We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still at the top of its' game...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 South St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Georgetown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #22 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Still at the top of its' game...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A recent trip to Washington DC allowed me the opportunity to stay at one of the better DC hotels. The Ritz Carlton on NW 22nd Street proved once again to still rate at the very top level of the hotel pecking order.

Our reservation was retrieved, upgraded (always a nice start) and we were promptly shown to our beautiful Deluxe room. No surprises here with everything that you'd expect exactly as you'd expect it. Almost. The only exception was the complimentary selection of collar stays in the loo. Collar stays don't generally get much attention but at the RC you get a selection of sizes proving that no detail is too small to escape the scrutiny of a management team that seeks to make your visit perfect!

We didn't eat dinner there but we did have a full breakfast. What can you say? It's the Ritz and $100 for three full breakfasts while not cheap was not unexpected. It was promptly served, nothing left out and tasted great. There are numerous McDonald's in the area for those on a tighter budget but those people aren't likely to be staying at the Ritz, are they?

There's a lot to be said for getting exactly what you're paying for and what you anticipate. The Ritz Carlton delivers, but free Wi-Fi would be a nice touch!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    49
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
60
58
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
clarks summit
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here while visiting the G'town Univ campus with our daughter. The location and ambience are terrific but best of all is the staff. From the warmest of welcomes at check in to the efforts to find us a driver to do an impromptu city tour, all our needs were perfectly met. We received an AMEX upgrade to a comfortable suite and really enjoyed a wonderful weekend. We look forward to visiting again should she opt for G'town next year !!

Room Tip: The Amex amenities as always make a Ritz a prefect choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I love staying at the Ritz-Carlton Georgetown. The location is excellent and the staff are warm and attentive to all details. I like the spa and gym arrangements that the hotel has and the bar is a very pleasant location to have a drink and carry on casual business. The rooms on the 5th floor are great. I look forward to my annual visit to Washington and the Ritz.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a long drive from Asheville, NC George met us at the door with a huge smile and told us to "please enjoy your stay" that he would handle everything, which he did. The front desk gentleman was charming (I am so sorry I forgot his name), Brittany, the concierge made wonderful reservations for us. At the bar we had drinks and lunch which was very tasty and we felt right at home. The suite was very modern, spacious and extremely clean (very important for us). If you plan a stay in DC make the Ritz Carlton in Georgetown your number one hotel to visit, it is walking distance to the best restaurants and you could not get better service with incredible smiles from housekeeping to the top managers.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Now this hotel is normally way out of my league ( and price) so i am writing this as someone who normally stays in Hampton inns and Holiday inns and if splashing out a Hilton or Marriott.My son won a weekend B&B packaged and gifted them to us for our Anniversary.
The staff were top notch as you would expect as was the reception area and rooms , all large and welcoming. You get a very personalized service where the check in staff greet you by name every day, very nice . Also the location is fantastic for Georgetown or the water front.
A couple of key differences to the hotels i normally stay in , no tea / coffee making facilities in the room , but the maids do service the room twice a day which is nice . Also sticker shock from someone normally having a free breakfast, the food was nice but it was averaging $40 ahead for breakfast. On the first day the breakfast area was full and the staff , though working hard were overrun . Took and hour to get served and eat , three asks for the bill and i was given the wrong one . On the Sunday we were the only ones in so a much better experience.
The only big issue was the noise from the plumbing, i thought they were working on the bathroom above because i kept hearing what i though was a jack hammer during the day but it stopped Friday night .Unfortunately the same was not for Saturday nigh . the jackhammer noise reoccurred every couple of hours so we have a disturbed rest I did let the hotel know , as it seems did others and they did comp me some Marriott rewards points to apologize for the noise .Still a great place to stay shame its out of my league.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our travel agent is a member of Virtuoso Travel Consortium. We get an upgrade if available. Did we ever get an upgrade!!! We had booked a suite, but the suite we got had a living room, dining room, bedroom, an office, master bathroom and powder room. The decor was exquisite....just like a well decorated home. The hotel is very near a lovely shopping/eating area. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Washington, DC. We happen to be going to Europe and wanted to break up our trip.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent two weekends back-to-back for a summer camp drop-off @ G'twn and couldn't be more satisfied and impressed. Check-in was smooth and highly civilized...sitting down a desk with the offer a cool beverage to breeze through paperwork. Rooms are well-designed and handsomely decorated, spacious and comfortable with luxurious bathrooms. The hotel's layout and historic architecture are charming and move you beyond the usual box-like hotel experiences to one that is more engaging. Restaurant/bar/lobby food service is an experience to be truly enjoyed on your visit. A jewel on the first floor, expertly managed by Chris and team, reminds you what world class hospitality is all about. Hotel location is ideal, tucked in between the main corridor in town and the waterfront. It's our new favorite when visiting DC/G'twn with no debate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown

Address: 3100 South St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Georgetown
Ritz Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.