We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool stuff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of International Spy Museum

International Spy Museum
800 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202-393-7798
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Buy Tickets Online
$16*
and up
Ranked #74 of 487 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/bus tour, Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in 2002, the International Spy Museum provides interactive exhibits and contains the most extensive collection of spy artifacts ever displayed.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Cool stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was a little pricey, but the exhibits are worth it. The interactive spy part of the visit is a bit hokey for older kids or adults but younger kids would have a blast with it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for visiting the International Spy Museum and providing feedback regarding your visit!
We appreciate you taking an hour out of your day to save Khandar in Operation Spy and hope your team was successful on your mission!
Thanks again for spying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    873
    840
    426
    182
    88
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
105 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Family Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Super fun exhibit that both adults and kids loved. Worth the trip over. We liked the whole Bond Villain exhibit including James Bond's Astin Martin with all the gadgets. My biggest recommendation is to look online for discounts - Don't pay full price. Make sure you eat at the Shake Shack next door!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for visiting the International Spy Museum and providing feedback regarding your visit!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed visiting the museum and hope you will return as we are always looking for recruits to participate in Spy in the City. In this mission you are armed with a GPS-interactive device and embark on a high-stakes operation outside in the International Spy Museum neighborhood. We send you clues, codes, audio intercepts, and everything you need to complete our newest secret mission, Operation SlyFox. Armed with your device, it’s up to you to uncover a world of ruthless spies. Not to mention all the history, mystery, and landmarks along the way! Whether you go as a group or as your own undercover agent, it’s sightseeing like you've never seen. Just make sure you finish your burgers and fries first!
We hope you spy on us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We went to this because the kids wanted to. Neither of them had heard of James Bond, but I'm sure they know of him now, as this is essentially an advertisement for that franchise.

There were a few neat exhibits and the kids liked listening to the bugged areas of the museum and crawling through the duct work.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing to visit the International Spy Museum and providing feedback on your espionage-filled visit!
We're glad that your younger agents were able to convince you to pay our museum a visit!
Our museum has tons of interactive areas that allow guests to test their spy skills both physically and mentally, especially in our Exquisitely Evil exhibit. Guests of all ages can see how the Bond films relate to reality and can have their own "Bond Moment" where they may disarm bombs, search for hidden codes and hang onto high ledges! It's not every day that someone can say they saved the world, but at the Spy Museum, it happens all day long!
Thanks again for spying on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I guess this place is good if you have older children that are interested in reading every plaque... but it was pretty boring otherwise.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing to visit the International Spy Museum and providing feedback on your visit.
We regret that you did not enjoy your recent visit. Our mission as a museum is to educate guests of all ages about espionage in an engaging way and to provide a context that fosters understanding of its important role in and impact on current and historic events. Our museum has tons of interactive areas that allow guests to test their spy skills both physically and mentally, especially in our Exquisitely Evil exhibit. Guests of all ages can see how the Bond films relate to reality and can have their own "Bond Moment" where they may disarm bombs, search for hidden codes and hang onto high ledges! It's not every day that someone can say they saved the world, but at the Spy Museum, it happens all day long!
Thanks again for spying on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for younger Children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Lots of things to do for elementary age kids. A little pricey but worth the stop when in DC. My boys liked it a lot.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for visiting the International Spy Museum and taking the time to provide feedback about your visit!
The International Spy Museum is a privately owned and operated museum completely independent of tax money or government funding. Your admission fee, together with retail and membership revenue, supports the Museum's research, exhibitions, and educational programming.
We're happy to hear that your family enjoyed exploring the ever-changing field of espionage and hope your team of spies will visit us again soon to partake in one of our additional experiences, like Operation Spy or Spy in the City.
Thanks again for choosing to spy on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Spy Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Spy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Spy Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.