We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service, would stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Melrose Georgetown

Save Saved
You added The Melrose Georgetown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Melrose Georgetown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cherry Blossom Special
Ranked #33 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional service, would stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location near Foggy Bottom Metro Station, just 5-minute walk, quite close to some good restaurants. My husband and I stayed here for three days for the cherry blossom festival. The room is large and clean. The front desk was extremely nice and helpful in terms of the check-in and check-out process, city information and transportation. They also recommended some extremely nice pot to the cherry blossom, which was helpful to our tour planning. I would say each hotel staff was very professional. Next time, I would also stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    88
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
44
51
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff at the Melrose was excellent from the doorman to the dining room staff. One person who needs to be singled out is Mia McDaniel. Not only was she delightful and greeted us by name every time we entered the hotel, but a smile was always present Mia took care of everything for us. Restaurant recommendations were outstanding, directions concise and attitude superb. Mia is the Concierge without a title. ( Can't that be corrected? She really needs her own desk!)

This Hotel may be overlooked my many butt its location to Georgetown and public transport is great. You made our stay a total success!

Room Tip: Rooms appear to be newly renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown,NJ
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was my second stay at the Melrose. I was a little hesitant after my first stay, but my second visit confirmed that this is a very good hotel. The Melrose is well-situated near Georgetown, West End restaurants and the Metro. Rooms are large, quiet and comfortable. My only issue was plugs for charging things. there were plenty of plugs - just not close to flat surfaces other than the floor. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Since I know DC pretty well, I didn't need much help. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Bropaul, thank you for giving us another chance to impress you at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We love our convenient location in the heart of the Georgetown neighborhood and are glad to hear you enjoyed the bustling city. Recently reinvented, Melrose Georgetown Hotel boasts spacious guest bedrooms, perfect for a relaxing getaway. We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit to DC.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I spent a seven day vacation at the Melrose. I understand it had been remodeled recently and everything was very clean and modern. The restaurant was pricey. The hotel was about a block and a half form the metro. Several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. All of staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you, Joe P, for sharing your experience at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our recently reinvented hotel features spacious guest bedrooms and art-deco inspired interioirs, all within walking distance of our famous national landmarks. We hope you will come visit us again so that you can try our farm-to-fork restaurant, Jardenea.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've had the good fortune of staying at the Melrose on multiple occasions. It has actually become our "Go To" hotel when in D.C. The staff is always helpful and mindful of your needs. We usually stay there for family visits as well as sightseeing tours. The Concierge was wonderful in suggesting local restaurants that give you the flavor of the city but aren't tourist traps. The accommodations are spacious and up to date. The restaurant on site is wonderful for a breakfast to begin your day. There is also a bar there that fit the bill perfectly for cocktails after a long day of sightseeing. If it's sightseeing your in town for this location is very central and also close to a train station. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great value and central location! Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, 3 days ago
VickiAtl, we are so proud to be your "Go To" hotel in Washington, D.C. We love that we can make your vacations memorable with our guest service and deluxe accommodations. We love our signature farm-to-fork restaurant Jardenea and our custom cocktails made with fresh fruit consommé. We look forward to seeing you again, VivkiAtl, on your next visit to the neighborhood!

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Melrose from 2-4 April 2014. The front desk on check-in was friendly. The hotel is clean and nice. Room is big and comfortable. Bell and door men were really helpful. Good that they provide complimentary coffee in the morning. Room is quiet.

Cons: Lifts are too small. The cleaner and person were trying to come in to check the bar on our last day even before we check-out.

Overall: Highly recommended, and I will come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you, JunWeiPek, for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are so glad to hear you had a pleasant stay at our recently reinvented hotel in the heart of Georgetown. Our staff strives to provide exemplary customer service, and we hope you will come back again to enjoy our luxury amenities the next time you're in the capital.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has been nicely updated with a chic and modern vibe. The location is superb for walking to Georgetown or walking to ride the metro to travel around the city. Trader Joes across the street was fabulous! Rooms were very clean and quiet. Service was very good to excellent. My sister left a foolish amount of cash in the safe on departure and it was easily found and returned by housekeeping. A return here would be a pleasure!

Room Tip: We were on street side and no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you, Linda L, for sharing your experience at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our recently reinvented hotel extends spacious guest bedrooms and art-deco inspired interiors that help to make your stay a memorable one. We are glad to have your trust with our always-improving guest services and hope to see you again on your future travels.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Melrose Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melrose Georgetown

Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Melrose Hotel
Melrose Hotel Washington Dc
Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Melrose Georgetown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Amex, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Melrose Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melrose Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.