We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Melrose Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Melrose Georgetown to your Saves list
The Melrose Georgetown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Wallace, North Carolina
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“great hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here two weeks ago for two nights when we came up to watch a couple of GWU basketball games. Great location between foggy bottom and Georgetown. Easy to walk to great restaurants, shopping and monuments. Rooms were quite large for the city and the beds were great. Friendly, efficient staff, coffee in the morning, newspapers, what else could you ask for. Of all the hotels we have stayed at in DC this was the best. Parking is expensive ($48) so you might want to park at GWU for $22 and walk the two blocks to the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have less street noise, but the hotel is located 2 blocks from a hospital and st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel and that you took advantage of our central location. I also appreciate your feedback regarding our friendly and efficient staff. We look forward to having you again on your future visits to DC.

Best,
Jale Hashimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    171
    36
    12
    9
See reviews for
101
125
26
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I cannot speak highly enough of The Melrose.
My (16yo) Daughter and I stayed here in December for 4 nights and we didn't want to leave!
Staff - incredible
Room - Gorgeous
Beds - Super Comfortable (one of the BEST Hotel beds I have stayed in)
Location - Fabulous!!
We walked everywhere, Georgetown is so picture-perfectly beautiful, squirrels running around, spectacular architecture, fantastic shopping and Amazing restaurants all nearby.
(Make sure you try Bayou)
Don't forget to grab a large coffee in the lobby before you set out for the day, a great idea, and certainly kept our hands warm in the mornings :)
Thank you so much for a wonderful experience, I will be back and will send as many people your way as possible!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Your rave review of your recent experience at Melrose Georgetown Hotel is greatly appreciated. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to your next visit!

Best,
Jale Hashimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location and staff are outstanding. Easy access to Foggy Bottom metro station and an easy walk to Georgetown. Nice happy hour. Valet service was quick. My only criticism is that the bathrooms are a bit small.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our luxury accommodations and the convenience of our central location. Since the hotel is renovated, we do have various types of rooms/bathroom sizes that are limited to the original footprint of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to your future visits.

Best,
Jale Hashimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My Husband booked this hotel last weekend for a weekend getaway and this by far was the best Hotel we've ever stayed in. From the time we pulled up to the hotel, the Doorman was ready to assist and provided quality service. The Front Desk personnel were just as professional and courteous. The young lady at the front desk, upgraded our room to a Jr. Suite, and I was overwhelmed with the beauty and quality of the room. It was very spacious and clean. The linens were all fresh, and the room smelled new. Everything about this hotel speaks quality, if you are looking for that high class experience without breaking the budget, The Melrose Georgetown is the way to go. Fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your upgraded accommodations and that our staff left a lasting impression with you as they strive to provide excellent customer service. I look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Washington, DC.

Best,
Jale Hashimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An upbeat spot in a great location with beautifully decorated rooms. Best of the best customer service with a smile...plush bathrobes, comfy beds, fine linens, free wifi, and Molton Brown amenities. Asked for a quiet room and got one. I will definitely return once again.

Room Tip: The lobby is probably the noisiest spot as it's alive with people. I asked for a quiet room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so pleased to know that Melrose Georgetown Hotel has served as your home away from home. I look forward to your future visits.

Best,
Jale Hashimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Picked the Melrose for my first visit to DC because of location and I wasn't disappointed. Short walk to Georgetown . The hotel itself was delightful. Room was large,clean and quiet. Bed comfortable and loved the free WiFi. . All the staff I encountered were extremely friendly. Free tea & coffee in morning was a nice touch, but would have liked tea making facility in room. Did not eat in restaurant so cannot comment, but plenty of eating places within walking distant. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will certainly come back if I'm in Washington again

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am so pleased to know that you had an overall fantastic stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Thank you so much for the kind words regarding our artfully designed interiors and friendly staff. While we do not present coffee and tea making stations in the guest rooms, we would be happy to provide to you upon request. Thank you for recommending us to others and we look forward to serving as your home away from home the next time you're in DC.

Best,
Jale Hashimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for one night (business) because of its prime location and excellent rate. It's very convenient if you're running between offices on the Hill and K Street, though I'm not sure I'll make this my "go-to" for DC business.

First and foremost, I wouldn't say this is a 4* hotel- at least not compared to other 4* hotels in town. It has recently undergone a renovation, but in my opinion the decor is cold and cheap (plastic furniture, tacky artwork of money bills).

I arrived late after a difficult day of travel and delays to a completely deserted lobby, only partially lit. The front desk attendant seemed annoyed that I bothered him to check in. He didn't smile or make eye contact with me for the entirety of our interaction. I understand that it's late (11:00pm- not that late), but it's been a long day for me too and a smile and positive attitude in the hospitality industry goes a long way to a good review.

After a few mumbles and grunts, I was given a room that was not what I had booked. I booked an Executive King Suite; the room I was given was significantly smaller and didn't have a dining room table. However, tired and disgruntled, I didn't complain. I was billed for the right room so "no harm, no foul."

The same night, I tried to ordered room service for dinner. The front desk employee was no nicer over the phone. Most of their room service menu was unavailable, leaving me with 2 choices. The turkey club I ended up getting was passable for a midnight snack. I wouldn't depend on room service for a proper meal.

Overall, this hotel gets 3* from me because of the 1)location and 2)cleanliness.
Perhaps the front desk is nicer to people who arrive at 3pm.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We sincerely apologize for the lack of service you experienced from our front desk associate as this is unacceptable by Melrose standards. I also apologize for the lack of options available when you ordered room service and appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention.

Best,
Jale Hashimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Melrose Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melrose Georgetown

Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Melrose Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Melrose Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melrose Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.