We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Monaco!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Suite Night Free!
Ranked #33 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Vermilion, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love the Monaco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Our 3-night stay was delightful. Everyone on staff goes the extra mile to make your experience easy, fun and memorable. The hotel is gorgeous inside and out with spacious, comfortable, luxe lobby and accommodations. The neighborhood is close to everything - restaurants, sights, the E Street Cinema (a favorite), and right cross the street from the National Portrait Gallery (just go!). We wanted to locate near the Harmon Center (1 block away) and chose the Monaco because the hotel partners with the Shakespeare Theatre Company. Saw their production of A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum. What a treat! Glad we stayed at the Monaco. Love the Kimpton Hotels, and this one is a standout. We'll definitely be back!

Green Features: Kimptons always focus on recycling and energy efficiency. It's one of the reasons we stay with them.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We love that you enjoyed your stay so much with us Maryellen C. The location here in Penn Quarter, with all the theaters (and you mentioned a few of the best!) is really second to none!

Portrait Gallery really is amazing, as is the Harmon and Shakespeare does such a great job with all of their productions, they are great neighbors to have.

Of course, as you say, the staff is what makes the experience and I'm glad that we made you feel that it was easy, fun and memorable.

Come back again soon - we'd love an encore performance!
Best
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    319
    117
    59
    32
See reviews for
227
397
76
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was a long awaited 'no kids' night away and the hotel did not disappoint. I had mentioned in the booking notes that this was why we were staying and they not only upgraded us to a suite but we also were welcomed with champagne on ice in the bedroom, cheese platter and chocolates. I always make a point of trying to stay in Kimpton's whenever we are away from home, even with the kids. The rooms are always clean and the standards are high and I have yet to be let down by one of these hotels. I suggest also joining their 'in touch' program. You get $10 each time towards the bar or the mini bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks FoodiegirlsUK, we're honored that we made the cut for the all important "no kids" night out! As a parent myself, I understand how few and far between these adventures can be!

So happy to read that your experience is consistently great at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants, we truly try to provide a unique, but always friendly and fun experience!

Keep us in mind for the next "night out" There's always something fun happening in the neighborhood.

Cheers
Ed Monaco DC GM
ps. great tip on the InTouch program - also free wifi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

There are a lot of good reviews of the hotel on this site. I can't say the place doesn't deserve a lot of them. However, once you get past the fantastic architecture and amazing ceiling heights, there isn't much there to distinguish this place above an average hotel. The architecture is cool and you probably won't find anything else like it in the United States (as a hotel).

My wife and I had one of the "Monte Carlo" rooms. It was quite spacious. Because the building used to be a post office (and several other government purposes) it wasn't originally designed as a hotel. This left the hotel's designer with some challenges as to where to put closets and bathrooms. The televisions and the closets are inside a cabinet in the room. I must say, the TV is disproportionately small for the room size (so don't plan on hanging out and watching a movie).

The bathrooms are fine. Nothing special or luxurious. Just functional.

The lobby is what you'd come to expect from a boutique hotel in that it is cozy and appealing. They feature free wine in the late afternoon. A nice enough feature I suppose.

I would think twice about using the valet to park your car. Friday night we were waiting about 45 minutes after calling for our car to show up. This made us quite late for dinner. On another occasion we were waiting almost 30 minutes. They are totally disorganized and I was astonished how unprofessional it all was for $42 a night. I would say the valet was a really bad experience. Maybe it was just our visit.

If you're coming from NYC, L.A. or any other place with good restaurants then I'd avoid the hotel's restaurant "Poste". Frankly it felt to me like it was trying too hard and missed the mark. It was also pricey for no reason. The food was bland. Also, they served us stale bread. That shouldn't happen.

In conclusion, I don't think you'll be unhappy if you stay here, I just doubt you'll come back. That is how we felt. Generally it was okay and we left happy, but on our next trip to DC, we're going to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Generally okay and left happy, cozy & appealing lobby, cool architecture, It's a bummer we rated a meh for your stay, let us know if you decide to stay again, we'd love to have you back for another try!
Best
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I decided to spend our Xmas eve quietly alone in DC. We've stayed at The Hotel Monaco before and loved it and know that all of the Kimpton hotels are high on customer service. We were not wrong. The staff welcomed us with open arms and actually upgraded us to a suite because the hotel was not as full because of the holiday and threw in a continental breakfast Xmas morning. The architectural elements in this hotel are truly amazing with enormously wide hallways with structurally detailed ceilings. I love the little touches offered at most of the Kimptons like the happy hour and the pet friendly atmosphere. The whole experience made us feel taken care of. This was a night we'll never forget.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

What a great birthday experience- this is such a beautiful hotel with an incredibly friendly, professional staff! Special thank you to Kali at check-in- she put is in an absolutely beautiful corner room with spectacularly high ceilings PLUS she was so friendly and hooked us up with free drink coupons to help get my birthday celebrations started off right! She was so warm and welcoming, thank you so much Kali! We also had champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, and cupcakes waiting for us in our gorgeous room. Another staff stand-out was Nichole at check-out- she again was so friendly and warm and answered all of our questions- thank you Nichole for your great service! This hotel is the total package- highly recommend! ps- great location too if you are looking to tour the monuments/museums in DC- truly can't be beat!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Kali and Nichole plus a Birthday adds up to a great stay to be sure! Thanks for recognizing the little extra's this "dynamic duo" is famous for! Glad you loved the location and your stay - we hope you don't have to wait another year to come visit us again.
Happy Birthday!
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Spent 3 nights at the hotel at the end on November 2013. Can't fault the hotel, staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. The building itself is lovely, side corridors, sweeping staircases and good sized bedrooms with tall ceilings. We only had breakfast at the hotel, couldn't fault it. It may not be a cheap hotel, but well worth the price for its position as well as the quality of the hotel. all of the main sites in DC are only an easy walk from the hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for the kind words DavidofWatford2014, we're pleased to read that you enjoyed so many of the great things that make Monaco a classic - location, food, architecture, and above all service. Please come back and visit again soon.
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and I picked Hotel Monaco for our anniversary getaway for a couple of nights. I have stayed at Kimpton hotels before in NYC and SF and kept raving about them and this was the ideal time to get my wife introduced to their hotels.

As soon as we checked in we were upgraded to the presidential suite! Wow, that's the first time thats happened to either of us, flight/hotel. We walked through the regal old building admiring the architecture and wide corridors until we reached our room.The room was amazing, corner room, plenty of pace, deep soaking tub!! They even had a bottle of champagne and an anniversary card to welcome us. The first 15 minutes itself just blew us away!!

The service was amazing, everyone we spoke to was so friendly. The manager even called to see how we were doing and wish us! Excellent location, right next to some of the best DC restaurants and the metro. Loved their wine hour! Got room service from the Poste, amazing breakfast! I'll definitely be back there for lunch/dinner!

With this wonderful experience, we are looking forward to our next Kimpton getaway!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We're honored you chose us for such a special occasion Vinayak N, and pleased that we could add just a little something to make it extra special. Don't wait a year for your next getaway - Summer specials are around the corner and the Poste courtyard isn't to be missed that time of year!
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel’s exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the bustling Poste Moderne Brasserie, Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.