We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swann House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Swann House to your Saves list
Swann House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   1808 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We only had one night in Washington DC, and we are very glad we stayed at Swann House. Absolutely BEAUTIFUL room, excellent bathroom, helpful staff and great location. Would highly recommend it for anyone.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    49
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
43
151
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband and I had our third visit to Swann House last weekend. As usual, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the food was even better than ever. We visited the wax museum on 10th and F; easily walked to Metro from Swann House and took us within two blocks of museum. Always nice to stroll around DC and explore new places. It's a great place to stay if you want to feel safe and comfortable, with easy access to the Nation's Capital. Many fantastic restaurants nearby. We're already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: No matter which room you choose, the staff is very discreet and you'll have lots of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Added a few extra personal days to a business trip that coincided with the spring Cherry Blossom Festival. This was a wonderful place to stay! Beautiful mansion, helpful staff, very clean, and great location. Lovely balcony overlooked the dog park.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed in the Nantucket room while visiting friends in DC. We booked last-minute and it was the only room available. While the room is snug (as advertised on their website), on the 3rd floor, and limited off street parking, the experience was very nice. Bed & pillows very comfortable. Continental breakfast buffet included hot entree. Mid-afternoon snacks and sherry was tasty. Holiday decor was festive. Staff were very friendly. Good location / easily walkable location next to Dupont Circle.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

My husband, my 23 year-old autistic son, and I had a wonderful 4 night stay at Swann House in Washington DC. Since there were three of us we stayed in the Serengetti Room which has a living room and two bedrooms which was just perfect for us. The accomodations are very luxurious and very, very clean. The breakfasts and afternoon snacks were wonderful (particularly like the artichoke and spinach eggs, the pumpkin chocolate chip muffins, and the walnut & blue cheese torte with raisin bread crackers). The Dupont Circle neighborhood is very picturesque and has many shops and restaurants which are easy to walk to (Rosemary's Thyme restaurant is the closest and the food was really great!). The metro was only about 4 or 5 blocks away and was also an easy walk. If you love history, don't miss Woodrow Wilson's house which is a little further than the metro, but is also walkable from Swann House (the tour of the Wilson house is extremely informative and well-done). We met three of the staff at Swann House, Anna, Megan, and Debra, and they were all very helpful, warm and welcoming. We would love to someday go back to Swann House and will definitely recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed for five nights in September and what a welcoming, comfortable,peaceful place so near to Washington's many places of interest. We were late in arriving due to Rail problems but our room was warmly lit, with relaxing music playing, an inviting feather bed and a welcome letter waiting for us. Our room was Il Duomo which was beautifully appointed and luxurious with the most amazing en-suite.The breakfast was excellent and the amenities first class with helpful friendly and accommodating staff. If you want to experience the many attractions of Washington which are easily accessible, but want a quiet neighbourhood for dining and relaxing after a busy sightseeing day Swann House should be your choice.,

Room Tip: The second floor room Il Duomo is just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The perfect choice for our small & intimate wedding…the staff was warm and accommodating, the house and our room were lovely. We enjoyed a nice fire in our room on our first evening and a champagne toast on our private deck on the afternoon of our wedding. Rick, Deborah & Anne were attentive and very responsive to requests. Breakfasts were excellent, and the afternoon snacks with sherry were a nice touch. Though the house was close to capacity during our stay, we only saw and heard guests at breakfast. We were there on Halloween night, and even got to hand out candy to the trick-or-treaters (lots of fun!). DuPont Circle is a great neighborhood for walking and exploring and the Swann House is within walking distance to lots of good restaurants (try Floriana for great Italian). We would recommend Swann House and would stay there again if in the area!

Room Tip: Jennifer Green room has a two person steam shower, lots of natural light in the vanity area, a firep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#19 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,974 reviews
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,451 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swann House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swann House

Address: 1808 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swann House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1883 mansion in the historic Dupont Circle neighborhood of Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Swann House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swann House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swann House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.