We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dogs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eat DC-3

Eat DC-3
423 8th St. SE, Washington DC, DC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #713 of 2,699 Restaurants in Washington DC
Restaurant details
Tallahassee,FL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Their hot dog variety is great. I especially enjoyed the bulgogi and kimchi dog. Its a large portion of food and my husband and I were filled for under $20

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A tad expensive, but simply divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I went looking for this place, which was NOT easy to find, but I persevered and was glad I did. They had an eclectic offering of hot dogs, so I ordered, ate, and enjoyed it. I was able to wash it down with a beer at Ted's Bulletin just down the street.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDC
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

So - the actual hot dogs are A++. The fried pickles are awesome and the fries are great, too. The "beef" I have is the price. You're paying $10 for a dog, fries, and drink (non-alcoholic to boot). For that price, I expect it to come with a baseball game. For the price you're paying, you'd expect a little more - maybe even if they made the dogs all footlongs. If they lowered the price a bit, I'd be a regular. As a DC local, even I am a bit blown-off by the price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fried Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Fried pickles, fried Oreos, french fries, corn dogs, a hot dog wrapped in bacon and served with jalapeno relish, PBR in a can...need I say more? We came with our two sons, 6 and 7, and enjoyed a tasty, authentic meal in the middle of Barracks Row. The food isn't cheap but you don't care after you take the first bite. The menu has a variety of different hot dog combinations from all over the country. There is something for everyone- that likes hot dogs!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A guilty pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Okay, a hot dog wrapped in bacon, plopped in the deep fryer, covered with sauerkraut and cheese whiz, and served with a heap of chili fries will probably make your cardiologist roll her eyes and order more stents. But hey, life is short.

This is a small, hole-in-the-wall place on north Barracks Row near Eastern Market and Pennsylvania Ave. The theme is a kitschy post-WWII concept: with the arrival of the Douglas DC-3 airplane, people traveled all over the country, and learned how others serve their hot dogs. There's a big map on the wall showing where all of the custom-designed servings supposedly come from: New York (Street Vendor beef dog with kraut and yellow mustard), Cincinnati (Coney style with chili, cheese, onions, and yellow mustard)... you get the idea. They have a few non-dogs served as dogs, such as "Seattle Pike Place Ultimate Fish Dog" (deep fried fish with slaw and vinegar) and "California Left Winger" (falafel with tzatziki, onion and tomato). You can make your own as well, with all of their options posted on a board at the back. Fries with or without chili are available, as are bottles of designer pop and cups for fountain drinks.

The only two areas that could use some tweaking are (a) the fries are a bit limp for my taste, and (b) the serving line is sometimes confusing, with people who are ordering get mixed in with those who are waiting and others who are paying.

While you shouldn't go there every day unless you like munching down Lipitor like SweetTarts, it's definitely a fun guilty pleasure now and then if you're on Barracks Row or at Eastern Market.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat DC-3 also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Eat DC-3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eat DC-3, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.