We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, homey feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celia's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Celia's Place
Save
You added Celia's Place to your Saves list
3rd and C St. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice, homey feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This isn't a high-end, clinical hotel...it's more like staying at someone's home. The room is very comfortable and clean, and having a sitting room was great. (Plus, there are books everywhere!) The location couldn't be better. I was able to walk everywhere and didn't have to use the metro, so even if this place might be pricier than others, you save money that way. The breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
10
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The location was excellent, within walking distance to main attractions, restaurants and mini marts.our host Celia made us feel very welcome and comfortable staying in her home.The rooms were small however well appointe, homely and clean. This was our first experience at a B and B and would definitely return and also recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My second stay at Celia's to join in the celebration of the 50th Anniversary March on Washington. and as great as the first. Perfect location, lovely home, delicious breakfast, and very, very gracious and helpful hostess! This is an ideal location for visiting the Capitol!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was in DC for the birth of my granddaughter. I stayed with Celia for three very busy weeks and she could not have been more accommodating! I was able to travel with my bike. The public pool is located next to Eastern Market. A fitness center is two blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The location can't be beat. I was there for business and needed to spend time on Capitol Hill. The inn is across the street from one of the Library of Congress buildings, a 5 minute walk to the House office buildings, and a 10 minute walk to the Senate office buildings. Celia is a wonderful host. Breakfast is simple, but exactly what I wanted--fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, hot coffee, toast, juice, etc. The price is excellent for the location. I recommend this place for solo stays although the bed would be small for couples. The sitting room attached to the bedroom is a big plus, although wifi signal is weak there. The bathroom being attached to the hallway rather than the bedroom isn't ideal. The home is very, very charming and it provides for a unique experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Spent five nights at Celia's Place in late May 2013. Did some B&B research to find it, but had no idea it would turn out to be SUCH an interesting experience. Two blocks from the Capitol and four blocks from Capitol South Metro station, it is also within easy walking distance of the Eastern Market and several excellent restaurants on 7th and 8th Streets. The home is full of art of all kinds and fascinating photographs; accommodations were perfect for a solo traveler. Guests must be aware that the stairs are pretty narrow, so large luggage could be a nuisance. The double bed is ideal for one person. Bedroom leads to another sunny reading room in which guests have access to a washer and dryer. Cute back yard was filled with flowering plants and four sun chairs that would have been wonderful to relax in with a book or glass of wine if I'd had time. Breakfast was a yummy mix of fresh fruits, with Greek yogurt, and several breads from Firehook Bakery--the walnut cranberry was scrumptious! Good coffee too. Enjoyed talking with Celia each morning and loved playing with the braver of her two gorgeous black cats, Maggie. Celia gave me some excellent suggestions on highlights to see during my stay; she has traveled widely and that provided more good conversation. Two framed book covers let me know that Celia is an author; not until I returned home was I able to research more and find out that she has written four books! Conveying these discoveries to two of my close friends in CA, I was astonished when they claimed her as a classmate from the University of Texas, Austin!! I'm amazed that sheer chance led me to this B&B and I hope to stay with Celia again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent warm welcome with a delightful hostess. Well situated Bed and Breakfast. Wonderful private quarters in a period house.Healthy breakfast. Walking distance to metro. Ideal for business and pleasure.Fasinating converstation and helpful tips about DC.Walking distance to good eating places..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celia's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celia's Place

Address: 3rd and C St. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celia’s Place offers the closest access to the National Mall, the Smithsonian and the Monuments. Located at 3rd and Independence Ave SE, for tourists or researchers the home is literally across the street from the Library of Congress. Visitors can walk there or to the U.S. Capitol, Supreme Court, Folger Shakespeare Library and Theatre, the National Gallery of Art, Botanic Gardens, Air and Space Museum and the new American Indian Museum. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celia's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.