We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super restaurant, very loud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mintwood Place

Mintwood Place
1813 Columbia Road, NW, Washington DC, DC
202.234.6732
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 2,564 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Washington DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super restaurant, very loud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Almost everything was perfect - the wine selections, while limited, were quite excellent, the food was very tasty and beautifully presented, the service was super, the restaurant is quite attractive. As noted by other critics, the place is super loud.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    70
    17
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very high Quality dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

From start to finish, this was a great meal. They have a great bourbon and beer selection, but this part of the experience was a bit overpriced. $25 for a 2 ounce pour of 10 Year Old Rip Van Winkle is gouging if I have ever seen it. I settled on the Founders Breakfast stout on tap, which was excellent. We had an appetizer of Shishito peppers, and they were amazing. I had the Tagliatelle Bolognese for my main course, which was wonderfully flavored and very filling. I couldn't even make it to the dessert course. I wanna go back and try the cast iron chicken, which I have heard is amazing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Noisey, noisey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Would have been a delightful Saturday night dinner but for the noise. Good food [duck and cassoulet were excellent], pleasant decor, and excellent service are marred by the crowd noise in this new Adams Morgan hotspot. Management must have gotten the word because egg-crate foam has been attached underneath each table. Unfortunately, this has done little to reduce the cacaphony of the crowd. Go for the food but don't expect conversation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food. Simply delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love this place as it does not try to be anything more than it is. They serve simply great food in a cozy relaxing atmosphere. I was impressed with every dish, and that is really not the usual for me. I recommend the peppers for an appetizer if you like something spicy! I can't wait to go back. The only critique I have is that we went on a Saturday night at about 7:30 and the restaurant was so loud that we could barely hear each other. Good thing it was not a first date.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Would recommend it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Busy sat night, ate in bar area as no reservations, but high top table just fine, very good service, outstanding food, definitely go there again

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mintwood Place also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Mintwood Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mintwood Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.