We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome service, location, drinks, and food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Suite Night Free!
Ranked #30 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome service, location, drinks, and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Perfect place to stay right next to the Verizon Center. The staff was friendly and the management was wonderful! We had amazing drinks at Poste, the restaurant/bar, both before and after our concert. The room was spacious and very clean. This is THE PERFECT place to stay for an amazing night on the town and I would stay there again in a minute!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Aw - thanks for the perfect review 755Katieb12! It means a lot to us! So glad we could make your Verizon event just a little more special - and happy to hear you stopped by Poste - where the mixology is legendary! We'd have you back in a minute too!
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    336
    123
    63
    33
See reviews for
241
420
80
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I came to Washington DC on business and this was my first experience staying at the Monaco Kimpton, downtown. The service I received at the Monaco was outstanding. Like all Kimpton hotels there is a wine happy hour at 5pm each day. Service was excellent. Michelle Obama came by one evening for drinks and dinner with friends so that speaks highly of the reputation of the hotel bar/restaurant. The breakfast choices were limited on week days and I would suggest eating out those mornings and the beds could be upscaled a bit. Décor was fine and everything was clean. Location was great for restaurants and museums.

Room Tip: upper floor, 2 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
I appreciate the great review Skidog, now that the visit is over, I can say yes it's true FLOTUS was here - what a great tribute to our friends in Poste Moderne Brasserie as well! Can't wait to have you back for your second visit.
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I came to Washington DC on business and this was my first experience staying at the Monaco Kimpton. I will definitely be back. While DC has quite a few hotels with excellent décor and ambiance, the service I received at the Monaco was outstanding.
Thaxton deserves special mention. He went out of his way to accommodate my every need, was generally thoughtful and made sure to handle every situation that arose (one came up with my business credit card) with professionalism and grace. Any hotel in the Metro area would be lucky to have him! I don't always leave reviews, but am more then happy to in this situation.
I highly recommend the Monaco, Kimpton.

Room Tip: 2nd or above floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thaxton and thoughtful - two words that go together well Tabithatea. Many thanks for your kind words and the recommendation - I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your great DC Monaco experience.
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I needed to plan a last minute getaway for my boyfriend and I and was very lucky to have been assisted by a lovely young lady name Sardia Nivens. She was very friendly and expedited the completion of my reservation. Upon my arrival, another young lady name Ashley that worked with Miss Sardia was also a bright ray of sunshine. She helped to make our stay at the property a very memorable one. Mr. Thaxton and Danielle were also very friendly with the check in and check out process. The Mediterranean suite was very nice and we loveddd the whirl pool that came with the room. All in all it was a very nice stay. My boyfriend and I would definitely return. It was very clean and updated as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Looks you had the "A" team taking care of you during the snowstorm Dee_lish_us25, and I couldn't agree with you more. Sardia, Ashley and of course Thaxton are "rockstars in caring" and I'm glad you both got to see it in action! Come back soon!
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay there for Valentine's day. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. A really enjoyable experience. The room was spacious with a Fuji tub, comfortable with a vibrant color schemes, and decorated romantically to fit the V-day theme. Everything was very clean, the room service was great and the amenities were even better. The hotel location is excellent also, it's in the heart of everything... Restaurants, movies, tour sites, sports bars and all. I can't forget about the guest service professional Thaxton! He was the mastermind behind helping me provide this awesome experience for my significant other. He was very professional, resourceful and accommodating. I will definitely visit this hotel again and ask for Thaxton.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Wow Ladymjay, we can't ask more than that - the perfect place to be - and "Thaxton the mastermind"! Don't wait for another Valentine's Day - Thaxton and the team would love to make any day that special - I promise!
Cheers,
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Truly an experience in the capitol. Housed in a former government building, the decor and ambiance couldn't be more uniquely Washington. From the amenities to the staff, to hosted wine and snack hour each evening to free bikes to borrow and ride around the city --- you simply can't go wrong!

Room Tip: There is such a variety of rooms but they are all lovely. Ask for a room above the basement level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
You had me at free bikes Kingmike! A favorite amenity of mine - if you comeback during a warmer season, I ride Wednesday afternoons with guests - happy to take a spin! (and as you pointed out, what better location is there for that!)
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I just spent four nights at the Hotel Monaco on a business trip. Everything, really everything, was fantastic. The staff were warm and helpful. The room was spacious and beautiful, actually the whole hotel is spacious and beautiful. It is a very unique building with a lot of character and wonderful, vibrant decor. Food in the restaurant was good. Noise level was very quiet. Also very clean. Literally right across the street from the Metro. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
And I LOVED your review Maria G - the location, the building, but as always - the staff knocks it out of the park. I'm delighted you enjoyed - can't wait to have you back again!
Many thanks
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#29 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,652 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington DC
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,960 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,454 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#68 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel’s exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the bustling Poste Moderne Brasserie, Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.