We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable delectable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Busboys and Poets

Busboys and Poets
1025 5th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
(202) 789-2227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Vegan
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unbelievable delectable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went to busboys and poets with a few girlfriends and 2 were eating the shrimp and grits. I asked is it good. The answer was divine. She recommended he crab grits! OMG!! get the crab grits it was outstanding. Food should not be this good! The strawberry sangria was also delicious. I also tried the catfish with the greens and it was incredible. Not as good as the shrimp and grits with crab grits but great nonetheless

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    59
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tasty and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We finished the walking tour of DC and wre famished, so wandered around finding somewhere to eat. This was close to our hostel and looked pretty great so we gave it a try! We were welcomed by a really friendly host who showed us to our table. They were really really busy, with lots of big groups. The place was humming an played great music. We were seen to quickly and our order was taken. We loved the menu, it all sounded so good! We got the pesto lasagne and home made meatloaf. Service wasnt super fast but the poor dude had a bunch of demanding tables and was really sweet and spologetic so we were happy to wait. The local selection of draft beers was especially good! Great food, great service, great times! Also, the trip advisor map is wrong... Its actually just by safeway near chinatown...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Mouth watering menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We picked Busboys and poets after reading lots of good reviews in TA and Yelp.Surely , we weren't disappointed.
We were famished after having walked 16,000 steps around downtown D.C.We were happy to find the menu filled with eco-consious mouthwatering dishes. We started with Egyptian Foole Dip and
Harira Soup, Caeser salad . Entres we had homemade meatloaf,Orzo pasta, grilled brie panini, and vegan tuna salad sandwich.Every thing was so delicious.
Service was excellent.You can tell they have happy employee. Love the artworks and decor. The only negative comment was the music was too loud for me.
Too bad we have no Busboys and Poets in Toronto.We'll go back some days.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, OK Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We went for brunch on a Saturday morning. We just beat the rush at 10, so seating was not a problem. Our waitress was great, very friendly and kept the hot coffee coming. The atmosphere is great, very warm and welcoming. I ordered the eggs Benedict, which was served at room temperature. The eggs were a bit under-cooked, and the hollandaise sauce was bland. My brunch companions had no complaints about their meals, however.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cheerful ambiance, tasty food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I enjoyed my dinner here. The penne with shrimp and chicken chorizo was a winner. The lively West Indies style music and the rotation of juried art displays add an international touch. The crowd is young and animated, as at all DC restaurants I seem to choose, but I'm an old lady who travels solo and I was perfectly comfortable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Busboys and Poets also viewed

 

Been to Busboys and Poets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Busboys and Poets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.