We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, upscale Mexican restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosa Mexicano - Chevy Chase - CLOSED

Rosa Mexicano - Chevy Chase
5225 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC
+1 202-777-9959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ingomar St NW
Transit: Red Line - Friendship Heights.
Description: Chevy Chase is our third Washington, DC area location. Launched in February 2012, this 150-seat restaurant includes spacious indoor, outdoor, and private dining seating. Blending traditional and modern elements of Mexican craft and architecture, the warm and vibrant decor features Rosa Mexicano’s signature hues of pinks and purples. Multi-dimensional art work complements rich fabrics and textures, as well as a floor-to-ceiling display of tequila bottles. Directly over the bar and extending into the dining lounge area, the ceiling glows with pink haze lighting that is set against an electric blue tiled cascading water wall, inspired by those at sister Rosa Mexicano locations. The enclosed patio area features a wall of vertical colored glass bands, creating a focal point from the street and exhibiting arrival for the Rosa Mexicano experience that awaits.The restaurant’s location is just steps away from Chevy Chase Pavilion and stores such as Neiman Marcus, Tiffany, Louis Vuitton, Barneys, Gucci and more, among a variety of restaurants and hotels.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Relaxed, upscale Mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This beautiful tablecloth and cloth napkin restaurant is one of a smallish chain of Mexican restaurants that offer typical Mexican tortilla dishes as well as fish and meat main courses. Their signature dish is guacamole made from scratch at table side in a lava mortar and pestle; it was wonderful either with chips or soft tortillas. Sangria was unremarkable but refreshing. Indifferent crab empanadas (3 per serving) were shared as appetizers as were a tasty collection of 3 different forms of seafood ceviche. The four of us enjoyed beef enchiladas with mole (chocolate) sauce, cheese enchiladas, but the most enjoyable (and most expensive) of the meals was the "Alambre a la Mexicana," tender, flavorful filet steak morsels interspersed with veggies, as if cooked on a skewer. Service was friendly and helpful, freely offering recommendations that were taken and enjoyed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    22
    13
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Overpriced but creative Mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My friend wanted to go to this restaurant and as I have never been, I went. One of their selling points is for someone to come to your table and make guacamole. This is not unusual (a number of restaurants do this now) but is still a nice touch. The chips and salsa they brought were nice, but not enough of either (tiny bowls of salsa).

The menu is unusual and has a lot of pork - makes it a challenge to find something that does not have pork. I also noticed that it was $18 for most dishes - a bit on the high end for a Mexican restaurant. Yet the food was tasty. I was just not anticipating a $50 bill for my lunch that day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Favorite Resturant in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Modern look, great food , great service. Their guac is amazing and made right in front of you. The drinks a great, the mole is amazing. Price for quality is good. Best place to go in the area if you like Modern Mexican. .. better then Mi Cocina!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A delight for the gluten-free diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I went here for our 15th wedding anniversary. We had heard about it because of its plentiful gluten-free menu. The GF menu had about as many options as my wife had ever seen.

The meal started off with two glasses of champagne, compliments of the restaurant (a nice touch). We then ordered the guacamole, hand made right at your table. We ordered it mild (spiciness), but would probably order it a higher spiciness level in the future. It was tasty, but definitely could have used some kick.

We both ordered the vegetarian soft tacos (I'm a vegan) and both really enjoyed it! There weren't a lot of vegan choices, but this one suited me just fine. Overall it was a good meal & left us satisfied. The service was just right - helpful with out being intrusive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
219 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Why oh why isn't it better?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Friendship Heights is crying out for non-gloopy, fresh food, moderately priced restaurants. I was thrilled to hear Rosa was opening. I've been six times in the last six months and every time I've been just a little more disappointed. The food is generally too sweet, the favours not balanced enough to make this a great restaurant. No zing. And, it's hard to attract attention from the wait staff. Do something, Management. This is a golden opportunity.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa Mexicano - Chevy Chase also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosa Mexicano - Chevy Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.