We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel with updated rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Melrose Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Melrose Georgetown to your Saves list
The Melrose Georgetown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #39 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Keller, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Older hotel with updated rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Got to hotel before check-in time. They found us a room without a very long wait. To get to elevator had to go up about 5 steps. Decor of modern grey tones reflected recent updating. Although room was reasonable size, bathroom was a very narrow room. Space between sink and closet was very tight. Tub/shower and toilet in a small and tight room with door. Had to maneuver around door to get it closed. Lighting in bath was great. Free internet was provided but no coffee maker in room and coffee was only available for free in lobby in morning. Charged $1 for 800 phone calls. Not a member of any hotel rewards program. Room rate was very good for Cherry Blossom time in DC. Heating/cooling system banged on/off. Was very annoying during night.

Room Tip: Set heating/cooling fan to on not auto to reduce bang of system turning on/off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    189
    41
    15
    11
See reviews for
117
136
30
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, In
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a very pleasant surprise as my company stopped using this hotel a few years ago, prior to a remodel. The rooms were very nicely appointed and large. Bathrooms also nice and clean. There was a lobby bar where my group gathered after a long day of meetings, but the space was more condusive for groups of 4 or less. We felt like we were rearranging someone's lving room. The staff were great about it, though.

Room Tip: Request an in-room coffee maker upon arrival and pay the $5.95 flat fee for faster Internet. Basic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here over Easter holiday. Hotel didn't feel as crowded as sightseeing DC. Easy walk to Foggy Bottom Metro, walked to restaurants in Georgetown, clean rooms, comfy beds, friendly staff, convenient market 2 doors away. Grocery store and drug stores nearby. I had trouble with the computer available to guest when trying to print my boarding pass. Ate a very good breakfast in the restaurant and a very good dinner for room service. Never a long wait for the elevator. Taxi or Uber always available.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Although the trip to this hotel, was ok, they forgot a lot of regular amenities. Room service was slow for just toast and coffee.

MY worst experience was that an employee STOLE my good David Yurman earrings, I was gone 15 min I am NOT happy. Both the front desk and housekeeping supervisor was 0% unresponsive. Those earrings were a gift to me by my husband. I am VERY upset
Cindie Hackney
TX

Room Tip: Go someplace more honest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This has to be one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in! There wasn't anything about it that wasn't fabulous! The lobby area was gorgeous and very nice to sit in, whether it was for a drink or just coffee. The room was huge and the bed was very, very comfortable and it was very quiet, we had no problems sleeping. There was free tea and coffee in the lobby the mornings and there was lovely iced water in the lobby in the afternoons. Every member of staff was very pleasant and very helpful, the receptionists, the barman and the doormen. There was also free wifi which was great..

We used the fitness centre and it was good. We did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on it.

The location of the hotel is great for sightseeing, most things are within walking distance, the White House and the Lincoln memorial are both 20 minutes walk away (in opposite directions!). The metro station is just around the corner and very easy to navigate, we went to Arlington cemetery on the metro.

There is a coffee shop just beside the hotel which does nice breakfast and lunch and also great tea and coffee when the hotel has taken away the morning coffee! There is also a fab cafe around the corner called Devon & Blakely, they do the most amazing soup and sandwiches!

We will definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There have been mixed reviews of the hotel based upon staff issues, and my experience in this regard was not good. The first night I called down to the front desk to get a room service menu, which was missing from the folder in the desk. The menu never arrived. The next morning, I reported a problem with the toilet at 7:30 AM yet when I returned to the room around 6 PM the problem was not fixed. I again reported it on my way out to dinner, but upon my return at 9 PM found it still was not addressed. It was only when I went down to the from desk again quite annoyed did they do anything about this. The management may claim this is a boutique hotel, but that type of hotel requires more responsiveness to guest needs.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Richard, thank you for sharing your feedback. I would like to talk with you further to gain some more insight on your situation. Please call me at your convenience.

Best,
Jale Hashimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A quiet, relaxed hotel convenient to both Georgetown and GWU, which was a perfect location as I was visiting my son there.
Things I liked:
Staff was wonderful. I was greeted by desk staff politely each time I passed the desk, and by the second day the doormen were greeting me with "Welcome back!"
Staff was also helpful. I arrived quite early and they promptly checked me into my room, which was already ready. I asked about noise levels and all possible noise sources were described and I was offered a second option. I also needed transportation to the airport and three different options and prices were explained to me.
The room was huge, much bigger than any city hotel I have stayed in, with a king bed, couch, chair, sitting area with desk, open area, and good sized bathroom.
There was a small on-site bar and restaurant, which I did not get around to trying this time, but it was good to know they were there.
There was also a lovely lounge area with comfortable seating.

Things I did not like:
The person upstairs from me, who stomped around like an elephant for the first night I was there. I complained at the front desk the next morning and they apologize d profusely and asked me to call down if it happened again. It was quieter the second night so I didn't call, but I was glad when they apparently left as it was very quiet the third night. Other than that, I didn't hear other external noise except a little from outside.
The hot water for tea, which was complimentary in the lobby each morning, but unfortunately tasted like coffee! I meant to mention it to them but never got around to it. Not a huge deal and they did also have Lavazza coffee available.

Overall, a very pleasant stay and I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Pennsylvania Ave. do get some street noise, including some sirens, but it is mostly not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. I am thrilled to hear of your experience with us – I am glad you enjoyed our great location, helpful staff and comfortable rooms. I apologize for the noise levels you experienced, and am happy to know our team was able to remedy the situation. I also appreciate your comment regarding the hot water for the tea and will be sure to address this internally. We are looking forward to next time.

Best,
Jale Hashimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Melrose Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melrose Georgetown

Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Melrose Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Melrose Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melrose Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.