We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic way to get around.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Bikeshare

Capital Bikeshare
Washington DC, DC
877-430-2453
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Capital Bikeshare offers access to a fleet of over 2,500 bicycles located at over 300 stations across Washington, D.C., Arlington, VA, Alexandria VA, and Montgomery County, MA. 24-hour and 3-day passes are available for purchase at any station throughout the system. Annual memberships, 30 day memberships, and daily key memberships are available for purchase online. Passes and memberships include an unlimited number of trips within your access period and the first 30 minutes of every trip is free.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to get around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Whoever came up with this idea is simply genius! Great way to get around the city, we had a bus tour and used these for the 2 days we were in town and it worked a treat. so much faster than walking and the breeze is nice too. I would recommend downloading the app so you can get live updates on how many bikes are at each station and where the closest station is. The app also has a rental timer to help return the bike within 30 mins to avoid rental charges.

READ THE BOARD BEFORE RENTING!!! I have read a few reviews on here of people getting confused with the pricing and thinking they could keep the bike for the whole day for $7. It is not hard to understand and my husband and I found it very clear in the fact that the rental was $7 for 24 hours and during that 24 hrs if you returned bike within 30 mins it was free, and then it had the charges for if you returned after the 30 mins. simple! there are so many bike stations around that it was so easy to re dock the bikes within the 30 mins period, we never went over our time period and were not inconvenienced by having to re dock the bikes. Occasionaly we docked and re docked straight away to avoid charges if we were planning on riding a bit further.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    26
    3
    4
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Split, Croatia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant way to get around DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend were in DC in April 2013 and used these bikes. It's a fabulous way to get around to all the main sites and I would highly recommend it as it is far better than a bus and there is a lot of ground to cover on foot if you are only there for a short stay like us.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice on Summer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The capital bikeshare are very practical if you like to feel the ambiance of the city. It's better than subway, first because it is very less expensive and also because your outside while travelling between monuments.
We enjoy very much our day pass !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best way to get around the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have used these very accessible modes of transportation to enhance our sightseeing experience in the downtown and extended areas of DC. My husband discovered this unique, cost effective, "enjoy at your own pace" way to travel around the city during the busy Inauguration and again when we visited the city in the Spring! We were able to go places and experience sights that we would not have seen from a car.
It was a totally amazing riding directly down the center of Pennsylvania Avenue, from the White House to Capitol Hill, since they had removed the traffic lights in preparation for the Inauguration. We explored the National Mall and Smithsonian Museums, the Washington Monument, Reflecting Pool, Lincoln Memorial, around the Tidal Basin with its many meaningful monuments, to the Jefferson Memorial. In the Spring, we explored the Arlington National Cemetery.
It is easy to use the pick-up and drop-off kiosks, with many stations a short distance from one another. The bikes have three speeds and are simple to maneuver. I highly recommend giving this a try, because I am not a cyclist and had so much fun each time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A good way to get around - but don't expect to find a bike every time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

First off: hats off to any city that's doing its bit to promote this kind of transport system. Washington's heart is certainly in the right place. $7 for a day of travel around the sights of the National Mall and further afield to Arlington and Georgetown is certainly good value. To clarify: you have 30 minute window to get your bike docked into another station, not the 90 as one review has it, though you do get a 'safety' 15 minutes if you find all of the stations full when you reach your destination. Given that the metro is $2.70 a ride (when including the paper card) you can save yourself some money and sore feet with the bike.

The bikes are simply and easy to ride, and you can get a reasonable shunt going if you're so inclined, though I'm not sure why you'd want to unless you're a DC commuter heading into work, and then why are you reading this?

Here's the health warning: there are lots of tourists and bikes can become a premium in certain places (the Lincoln Memorial for example) so you can't expect to rock up and find one. The app is good, but doesn't update strictly in real time: by the time you reach the station the bikes might be gone. Some people are quite canny at dropping a bike then swiping for another 30 minutes, so pairs of bikes are sometimes hard to come by.

Personally, I wouldn't plan a day around using a bike, especially if you have are under time pressure to get back somewhere, but if you can afford to be a bit more relaxed this might be a fun, and useful, bonus attraction.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Bikeshare also viewed

 

Been to Capital Bikeshare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Bikeshare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.