We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 South St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Georgetown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #27 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Over the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was a fabulous place to stay at holiday time! Decorations were terrific and the roaring fire next to the giant Christmas tree was just the perfect thing.

Upgraded for $100 per night to a suite which was very nice. Bed was very comfortable.

The best part however was the service. From the concierge to the valet, bellman , cocktail waiters in the lobby... Made the experience unreal.

One tiny thing... Every morning I would order a large pot of coffee to the room. It barely poured three cups... And the cups were small and shallow! Slightly annoying but just an odd thing for a hotel that tends to every detail!

One other note... This hotel defiantly seems to attract locals to enjoy cocktails and snacks in the amazing lobby. But regardless of that, they always took care of their hotel guests and kept an eye open at all times.

Loved every minute and will defiantly be returning!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    51
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
64
64
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here with my mum in the Spring for a girly city break and we weren't disappointed. The hotel staff are attentive and professional and can't do enough for you. It's definitely a business hotel, as you can expect in the capital of the US, so i think we got extra attention being the only people there who clearly weren't putting the trip on expenses.
We had a bit of confusion when booking in, as we had booked a room with 2 double beds and had been booked into a room with 1 king bed. I have a feeling they thought we were a same-sex couple on paper, as my married name is double-barrel with my maiden name and we were both Mrs. This was resolved quickly though and they were very apologetic. The doormen are very friendly and professional and even helped my mum put some extra shopping in her suitcase in the lobby before we left for the airport.
The room was clean, spacious and quiet, with the most amazing pillow top mattresses! I'd had a stiff neck for a week before going away and it had gone by the end of our stay. The service does go above and beyond, but sometimes you do just want to be left alone - especially if you want an afternoon nap!
Georgetown is a great location for shopping and just wandering around. It's a really pretty area with a lot of history, but is a cab ride away from the main tourist area. We would get a cab to the museums in the morning, then come back and get cupcakes from Georgetown Cupcakes (as seen on tv), which is a couple of blocks away from the hotel. The best museums we visited were the Crime museum, Museum of American history and the Native American museum (which does amazing vegetarian food!). Our only let down in DC was that the reflecting pool is being renovated, so is empty and surrounded by wire fencing. This was a bit of a disappointment as it ruined the view from the Abe Lincoln memorial. It is an exceptionally clean city though and you can walk just about anywhere once you're in the main drag.
We ate near the hotel in the evenings and there's plenty of places to get food. Our favourite was a place called "Clyde's", which is a pub/restaurant which has that "St. Elmo's Fire" feel about it, as do a few of the restaurants in Georgetown. Nice food at a decent price, with a great atmosphere.
All in all it was a great trip at a lovely hotel and my mum can't wait to go back again with my dad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel located in a former brick factory, is a excellent place for a weekend in the Georgetown/D.C . area. Close enough to visit the the sites and still have access to the stores and restruants in Georgetown. Good Spa and the food in the hotel restruant and lobby is also good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We felt welcomed and cared for from the moment we entered the Ritz-Carlton until the moment we left. At check in we were greeted with bottles of water and hot towels - what a nice touch after traveling! Our room was spacious and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was huge!

I would definitely stay at the Ritz in Georgetown next time I'm in DC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fantastic location off a main street through Georgetown. Restored industrial building, very cool lobby. Nice rooms. I had a corner suite which was HUGE. I'd stay here again....excellent service as is expected from the Ritz

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It is a boutique hotel. 80-something rooms, but to get to ours was down stars underground back up and finally in. Single restaurant/bar. Decent drinks food, but although the bartender was awesome, table service was not slow and not attentive, and the wine was warm -- which to their credit they took care of. Very nice lounging area with servers -- expanded lobby type thing. In-room breakfast was average. Typical awesome ritz service. But...just kinda boring hotel.if it was anything but a Ritz it probably would get another star --- but for a Ritz, it wasn't all that.

Room Tip: 106 was our room. Didn't seem like the best, but it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The site of an old incinerator provides a warm homelike welcome to its guests. The staff were superb and the rooms quiet and restful. The refreshments available on Friday night were a special treat. A place I will return to.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown

Address: 3100 South St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Georgetown
Ritz Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.