We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Melrose Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Melrose Georgetown to your Saves list
The Melrose Georgetown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
PLAN AHEAD AND SAVE BIG
Ranked #36 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Girls holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This hotel has been nicely updated with a chic and modern vibe. The location is superb for walking to Georgetown or walking to ride the metro to travel around the city. Trader Joes across the street was fabulous! Rooms were very clean and quiet. Service was very good to excellent. My sister left a foolish amount of cash in the safe on departure and it was easily found and returned by housekeeping. A return here would be a pleasure!

Room Tip: We were on street side and no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you, Linda L, for sharing your experience at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our recently reinvented hotel extends spacious guest bedrooms and art-deco inspired interiors that help to make your stay a memorable one. We are glad to have your trust with our always-improving guest services and hope to see you again on your future travels.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    213
    45
    16
    14
See reviews for
130
163
33
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stay in DC a lot for business and the hotels are really expensive! My assistant found the Melrose on GetaRoom.com (also a great sight). We didn't have to guess what it would be like as you do on Priceline (which was really bad news last time). I will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
OMGLFB, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We do our best to make the most of your stay, with our renowned guest services and deluxe amenities, without breaking your bank! We hope you come visit us again so that you can try our signature farm-to-fork restaurant Jardenea.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at the Melrose for a week and had a very comfortable stay. What made the experience really stand out for me was the warmth of the staff--they were always friendly and helpful, going the extra mile to help whenever they can. The room was spacious, clean, and quiet. There's a Whole Foods nearby for food and the room had a fridge so it was great to be able to buy a few drinks, fruits, and yogurt and have them around. The location is also very convenient for accessing many sites in DC. The tea and coffee in the lobby every morning was much appreciated, especially as it was so cold.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you, NewYorkTravelbug25, for sharing your experience at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are so glad to hear that we could make you feel right at home at our recently reinvented hotel. We too love our convenient location in the hub of the city, near our favorite sites in DC and famed national landmarks. We hope to see you again sometime soon on your next visit to the nation's capital.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was attempting to get a room in DC on (evidently too) short notice right before a city-wide convention (damn you, ACC!). I spent literally hours calling places, and when I tried the Melrose Georgetown, LaTonya couldn't have been nicer. She talked me into booking the first night even though the next two couldn't be confirmed at that point, but she was confident enough that it would work out. It was one day at a time, but we did indeed stay all three nights (the last night at, not surprisingly, a jacked-up price, thank you Parker), and with an upgraded room.

The hotel was certainly fine - the fitness center was a little small, but nicely modern. The flavored water in the lobby always a welcome touch. The breakfast in the restaurant was very good, although the service not so nice. The desk personnel were adequately helpful in terms of recommendations. And LaTonya was, of course, a joy to deal with.The location is great - two blocks to the Metro, easy walk to Georgetown.

The only thing that was particularly problematic was the internet service - we were at the far end of the hall - which was almost unusable. Must have been the location of the router, since it was great in the lobby.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you Milton L, for sharing your experience at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We strive to provide optimal service for our guests and we are so glad to hear we could accommodate for your stay. Our farm-to-fork dining at Jardenea promises only fresh ingredients from local purveyors. I will look into finding where the breakdown in our dining and wireless internet service happened and hope to see you again on your next visit to the Capitol.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a first rate hotel. I stay here frequently when traveling to DC.

Large, clean, tastefully-decorated rooms. Excellent breakfast. Be sure to have the different varieties of Eggs Benedict.

Near Foggy Bottom Metro station.

Great nearby restaurants.

Good for both business and pleasure.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you StanRuth, for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are glad to here you enjoyed our recently reinvented hotel with glamorously chic decor that draws inspiration from the colorful surroundings of the Georgetown neighborhood. We hope you visit us again next time, when you can enjoy dinner at our farm-to-fork restaurant, Jardenea.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Last year they did a big ($24 M?) facelift to modernize. My room was very nice size, good bathroom facilities and nicely decorated. But only a handful of plugs to charge devices. The front door is completely unprotected, so whenever it opens (often) cold air sweeps in. The lobby, bar and restaurant were very drafty and uncomfortably cold. The is no breakfast buffet and service is slow. They forgot a wakeup call.

This is a nice hotel with an excellent location. They need to fix it up properly!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Bill60763, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our recently reinvented hotel boasts a central location in the heart of Georgetown, featuring spacious guest bedrooms and art-deco inspired interiors. We are very sorry for the discomfort you experienced and appreciate the feedback so that we can better accommodate in the future.


Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Arrived around 11 pm. No one outside to assist with the luggage, although eventually the group of workers at the front desk broke up to help up to the room. Despite having a reservation for 2 beds, our room was apparently given away. They offered an "upgrade" to a suite, but one of the beds was a pullout. We attempted to order room service, which is advertised as 24 hours. When we called, the phone just rang. We called to the front desk who said the kitchen was closed. When we asked about the 24 hour services listed on the menu, they reluctantly agreed to bring some food. We attempted to order wine, but were told that room service doesn't serve alcohol, but we could go to the lobby. At the lobby bar, I was told it was closed (at 11.30?), but he reluctantly gave me two glasses to bring to the room. After about an hour wait a "chef salad" was brought that was on par with Lunchables (e.g., barely edible) and the lettuce was frozen. The ice cream did not come with the cake as per the menu. We went to put the tray in the hall and a man was sleeping in the hall. I called down to the front desk to alert them and I was told "no problem". That just about sums the attitude here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
pali1, thank you for sharing your experience at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Nobody should experience inadequate service during their stay with us, and we apologize for the miscommunications between your room and dining services. I hope you will give Melrose Georgetown Hotel another chance with a meal on us, at our farm-to-fork restaurant, Jardenea.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#24 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#16 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melrose Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melrose Georgetown

Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Melrose Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Melrose Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melrose Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.