We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not easy to find but worth seeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Japanese American Memorial

National Japanese American Memorial
Intersection of New Jersey Ave, Louisiana Ave, and D Street NW, Washington DC, DC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
Attraction details
mt pleasant, wi
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“not easy to find but worth seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

As often as I have visited DC, this was the first time I had the time and energy to search for this memorial. It was well done with the cherry blossoms (not quite in bloom yet) and the names of each internment camp. The barbed wire crane sculpture well depicted this dark time in Japanese American history.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
478 reviews 478 reviews
153 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“MUST SEE - Moving memorial to a mistake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This gentle memorial calls our attention to a mistake - a huge one - that happened during WW II. It's a beautiful place that's easy to move as you walk by. From the sidewalk, the major feature is the pool with several large walks. It's only when you take one of the two paths "into" the memorial that you learn what it's about...the internment/imprisonment of entire families, without trial.

In this time full of statues and memorials to the heroic, this is a gentle, understated memorial to a mistake this US mad AND the heroism of Japanese Americans who fought valiantly against the Germans and Japanese. 10-15 minutes should do it but I strongly urge you to take the time to go there. It's about a 5 minute walk from the Union Station. Very much worth seeing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We made a point to visit this memorial because my teenage son is writing a research paper on the Japanese American internment during WWII. The setting is tranquil and absolutely beautiful. The quotes on the walls are touching. The Japanese Crane monument is dramatic and moving. I highly recommend a visit to this monument.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“It's a Memorial not a Museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The maps of the Washington, DC area lists this site as a museum which it is not. It is an outdoor memorial. It gives a brief history of Americans of Japanese Ancestry in the United States, the formation of the famed 442nd Regimental Combat Team (the most decorated unit in the History of the US Army, MIS, the wrongful interment of AJAs during World War II, etc. The memorial also lists the larger US World War II Internment Camps that imprisoned tens of thousand of Americans of Japanese Ancestry.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stumbled across this park walking along Louisiana Avenue - I had heard about it but did not know exactly where it was. It's very well done, and tells the story of the contributions of Japanese Americans in combat during WWII, and the interment of Japanese Americans in 10 detention camps over five years, simply and powerfully.

It's a reminder of what this country is supposed to be about, and that sometimes, we really screw it up. Engraved in stone is the official determination that the detentions were militarily unnecessary and that compensation was made to those affected, and language to the effect of the token nature of that compensation. Worth a look.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Japanese American Memorial also viewed

 

Been to National Japanese American Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Japanese American Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.