We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, overall great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celia's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Celia's Place
Save
You added Celia's Place to your Saves list
3rd and C St. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location, overall great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The location can't be beat. I was there for business and needed to spend time on Capitol Hill. The inn is across the street from one of the Library of Congress buildings, a 5 minute walk to the House office buildings, and a 10 minute walk to the Senate office buildings. Celia is a wonderful host. Breakfast is simple, but exactly what I wanted--fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, hot coffee, toast, juice, etc. The price is excellent for the location. I recommend this place for solo stays although the bed would be small for couples. The sitting room attached to the bedroom is a big plus, although wifi signal is weak there. The bathroom being attached to the hallway rather than the bedroom isn't ideal. The home is very, very charming and it provides for a unique experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
10
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Spent five nights at Celia's Place in late May 2013. Did some B&B research to find it, but had no idea it would turn out to be SUCH an interesting experience. Two blocks from the Capitol and four blocks from Capitol South Metro station, it is also within easy walking distance of the Eastern Market and several excellent restaurants on 7th and 8th Streets. The home is full of art of all kinds and fascinating photographs; accommodations were perfect for a solo traveler. Guests must be aware that the stairs are pretty narrow, so large luggage could be a nuisance. The double bed is ideal for one person. Bedroom leads to another sunny reading room in which guests have access to a washer and dryer. Cute back yard was filled with flowering plants and four sun chairs that would have been wonderful to relax in with a book or glass of wine if I'd had time. Breakfast was a yummy mix of fresh fruits, with Greek yogurt, and several breads from Firehook Bakery--the walnut cranberry was scrumptious! Good coffee too. Enjoyed talking with Celia each morning and loved playing with the braver of her two gorgeous black cats, Maggie. Celia gave me some excellent suggestions on highlights to see during my stay; she has traveled widely and that provided more good conversation. Two framed book covers let me know that Celia is an author; not until I returned home was I able to research more and find out that she has written four books! Conveying these discoveries to two of my close friends in CA, I was astonished when they claimed her as a classmate from the University of Texas, Austin!! I'm amazed that sheer chance led me to this B&B and I hope to stay with Celia again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent warm welcome with a delightful hostess. Well situated Bed and Breakfast. Wonderful private quarters in a period house.Healthy breakfast. Walking distance to metro. Ideal for business and pleasure.Fasinating converstation and helpful tips about DC.Walking distance to good eating places..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Celia's was a wonderful place to stay for 1 week while celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary in DC. It was so very close to the Capital, Mall, subway and even rental bikes. We bonded quickly to her two beautiful and velvety soft black cats that we felt completely at home. We loved the guest sitting room off the bedroom both mornings and evenings before venturing out to see the city. Sitting in the back garden one evening was magical. Last, her kind gardener Al, even saved us from missing our flight home when we found out we had misunderstood the time we were leaving, and he drove us there in time. We would highly recommend visiting Celia's if you are going to be seeing the DC area for any length of time.

Room Tip: Let the cats smell your hand first. Maggie is the more friendly cat. Patience and brushing them is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Location: a very pretty neighborhood 2 blocks from the Capitol with public transportation and plenty of good restaurants close by.

Breakfast: Celia offered a wonderful fresh mixed berry/fruit salad, local bakery bread for toast, wide selection of cereals and juices, delicious coffee, Washington Post or NY Times papers, plus delightful conversation as you wish -- in a sunny dining room. There is joyful art wherever you look -- a wonderful way to start the day!

Room: Clean, with a very comfortable bed, TV, stacked washer/dryer in closet. It adjoins a bright sitting room with more fascinating art and a great selection of books -- the perfect setting to ponder all the monuments and museums you have visited during the day.

Hospitality: Celia is a welcoming, delightful, easy going and fascinating hostess! I had many great conversations with her (one of her gorgeous cats joined us occasionally) and learned about lesser known DC history and areas to explore.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had a brief 2-night stay during cold winter weather. It was a business visit. I found Celia's to be comfortable, like staying in a friend's extra guest room, which was exactly the mood I was looking for. The row house is narrow and the guest room has an attached sitting room that catches the morning sun and has a table to work on and a couch to sit on. Celia had just the right blend of being interested in her guest, and getting on with her own busy life and staying out of the guest's way. I thought it was perfect. The neighborhood has much to offer within walking distance and it would be delightful to return and explore more of the area. I would recommend this to single female travelers for sure.

Room Tip: There is only one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Lovely home with wonderful style. With books, artwork, and framed photography at every corner, along with the house's natural historic charm, it is definitely a peaceful and creative space. The bed and couch in sitting room are extremely comfortable!

I'm not a big breakfast person, but there was a large spread for me to choose from.

It's also around the corner from just about everything. When all closes in DC around 11p, there are a string of bars that are open with full delicious menus.

I only stayed in DC for a couple days, so I didn't get to see everything. But when I return, I'll definitely be giving Celia a call. She was courteous, sweet, funny, and very helpful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celia's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celia's Place

Address: 3rd and C St. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celia’s Place offers the closest access to the National Mall, the Smithsonian and the Monuments. Located at 3rd and Independence Ave SE, for tourists or researchers the home is literally across the street from the Library of Congress. Visitors can walk there or to the U.S. Capitol, Supreme Court, Folger Shakespeare Library and Theatre, the National Gallery of Art, Botanic Gardens, Air and Space Museum and the new American Indian Museum. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celia's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.