We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful adventure in Thai cuisine!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Serow

Little Serow
1511 17th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A wonderful adventure in Thai cuisine!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Delicious spicy imaginative food if a little loud. Great value. You have to know where to find this pace since there is no signage.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    17
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Get in line EARLY!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Make sure to get in line BEFORE the restaurant opens so that you have a reasonable seating time. We got there at 6pm and the earliest we could put our names down for was 10:15pm. We ended up getting seated around 8:45 (they will text you if an earlier time is available).

The portions were perfect to share between two people and everyone who works there is extremely friendly and passionate about the food.

Don't go here unless you are a little adventurous. The menu is set every week so "you get what you get" and there were a number of spicy dishes (which we LOVED).

If I lived in DC I would probably be there at least once a month!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Cool, very cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

First of all, I loved this place and thought the food and service were excellent! You don't have to be a particularly adventurous eater to enjoy this but if you are a picky eater don't even think about dining here... you would ruin it for your more adventurous dining companions. Amazing a place with no signage or advertising could be busy "every evening" according to their staff. Arrive and submit your name/cell and they will text you when they have a seat for you. A menu is provided and you are served (no ordering except for beverages). The food is spicy, but not so hot you're sweating or can hardly eat it. Everything was delicious and went together perfectly! Loved every bite and enjoyed sitting at the bar and chatting with the folks next to me. If you are picky about food that tastes good and enjoy a hip place with a cool vibe, you MUST eat here!! Loved the whole experience!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Little Serow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We read about this great little restaurant in Bon Appetit. Visiting is a challenge since they don't have a phone or take reservations, but if you go early on a weeknight you should be able to get in easily as we did on a recent Weds. evening. We arrived as it opened and were immediately seated. Service was excellent--a very helpful, friendly staff who were very willing and eager to explain all the menu items. I especially liked the cosy decor of an apple green glow and country music playing in the background. The food was very tasty but a little too hot for my taste. The hotness impeded my enjoyment of the very interesting and different flavors/spices of the Northern Thai cuisine. The fixed price menu of $45 for 7 courses and the wine/beer list were very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best Thai food in US, and yes that includes lotus of Siam in Vegas and Sripraphai in Queens, NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

The wait can be a crap shoot but the dive bar down the street is fine to pass the time. The "chairs" are a real challenge. The food is outstanding. The severs are knowledgable and enthusiastic. The beverage selection is fine, and the cidre is a nice pairing. A fun and memorable evening.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Serow also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Little Serow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Serow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.