We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georgetown Blessing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Melrose Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Melrose Georgetown to your Saves list
The Melrose Georgetown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Georgetown Blessing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

From the moment my family and I were greeted at my car by a charming and delightful bellhop we could not help but feel welcomed to this blissful location in the Georgetown area. Friendly smiles through the entrance way to the guest check-in activities was a welcome relief after traveling for several hours. Our senses were stimulated by the hotel decorations, tile backdrops and the lovely fireplace, lounge and restaurant areas. The room was very quiet and was ideal for relaxing and sleeping. Even on the day DC was hit with 6 inches of snow the hotel still maintained a comfortable climate within. I thoroughly enjoyed visiting this wonderful establishment and have recommended it to at least 25 people already. I will be returning to this Georgetown Blessing.

Room Tip: The windows do a great job of keeping any street noise from resonating indoors. Any room given shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    176
    37
    12
    9
See reviews for
105
129
28
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a wonderful stay at The Melrose this past weekend. Staff was very accommodating and pleasant to work with. Stanley was awesome! We were able to check in as soon as we arrived. Only issue I had was on our check out day the concierge watched the group of us girls pack everything into our car while it was sleeting out. One of the girls slipped. We were so impressed from the start of the trip that we were disappointed no one offered to help as we were leaving. Overall, the stay was great and I would definitely return.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, yesterday
I apologize for the lack of service you received as you were departing the hotel, as that is not the standard in which our associates strive to operate and I will address the issue internally. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve guest experience with your invaluable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best,
Jale Hashimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was overjoyed to spend two nights this past weekend at The Melrose. I was welcomed by La Tonya and Azeb as if i was a long lost friend. I was upgraded to a suite that was beyond my expectations. Our room was luxurious and clean and had a marvelous view of the wonderful streets of DC. Happy Hour was accomodating and friendly. The lobby is glam all the way. The fireplace warmed us!. Breakfast was plentiful and warm( a bit pricey but convenience it was)
The staff just kept making our stay better and in the end was delighted to give us a 2pm check out. Perfect spot to explore washignton DC. Where would you ever get such accomodating service with a smile. Cant wait to return soon.

Room Tip: corner suties are large sunny and luxury higher floors for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for the great review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our artfully designed interiors, central location and personalized customer service. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and I will be sure to pass along your wonderful words to the team. We sincerely look forward to your return!

Best,
Jale Hashimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My experience with The Melrose was superb. The staff is wonderful and room service quality was far and above other hotels - anywhere. The design and layout of the hotel is beautiful with a mix of Georgian elegance with a modern flair. Very nice.

I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay for room service dining, it is quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your wonderful comments of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and that our staff was attentive providing you with exceptional room service. I am delighted that your visit to DC was a memorable one. I look forward to seeing you again when we can provide another great experience.

Best,
Jale Hashimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Melrose Hotel is an elegant and intimate hotel in a perfect section of Washington. Just a few blocks from Georgetown where there's so much to see and do. The staff at the Melrose is so professional and accommodating. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. Because it's not a huge hotel, there is a wonderful , warm atmosphere when you walk in the lobby. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to DC. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your kind review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you took advantage of our convenient location within close proximity to popular DC attractions. It is wonderful to know that our accommodations suited your liking, and we sincerely appreciate your recommendation of our hotel. I look forward to your future visits.

Best,
Jale Hashimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

...what more could you want? The beds are incredibly comfortable, so comfortable that I didn't want to get up! The breakfast options are good and reasonably priced for the area. It's very expensive during the week but you can get great deals on the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review of Melrose Georgetown hotel. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your accommodations and our convenient location within walking distance of famed DC attractions. I look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the nation’s capital.

Best,
Jale Hashimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have heard about Melrose from a friend, who would book his stay always at this hotel when on business trips in Washington, DC. He seemed to be very impressed with the location of the hotel (minutes from downtown and Georgetown, across the street from Trader Joes! ), customer service and accommodations. Recently, I got a chance to stay at Melrose myself and was very impressed with the sizes of the rooms and the friendliness of staff. It is also affordable. I highly recommend it to anybody traveling to Washington, DC for pleasure or business!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Cristina,

I am happy to know that you chose to stay with us at the recommendation of a friend and that our hotel lived up to your expectations. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly and personable service. It am also glad that you took advantage of our central location to explore the nation’s capital. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to DC.

Best,
Jale Hashimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Melrose Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melrose Georgetown

Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Melrose Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Melrose Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melrose Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.