We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swann House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Swann House to your Saves list
Swann House
1808 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

What a place! Just a few blocks from Dupont Circle. I can;t imagine that we will ever stay anywhere else again when we visit Washington. Beautifully restored, lovely music, great snacks, comfy beds, attentive hosts, every detail is in place.. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    40
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
135
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

We recently stayed at this inn for 4 nights and would absolutely recommend it. The inn is charming and is very well situated. The staff is very accomodating and friendly.. A full breakfast is served every morning - fresh fruit, juices, muffins and a daily special.
Each room has its own charm. We stayed in the Jennifer Green room and loved it. The bed is sooooo comfortable that you just melt in it.... down comforter and pillows. There is a wood burning fireplace and a quaint stepdown bathroom off of the bedroom. I would return to this Inn in a heartbeat. Next time I would love to stay in the Regent Room.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brasil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

This hotel is simply fantastic. I was there 5 nights in March and I loved it. The location is excellent. It is in a nice neighborhood and there are only 5 minutes walk from the subway. The breakfast is incredible, with everything very fresh and tasty. Until today I miss the hot Blueberry muffins from which they serve.

The Shanghai'daway room is very quiet, but has no windows. But he is very clean, spacious, the decor is wonderful and great bathroom.


The price is very good because you're about 10 minutes from the Mall and still have breakfast. The service is very attentive and do everything to please you.

Actually it is one of the most charming hotels where I was. I recommend this hotel super charming to all who want to stay in Washington without paying a fortune for it.

  • Liked — Decoration, space
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

We booked a couple of nights here on a recommendation from a friend - we were only sorry we couldn't stay longer.

It is a large house, built I think around 1912, and all the rooms have been decorated in different styles. We stayed in the Lighthouse room, a circular room in a turret and decorated in a nautical fashion.

Breakfast was a help yourself buffet style continental breakfast with a selection of newspapers to read while you eat and a classical music radio station playing in the background.

If you came back from a busy sightseeing session and wanted a rest, you could make use of the lounge and help yourself to iced tea or homemade lemonade from the fridge or snack on cheese and crackers with a glass of sherry. If you wanted to check your emails, there was a pc there with free internet access.

The B&B was a short walk (barely 10 minutes) from the Metro at Dupont Circle from where it was an easy ride to the sights.

A very friendly B&B with excellent accommodation. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness and accommodation
  • Disliked — Unfortunately I couldn't stay longer!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

I must say that our stay at The Swann House was one of the most memorable and special weekends that I can remember.
Not only is the staff there to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, they are friendly and attentive to all details.
These are some of the best rooms that DC has to offer!

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

My wife and I are from Australia. We stayed at Swann House over two seperate periods during June. In between we travelled out of Washington and left a large part of our luggage with them. We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. The room we had was a little small and perhaps a bit too crowded with furniture but very well kept and comfortable. During our stay temperatures in Washington were in the 90's and thankfully the rooms airconditioning coped very well. We would recommend Swann House as a good place to stay.

  • Liked — Very clean, well maintained, lovely 19th century house in a very good location
  • Disliked — A lot of stairs to climb after a long day sightseeing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

The Swann House is a nice treat. GREAT service; charming, comfortable decor; excellent breakfast; and quaint neighborhood with easy access to public transit. My husband and I loved the Shanghai'daway because it was tucked away from it all (but if you can't live without a window, you might want to choose one of their other lovely rooms). If you like B&Bs you are very likely to love the Swann House.

  • Liked — Location was a little off the beaten path, and full hearty homemade breakfast was a bonus!
  • Disliked — Would have been nice to see more people our age
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swann House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swann House

Address: 1808 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1883 mansion in the historic Dupont Circle neighborhood of Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Swann House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swann House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swann House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.