We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Loved This Place, Location & Staff Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Melrose Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Melrose Georgetown to your Saves list
The Melrose Georgetown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #37 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Really Loved This Place, Location & Staff Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here two nights for a business meeting in DC. My return flight ended up being cancelled. I called BACK to Melrose and they said "no problem". Gave me the same discounted rate as my previous two nights AND upgraded me to a suite. The entire time, the staff were beyond friendly. The bar had nice happy hour specials and made very high-quality cocktails. I would go out of my way to stay again at the Melrose, best place I have ever stayed in DC period. Recommendations: Consider coffee pots in rooms - HOWEVER, the free coffee in the lobby each AM was a good alternative.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    191
    41
    15
    11
See reviews for
118
139
31
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boulder, co
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I would highly recommend the Melrose. Perfect location at the foot of Georgetown. Easy walking distance to great restaurants. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Bathroom was sort of small, but heck, you're downtown DC, what do you expect?! The restaurant and bar areas are beautiful and the food was really good. But, the real highlight of the Melrose is the quality of the staff. To a person they were warm, helpful and friendly. Next time I'm in DC, I'll definitely stay at the Melrose. Oh, and the price was very reasonable compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We use the property to book our UN officials, and the staff at sales and reservation departments have been consistently helpful with everything. We have never shifted to another property since then. The relationship has been established and our guests are well taken care of.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having stayed here many times since 2005, I have to say you'd be hard pressed to find a better place for location, luxury, and high quality than The Melrose Georgetown. This hotel is located near key attractions and within short walking distance to both Georgetown and the K Street corridor. You can hit everything in D.C. quite easily from here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Centrally located in walking distance to Metro station, variety of restaurants, drug stores and old Georgetown. You can Metro to the DC Mall, Smithsonian, White House and all of the Memorials and a quick taxi to the Kennedy Center. Great rooms with concrete floors to eliminate hearing or knowing what your neighbors above are doing. Adequate modern gym and decent inside restaurant.

Room Tip: Not in an area where you get interesting views from your room. I always request upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My fiance and I were taking a short trip before our upcoming wedding. Upon checking in, we met Avery who was very professional, courteous, and friendly. Considering our upcoming wedding, we were upgraded to an Executive Suite which was absolutely beautiful. Nothing was short of amazing at our stay at the Melrose. Any trip to DC from this point on will be to the Melrose. They have created a life long customer.
Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights for a couples weekend of sightseeing. The location is perfect for walking into georgetown, the White House, or an easy walk to the metro. The hotel seemed very busy so there was a lot of activity in the lobby which made for a lively atmosphere. We had a king suite which was great - lots of room to move around and lots of windows. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the food - the bar was good and plenty of comfortable seating in the lobby. I would definitely stay here again. Comfortable beds.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Melrose Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melrose Georgetown

Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Melrose Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your The Melrose Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melrose Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.