We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, IF you love all things SPY” 3 of 5 stars
Review of International Spy Museum

International Spy Museum
800 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202-393-7798
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Buy Tickets Online
$16*
and up
Ranked #74 of 486 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/bus tour, Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in 2002, the International Spy Museum provides interactive exhibits and contains the most extensive collection of spy artifacts ever displayed.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great, IF you love all things SPY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We finally went to the International Spy museum in DC after having talked about going there for years. Surprisingly, it was not crowded and there was plenty of room to roam about. The museum began on the 3rd floor where we chose our secret spy identities. We each had a cover story as to why we were in the country and were tested on our remembrance of the knowledge at the end. Then we watched a short movie about spies before we went to the exhibits. There were exhibits on spy gadgets, the history of spies, spies through the ages and much more. There was one floor dedicated to James Bond. It had all the different Bonds throughout the years, the villains, the weapons, costumes, and video of the movies. This was the most interesting part to me. Overall, I thought the museum was OK and a little overpriced. If you are really into spies and such, you would love this museum.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hello

Thank you for visiting the International Spy Museum and providing feedback about your visit. Our mission is to explore the craft, practice, history, and contemporary role of espionage in an engaing way. The International Spy Museum is a privately owned and operated museum completely independent of tax money or government funding. Your admission fee, together with retail and membership revenue, supports the Museum's research, exhibitions, and educational programming. Thank you again for visiting and your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    875
    840
    427
    182
    88
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Definitely one of the highlights of the DC area. More for older kids and adults - such an amazing time, and so many interactive exhibits. I couldn't believe how large the inside of it was, considering it doesn't look like much from the outside. four floors of amazing spy stories/gadgetry/history/interactive exhibits/and a big exhibit on 007 :)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to Spy with us. We recommend 2 hours to view the over 250 real life spy material. It is great to hear you had a good International Spy Museum experience. Keep Spying and we will Spy on you later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
864 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“morning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We finally got to the Spy Museum in DC and it was even better than expected. This is definitely an adult exhibit as there is lots to read and understand (too hard to explain it to small children and still enjoy it yourselr). We were lucky that we were there in February before all the school Spring Break tours started coming through. We had no waits and the place was not crowded. You select a secret identity and then start through the museum. Most of it like Aldrich Ames and Robert Hansen I knew about, but learned a lot more as a result of this place. The James Bond exhibit was excellent and made me want to go home and see the movies again or read the books. I enjoyed seeing some of the devices used by spies. A very fun and educational morning.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hello

Thank you for Spying with us and providing a debriefing about your International Spy Museum mission. Our museum mission is to explore the craft, practice, history, and contemporary role of espionage in an engaging way. We are glad your visit, was a good experience. Again, thank you for taking time to provide your feedback and we hope to spy on you later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“James Bond villains and spy history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We bought tickets via a special online deal for a price that was about 60% of the regular ticket price. The prospect of seeing the special James Bond exhibit was the main draw. The James Bond exhibit was very fun, with enough real items from the movies (Jaws' teeth, the golden gun, etc.) to make us want to go home and watch them all. The permanent exhibits were very interesting. The exhibits are very text-heavy, so I don't think kids would get as much out of it as they might expect. There is a lot of history, particularly WWII and Cold War era, mixed in with the spy items. Personally, if we'd paid full price and gone at a time when the James Bond exhibit wasn't there, I would have felt like it was overpriced. Watch for special deals before you go and leave the little kiddos at home.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello

Thank you for visiting the International Spy Museum and providing feedback about your visit. We have over 150 real spy artifacts and audio and video of actual spies telling their experiences on real life missions. Our mission is to explore the craft, practice, history, and contemporary role of espionage. Thank you again for Spying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A fun adventure . . . but not for young kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This museum was a lot of fun, but it's really a shame that they don't allow you to take pictures.

The tour begins with an elevator ride to the entrance of the museum - this was a bit disorganized and crowded and could have been better managed. You then select your secret identity and begin exploring the world of clandestine spydom.

We took our daughters who were 8 (barely) and 11 (nearly). The older one truly enjoyed reading, exploring, experimenting, and learning throughout the museum, but the younger one was pretty bored. The Bond exhibit was pretty well done - but completely lost on the kids. The gift shop had some fun atypical souvenir items and was worth browsing before leaving the museum.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello

Thank you and your young spies for accepting the International Spy Museum mission. We appreciate that you took the time to give a debriefing about your visit. Many of the over 200 real-spy artifacts on display have exhibition-only rights and cannot be reproduced. The Museum has to enforce the “no photography” policy because of this. We are glad your visit, overall, was a good experience. Again, thank you for taking time to provide your feedback and we hope to spy on you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Spy Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Spy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Spy Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.