We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most friendly hostel I've stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Washington Hostel

Save Saved
You added Downtown Washington Hostel to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Downtown Washington Hostel
506 H Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002 (National Mall)   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most friendly hostel I've stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We booked this at the very last minute after having cancelled at a different hostel and couldn't have been happier from the moment we walked in. The whole place was very clean and organised and the rooms were really well maintained. The location is great - 15 minutes maximum from the Union Square/National Mall area. If this gives you any idea, we only stayed in DC for a day and the proximity of the hostel made it really easy to get everything done as it was so close. The best part about this place however was the staff! AJ and the rest of the staff were always ready to help, give advice on things to do, or just hang out. Definitely the most friendly and communal hostel I've been to in the USA. For sure would recommend this awesome place!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
1
5
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Booked this hostel last minute, and from the minute we checked in absolutely loved it! Staff are easy going, super friendly and helpful! We had heaps of fun over the two nights we were there, and can certainly say that it's one of the best hostels I've stayed in. So hard to leave, I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

ADVANTAGE: Late Check in since My train was VERY late. Outstanding Staff and LOCATION!!! Young Partying Crowd. Just not my scene so I moved to a Quieter Hostel. One bathroom was out of order so I had to upstairs to wait in line.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was my second hostel experience and I really fell in love with this place. It's an easy walk to Union Station/Metro, a 15min walk to the Capitol, and I really loved the charming neighborhood. All of DC is very accessible from here but you don't feel so suffocated from city dwelling. I found the facilities very clean even when there was a full house. The staff was very nice and helpful and they're currently remodeling both the house and the staff (for the better). Meeting people was very easy in the kitchen and common areas and I felt very at home and comfortable. The price is very good for the location. This place is filled mainly with people under the age of 35 and the quarters can be snug, but I personally wasn't bothered by this. I made many good traveling friends here from all over the world and I would recommend this place!

My only qualm would be the lack of bathrooms. There are only 4 1/2 bathrooms in the house. This is tolerable if you take your shower at night rather than in the morning. If you take up a schedule that's not like everyone else's, you'd be fine.

Room Tip: Bring your own lock, ear plugs, and eye mask and you'll never know you're sleeping in a full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I had a great time here,was so funny and made some good memory's, mark Levi and Charles are great staff they were super friendly and just generally great guys, would definitely stay in this place again and would recommend this hostel to anyone!
Tom.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights to visit Washington and it was all I needed. Great location , close (by foot) to Union Station and from there you can go everywhere around the city. I liked the atmosphere and the staff , especially the guy who made the pancakes every morning !!
The beds were cosy , clean and they a great atmosphere every day. I would definitely stay there again if I will have the chance to visit D.C.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a good place to stay if you're looking for a budget place to stay in DC. Its in walking distance of union station which grants easy access into all the main tourist sites and George town. Its surrounded by places to get food and a large grocery store. Its a great place for a solo traveller as theres always someone to talk to, I met a lot of interesting people here. You get a good thick blanket to sleep in (unlike most hostels I've stayed in that give you a thin sheet). Also the staff are really helpful and friendly. My only qualm with this place is that there could of been more bathrooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Downtown Washington Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Washington Hostel

Address: 506 H Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Specialty lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Downtown Washington Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Washington Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.