We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Retreat in the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 South St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Georgetown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #37 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Retreat in the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here during the summer during a power outage in the city. Very nice, relaxed hotel in the city. The rooms and bathrooms are standard Ritz quality. The hotel is laid out differently, however that is because this was an old factory (so I am told). Nonetheless, the location is rgeat and the staff is very friendly and personable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    47
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
54
55
15
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I absolutely loved discovering this place. After mistakenly going to the R-C in Washington, DC, the one in Georgetown was heaven sent. Loved the atmosphere when you first walk in -- very quiet, serene and cozy. (Appeared to have some English charm to it.) The plus for this first visit were the sauna and steam room (small -- fits like 4-6 people cozily) and the quiet atmosphere. The negatives -- small space for changing/locker rooms, so when there were 6 of us trying to get into and out of the changing area it wasn't easy...but we were all accommodating. The massage was good -- not GREAT -- but good. The hostess and valet were more than professional and courteous. I'd say great experience. But would have to go back to try out some of their other treatments. Bottom line: if you're looking for comfort, quiet and relaxation you'll find it here...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown is situated in a great location within Washington, DC...Georgetown. You will want for nothing during your stay...everything is within walking distance. Great food and shopping all around the hotel. Behind the hotel is an AMC movie theater and access to the waterfront. This is a perfect get-away for couples wishing to take time out of busy life to unwind and reconnect. The hotel offers valet parking...can go in and out as many times as you would like for about $50 per night. However, there is a $10 parking lot across the street (less than 50 feet) away from the hotel...the only downside is that you park at your own risk overnight. There are a couple of other parking garages ranging from $22 to $35 daily...do not park in the garage next door to the AMC theater because it is the most expensive garage for sure. In terms of accommodations...the decor is unique for a Rtiz-Carlton...modern and very warm and inviting. The checkin was fantastic...the valet open and close doors and great you with Sir and Madam. The rooms are in excellent condition. The flat screen TV is accompanied by a Bose entertainment center/system. The bathroom has a nice tub (a little small for two people), but a nice way to get the party started; separate shower and toilet. The bed is very comfortable. The curtains keep out 99% of light and external noise (from street and other guests) was non-existent - we did ask for quiet room upon arrival. The hotel offers a turndown service, which should be standard for all hotels of this caliber, but are not unfortunately. The room is stocked with snacks (you pay for) and there is 24-hour room service. We had breakfast at the restaurant downstairs. The service and food was good. I do not think it is worth the money though...but I recommend not spoiling a good weekend, by trying to leave the hotel to get some breakfast after sleeping in from a wonderful night...a little more money will not hurt you at this point.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This old Georgetown building as been transformed into a chic and wonderful place to stay in my favorite area of DC. The rooms are spacious and modern and everything works well. Service is very good and attentive and room service was also very good. The bar area is a nice place to retreat after work and the whole hotel feels comfortable yet chic. It is close to everything in Georgetown and the sites as well and is one of my favorites in DC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was a fabulous place to stay at holiday time! Decorations were terrific and the roaring fire next to the giant Christmas tree was just the perfect thing.

Upgraded for $100 per night to a suite which was very nice. Bed was very comfortable.

The best part however was the service. From the concierge to the valet, bellman , cocktail waiters in the lobby... Made the experience unreal.

One tiny thing... Every morning I would order a large pot of coffee to the room. It barely poured three cups... And the cups were small and shallow! Slightly annoying but just an odd thing for a hotel that tends to every detail!

One other note... This hotel defiantly seems to attract locals to enjoy cocktails and snacks in the amazing lobby. But regardless of that, they always took care of their hotel guests and kept an eye open at all times.

Loved every minute and will defiantly be returning!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here with my mum in the Spring for a girly city break and we weren't disappointed. The hotel staff are attentive and professional and can't do enough for you. It's definitely a business hotel, as you can expect in the capital of the US, so i think we got extra attention being the only people there who clearly weren't putting the trip on expenses.
We had a bit of confusion when booking in, as we had booked a room with 2 double beds and had been booked into a room with 1 king bed. I have a feeling they thought we were a same-sex couple on paper, as my married name is double-barrel with my maiden name and we were both Mrs. This was resolved quickly though and they were very apologetic. The doormen are very friendly and professional and even helped my mum put some extra shopping in her suitcase in the lobby before we left for the airport.
The room was clean, spacious and quiet, with the most amazing pillow top mattresses! I'd had a stiff neck for a week before going away and it had gone by the end of our stay. The service does go above and beyond, but sometimes you do just want to be left alone - especially if you want an afternoon nap!
Georgetown is a great location for shopping and just wandering around. It's a really pretty area with a lot of history, but is a cab ride away from the main tourist area. We would get a cab to the museums in the morning, then come back and get cupcakes from Georgetown Cupcakes (as seen on tv), which is a couple of blocks away from the hotel. The best museums we visited were the Crime museum, Museum of American history and the Native American museum (which does amazing vegetarian food!). Our only let down in DC was that the reflecting pool is being renovated, so is empty and surrounded by wire fencing. This was a bit of a disappointment as it ruined the view from the Abe Lincoln memorial. It is an exceptionally clean city though and you can walk just about anywhere once you're in the main drag.
We ate near the hotel in the evenings and there's plenty of places to get food. Our favourite was a place called "Clyde's", which is a pub/restaurant which has that "St. Elmo's Fire" feel about it, as do a few of the restaurants in Georgetown. Nice food at a decent price, with a great atmosphere.
All in all it was a great trip at a lovely hotel and my mum can't wait to go back again with my dad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel located in a former brick factory, is a excellent place for a weekend in the Georgetown/D.C . area. Close enough to visit the the sites and still have access to the stores and restruants in Georgetown. Good Spa and the food in the hotel restruant and lobby is also good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown

Address: 3100 South St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Georgetown
Ritz Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.