage (healthy), squeezed juice, plenty of steaming hot Starbuck coffee, and a variety of teas available around-the-clock. (Btw, the guest didn’t mention that after the first morning she invited four colleagues from the conference she was attending to join us the next day.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

The Chester Arthur House is situated on a very busy road. Close to restaurants & shops. A 10/15 minute walk to the nearest Metro.
We were greeted by our host Carl who was like an american Graham Norton(his words not mine!) Very friendly who liked to talk. I got on well with him.

We'd booked the Magnolia Room. It was okay, nothing special. A bit of a mix match going on with the furniture. Could of done with a bit of dusting too. However the bed was very comfy.

Breakfast was served at 8am!!! We attended breakfast the first morning which was a bit weird. We were served like a bread & butter pudding with some very well done rashers of turkey. There was also fruit salad (ok) & bread for toasting. Juice & coffee. No cereal option which was a shame. Your sat on a table with the other guests which is nice but not at 8am when your not even properly awake. Would of been nice to have had an option to come down a bit later really. We bought our own cereal & milk for the following morning.

Overall it is an okay B&B. Carl was the highlight of the visit though.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Breakfast: Because most of our guests want to get a reasonably early start on their day, we open our dining room doors at 8 a.m. so they can be out by 9; but guests can come down as late as 9. These guests never mentioned wanting milk and cereal, which are always available, and we weren’t aware of them bringing in their own. Henceforth we’ll make doubly sure guests understand the breakfast hours and that cold cereal is an option: both items are on the list of things we mention at check-in. Furnishings: The Magnolia Room has a matching three-piece c. 1870 Renaissance Revival bedroom set (authentic), a Sheraton style writing desk and chair, and two gas-lamp wall fixtures original to our 1883 house. Since receiving this comment we have removed the single non-matching piece: a bookcase that we’ve determined has been rarely if ever used.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Washington Plaza
Washington Plaza
#39 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,543 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Akwaaba DC
Akwaaba DC
#4 of 33 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast
Embassy Circle Guest House
#2 of 33 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Address: 23 Logan Circle, NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old-world charm with modern conveniences at our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House at historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall. Washington's Convention Center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 4 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Well-behaved children welcome, and off-street parking is available. Daily maid service on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.