We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Wing Cafe III

West Wing Cafe III
300 New Jersey Ave NW, Ste 100, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202 347 5855
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 2,558 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I would agree with the other reviewers that it was a little confusing to know how to order, pick up, and pay for items. Business should add some signs to help direct traffic, especially since many customers coming through are not locals.

Food was affordable and pretty good.

Staff wasn't the friendliest or helpful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    71
    14
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, NY
Level Contributor
211 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“good food, bad layout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stopped in for lunch with a friend and got there around 11:15am. It was hard to know where to place your order, how to get your beverages and how to pay. Very confusing as you have to go all around the deli to take care of these things. Luckily for us, there was no one else there when we arrived. However for the lunch crowd, it was like carnival bumper cars in there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Brilliant, great food, good portions, clean, quick service and reasonable prices. Busy lunchtimes but served very quickly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad Attitudes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Affordable with good food, but I did not return after just one visit. As a first timer, I had questions about the cafe's food offerings and overall set up. It was obviously a problem for the staff to answer any questions. I will spend my money elsewhere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
237 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Met old friends for brunch here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were visiting in Washington and a college classmate I hadn't seen for 50 years and her husband were in DC for the weekend. My husband and I met them here and had a delightful time. I chose it based on TripAdvisor reviews and proximity to their hotel. The server was aware that we had many years to catch up and never made us feel rushed during our 5 hour stay. Felt we should've left rent money for the table. They weren't busy or we would've gladly given them back their table. Deli doesn't adequately describe this place--they have soups, salads, omelets, sandwiches and anything you could dream of drinking PLUS self-serve yogurt. Great spot and we recommend it highly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Wing Cafe III also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to West Wing Cafe III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Wing Cafe III, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.