We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 South St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Georgetown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Perfectly run hotel. The rooms were large and luxurious. The hotel is located very near the Potomac River. All the staff were helpful to a fault - especially the front desk staff. There is a beautiful lobby with a fire. Free coffee is available from approximately 6 am one level down from the lobby. The gym is a tad small. 6 star hotel!.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    60
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
83
71
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Nicely located hotel in a very tastefully revamped industrial building (previously an incinerator - they've kept some of the old trappings). Got a spacious room 'underground' (i.e. a floor below the reception) that was comfortable and clean. Good bathroom, which is important. I was there on a business conference and the organizers managed to get the breakfast room as the conference center, which was a big plus (the conference rooms are otherwise a bit like bunkers). Breakfast itself was basic, but ok. Bit pricey - especially for families - but really good location for exploring Georgetown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The location is excellent, staff is not very nice. The hotel is very small and lacks proper amenities. There is no proper exercise room and no business lounge. Extremely expensive. Over all I was not happy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Fantastic location, beautifully designed, superb service. This ranks as one of my favorite Ritz properties if not favorite hotels in general. We ended up here one night after a cancelled flight waiting for our rebooked flight the next day and what a treat! Beautiful hotel, exceptional service (like all Ritz properties), and an ideal location for Georgetown shops/restaurants and the waterfront. Will be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trappe, Maryland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I am fortunate to stay in great hotels all over the world but the Ritz Carlton Georgetown was really impressive. I arrived with a colleague late and the check in was quick and friendly despite the fact my reservation was not in the system. The hotel is beautiful, the lobby is warm relaxing and the staff are exceptionally helpful. My room was in the west wing on the first floor and when I walked in it smelled fresh and inviting. The layout of the room was perfect with a nice workspace and lots of floor space. The bathroom was large and had a bathtub and shower, great soaps and towels. But, the bed is what made the room exceptional. Granted I was tired but I did not want to get out of the bed in the morning, the duvet and sheets were incredible. The next morning we received excellent advice for lunch, The Peacock Cafe, which was exceptional. When we got back the valet had my car out front in five minutes and helped load my bags with a smile on his face. I cant wait to go back to this hotel, this time it will be for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have been staying off-and-on at this property for the past five years. It has always been awesome: comfortable and luxurious.

Let me just say, though, this stay (Apr. 2013) was the best of them all. The staff and service are incredibly polished, the lobby is looking better than ever, and housekeeping's attention to detail is the best I've ever seen at a Ritz property.

Maybe the extra competition from the newly-opened Capella around the corner has amped up the improvements, but what ever is happening, please keep it up!

Ritz Georgetown remains my favorite hotel in DC.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Ritz during our college tour. I booked a night here for its location and proximity to universities in the area. I was pleasantly surprised how "homey" the property was. There is a welcoming fireplace as soon as you walk in with its lounge area. And you are welcomed instantly by staff who move fast through the check in process and walk you to your room for personal tour. I've been to several Ritz properties before, and while the accommodations were great, I was never this impressed by service as this Georgetown Ritz. It seemed like everyone was genuinely happy to be working there and determined to see that every guest has an enjoyable stay. And I definitely did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC
#31 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
#4 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Georgetown
Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#22 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#6 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#16 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown

Address: 3100 South St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Georgetown
Ritz Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.