We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, as always” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Melrose Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Melrose Georgetown to your Saves list
The Melrose Georgetown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good, as always”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Excellent. The rooms are large (even by American standards), although perhaps there could be an effort with the furnishing, which is a bit sparse. For example, a coffee table would be welcome.
Service is excellent, and not at all chummy, as in so many other American hotels.
Good bar, and pleasant restaurant, with a reasonable range of food. The wine list deserves a special appreciation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear French_US_13, thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback about your recent stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodations and the culinary offerings of our signature Jardenea restaurant. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Melrose Georgetown again soon.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    170
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
95
115
25
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Beautiful rooms and decor. Staff were friendly. Very clean and comfortable, and most importantly very quiet. A nice hotel for business travel given its location and amenities. Would certainly consider staying there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you, dalgalpal, for your comments about your recent stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We hope you will choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Washington, DC.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassalboro, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Georgetown location is excellent-----within walking distance of the Kennedy Center. Clean, nice room with a very comfortable bed, good quality bed linens and towels. Easy access to the Metro and other forms of public transportation. Would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, PinkFlamingo300. We are thrilled that you enjoyed both our proximity to so much of what our nation's capital has to offer, as well as our hotel amenities. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on a Sunday afternoon expecting a small room, but was surprised to find I was in a very spacious room with a separate little 'office' area and a small changing room with wardrobe. The room itself was very large with a seating area.
There is very little space at the front of the hotel, so valet parking is a must, they were ready for me and the handover of the car was straight forward as was having the car waiting for me when it was needed the next morning.
Very short walk to the main attractions, the mall, the Whitehouse and George town itself.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear weechancer, we are glad to hear that you were pleased with your accommodations during your stay with us. We hope you will choose to stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel again when your travels bring you back to Washington, DC.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I love the location--Foggy Bottom and Georgetown! Easy access to the Metro and the Circulator Route by bus. Union Station for $1.00! And for me ... Loved having a Catholic Church next door. It is the Church that JFK attended as President--pew marked where he sat. It was perfect since I was there on the 50th Anniversary of his death.

The lobby is inviting both in decor and spirit with comfortable seating, tvs, and lemon-water available. The staff was attentive, delightful, and very helpful. It is a relatively small hotel, which I prefer over the large chains.

The room was perfect. The dressing/vanity space had two full closets and large vanity area to dress--spacious enough to accommodate the iron board! The shower and deep tub and toilet were located at the far end of the space--separated by its own door. Included was a luscious bathrobe that I actually wore and enjoyed after a deep soaking in the tub!

I chose a king bed. The bedroom was large and nicely appointed. It had a small refrigerator hidden in the cabinets that was perfect since Trader Joe's is around the corner. The coffee set up with also hidden and had a nice slide out drawer and its own plug that made it easy and aesthetically pleasing. I enjoyed the comfortable chair with great lighting as I worked. And for all those road warriors--the plugs are sensibly located on the sides of the bed stands which made charging all the devices a breeze! And to add to this list--a basic internet for free!

Bottom line--this is my new favorite DC hotel. I did get it at an amazing price ($89) making this first visit an easy one--but I would easily return. It has great value, location, and a very smart and welcoming spirit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you, ssjmcd, for taking the time to write such a glowing five-star review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We could not be happier that you enjoyed your stay with us and are glad that you were able to take comfort in the amenities that we offer. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Washington, D.C.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Really nice large room . Comfortable bed , bedding and towels all new. It feels like it has recently had a full refurb. Brilliant location for both Washington and Georgetown. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Lazyfox: We are very glad that you enjoyed your accommodations and hotel location during your stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We hope you were easily able to enjoy so much of what Washington, DC has to offer, and hope you will stay with us again when your travels bring you back to our area again.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I'll start by saying the older I get the more particular I am with my hotel experience. I moved from the Grand Hyatt for the first couple of days for business to the Melrose for the next couple days for fun. Both hotel rooms were nice, but I much preferred the Melrose overall. The welcoming lobby and very friendly staff are a huge plus. I liked the neighborhood feel as opposed to being in the heart of DC, but only a short walk to the Foggy Bottom Metro. It is a great feeling to walk into your home away from home after a long day of travel or sightseeing and feel comfortable without also feeling like you're getting ripped off. Some specifics on the room, lots of places to sit besides the bed unlike some other hotels. A desk to get my plan of attack together for the next day, a small couch at the foot of the bed and a reading chair with a light in the corner. Loved the iPod alarm clock so I could have music playing when getting ready. BTW, free wifi is hard to find in this city so this was a perk. There were also outlets built into the nightstands! There is a Whole Foods and Trader Joe's within blocks where I could buy a few things and keep in the fridge for breakfast to get a move on early. I like the vanity area separate from the toilet and shower if I was there with another person I could still utilize the vanity while they are in the shower. The bed was super comfortable lots of great pillows. I can't say enough how pleased I was with this hotel. The location was perfect to explore DC/Georgetown, a great atmosphere, friendly staff and welcoming clean environment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at The Melrose Georgetown, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you, calewis33, for taking the time to write such a wonderful five-star review of your recent stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are delighted to hear that we were able to provide you with your "home away from home" while you were exploring our nation's capital. We hope to have the pleasure of you staying with us again when you once again find yourself in Washington, D.C.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Melrose Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melrose Georgetown

Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Melrose Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Melrose Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melrose Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.