We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Washington Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Downtown Washington Hostel to your Saves list
Downtown Washington Hostel
506 H Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel amenities
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I had a great time here,was so funny and made some good memory's, mark Levi and Charles are great staff they were super friendly and just generally great guys, would definitely stay in this place again and would recommend this hostel to anyone!
Tom.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    13
    2
    6
See reviews for
1
8
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights to visit Washington and it was all I needed. Great location , close (by foot) to Union Station and from there you can go everywhere around the city. I liked the atmosphere and the staff , especially the guy who made the pancakes every morning !!
The beds were cosy , clean and they a great atmosphere every day. I would definitely stay there again if I will have the chance to visit D.C.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a good place to stay if you're looking for a budget place to stay in DC. Its in walking distance of union station which grants easy access into all the main tourist sites and George town. Its surrounded by places to get food and a large grocery store. Its a great place for a solo traveller as theres always someone to talk to, I met a lot of interesting people here. You get a good thick blanket to sleep in (unlike most hostels I've stayed in that give you a thin sheet). Also the staff are really helpful and friendly. My only qualm with this place is that there could of been more bathrooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel. The people were al really friendly and I had some great talks on the big comfy couch while we watched movies together. The hostel is old and the facilities aren't the best, but it's clean, safe and cosy. The location is fantastic, just a minutes walk away from Union Square, and surrounded by great restaurants (I reccommend the burger place across the street, best burger I ever had). Don't go if you're not into hostels and sharing lots of personal space with others, please do go if you like free pancakes in the morning and meeting tons of interesting people.

Room Tip: Don't turn off the aircon at night if it's hot out even if the thing is noisy. It gets soooo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

okay, i stayed there couple month ago and everything was okay, quite
nice staff, hostel located pretty close to metro station

this time i only needed to stay for a night and my plane was landing at 11 pm, so i called them to tell that ill be late so they know. Because when i stayed there for the first time i remember that front desk guy was literally hanging out in living room after 12pm, so i thought its not gonna be a problem, thats why i choose this hostel again.
I called them and here is our dialog:

me: hi, i just wanted to tell you that im checking in after 12pm cuz my plane is landing at 11pm
he: which airport?
me: Reagan
he: my staff works till 12 pm, we`ll try our best but we don`t promise
me: so u telling me that i might not get into the hostel if i show up after 12?
he: my staff works till 12 *rude*
me: okay then

what would you do? i booked another.
Then they charged me for nothing, i tried to cancel transaction but it was too late.
and this messuage is for you phone guy, i know u reading this, u charged me for nothing, so you can buy some window curtains for your creepy bathrooms. good luck

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at DWH; the staff were really helpful. knowledgeable and friendly, guests were respectful and interested and the location was awesome - an easy scenic walk to all the big sites such as the Capitol building, the Mall and a mere 5minutes from Union Station. Pancake breakfasts were awesome - the hostel sleeps only 50 guests or so which meant that we all gathered around the table in the morning and shared stories - it was a really comfy, community, friendly atmosphere!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

DWH is more of a personal property put up as a hostel for young travellers on a budget.

The room types range from mixed dormitories to two bed rooms.

Bathrooms are essentially shared.

U r expected to do your little bit in keeping the property clean, and that is fair to keep the facility in order. DWH seems to be run by 3-4 guys, who do the housekeeping between them.

It actually a 2 storied house, which probably was meant for personal use but was later refurbished for putting up travelers.

Still the guys are fantastic and really try hard to make u as comfortable as possible.

there is an all day open kitchenette, with all kitchen essentials. u can use them and clean them for the next traveler for use.
there is daily complimentary breakfast of pancakes made by Brad, the ever helpful.

AJ is the main guy here who leaves no stone un-turned to make u happy. he will plan game nights, will get u fresh popcorn as u enjoy 24 hour non stop run of movies and TV series on the LCD in the common room.

We were initially reluctant as the property seemed too unprofessional at first sight, but trust me on this if effort counts, and we are convinced it should, these guys are right up there.

DWH is a reasonable distance away from the mall and the secretariat area. If u are people who do not mind walking then, this should suit u fine.
A big bonus is it being located very close to the union station, which is a major bus and tube station.

There are also some good restaurants around this place.

there is also a big departmental store nearby.

You can buy your groceries here, stock them up in AJ's fridge with a label stating your name on it, and then cook using the kitchenware available.

All in all, it was a fair enough place. We paid 100 USD per night.
All our requests for early or late check in check outs were heard and respected too.

Was nice little experience, different for sure.

Thanks DWH Guys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Downtown Washington Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Washington Hostel

Address: 506 H Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting Washington DC House is still a 'Washington DC must' for travelers in the know. With a downtown location conveniently situated in a hip mixed use district, Washington DC House is surrounded by a plethora of shops, restaurants, bars and clubs. Washington DC buzzes from early morning until late night. Travelers are connected via 2 nearby metro stations, 3 bus routes, and a bike share program just a block away! At Washington DC House we aim to provide you with comfortable, affordable, and fun accommodations where you can feel at ease and meet fellow budget travelers in a lively and relaxed environment. We provide a unique backpacker experience which offers great facilities including internet, chill out areas, lockers, tourist information, internet access, movie nights, luggage storage, telephone facilities and much more. The rooms in our hostel are large, bright and spacious with modern decoration and interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Downtown Washington Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Washington Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.