We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monaco is the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Suite Night Free!
Ranked #30 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Monaco is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We just returned from a 7 night stay. Shortly before arriving the hotel contacted me to ask if there was anything special we needed. I should note that I am a Kimpton in touch member, but I am not a regular guest.

I mentioned that my husband and I were making this trip, in part, to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary. Upon entering our room, we found rosepetals decorating the room, a bottle of chilled champagne and two delicious cupcakes.

This hotel is not only beautiful, but the staff exceeded all expectations. Needless to say we had wonderful stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Glad you had a happy anniversary with us Esta S! Let us know when 43 rolls around - we love encore performances!
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    337
    123
    63
    33
See reviews for
241
421
80
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I want to take this opportunity to commend that there were 2 personnel in the hotel to make my stay memorable; the first one was Manuel, the maintenance man in the hotel when my toilet wasn't working well, he came right away, fixed the problem and even vacuumed the area when he was done; the second one was the young man on Friday (11/22/13)evening when the evening wine tasting was almost over, from 5-7pm, I asked for a diet Pepsi and there were none at hand, the young man was there cleaning up the wine bottles, he asked me to wait and went right into the kitchen and fetched me a diet Pepsi; both young men behaved in a professional and courteous manners that made my stay from good to great. It is the extra things these two young men did that I will definitely recommend Monaco Hotel to anyone I know.

Room Tip: I would like to have a room face the main street instead the parking garages.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have a bicycle in the lobby for anyone to use
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Mabel_amar - you hit the nail right on the head - it's the team that makes all the difference (though a great location helps!) - in fact Manuel has been recently promoted - due in no small part to many of the great things you recognized. I appreciate your stay, and the kind words. Travel safe, come back again soon.
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Nice folks, rooms feel very grand and the folks everywhere from front desk to room service were all really great. Would stay here again!! The location can't be beat if you're going to a concert at the verizon center.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed it so much Anon5552013, we'd love to have you back for another concert - or we also have Capitals and Wizards packages available if you'd like to catch those Rangers out of town! Come back again soon,
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great stay. Couldn't ask for a better location. Located around the corner for Verizon Center and nice mall with Clydes restaurant. Quiet room with great décor. Helpful staff. Good food. Central to DC attractions. Two blocks from the Newseum.

Room Tip: Lower level quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Location location location as they say Jjmoskowitz, I'm glad ours worked so very well for your stay. We appreciate the kind words, hope you're able to come back and relax soon!
Best
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

First, I have to say, this experience completely made up for my previous week on a SAILING TRIP FROM HELL! I've been meaning to post a review, but am still too wiped out to think about it... but onto the KIMPTON!!

We had originally booked a queen room, no frills, for a hotel close to the Pink concert with my 12 year old son and his friend. As a Kimpton follower, I wanted to experience the Monaco. Couldn't have been a better experience! We checked in, went to our room, realized our room was way too small to fit a rollaway, so the hotel insisted upon upgrading us to a king suite. I was heading to the Tesla shop to charge my car (this was a maiden voyage to something further than my son's school!) and was delighted they were nice enough to keep the car overnight, which meant no valet parking fees.... Kimpton Hotel Monaco does not offer charging for electric cars, unlike other Kimpton Hotels, so this was a plus. Once I returned to Monaco, I had found the wonderful young man at the front desk had upgraded us to a Monaco Suite. Beautiful! Tall ceilings, comfortable beds, plenty of room for the kids to run around, though, they were more inclined to lie around playing their iPods and watching tv, which is great for kids who don't have tv at home and are too busy doing school work all week (that's my PC plug, albeit true).

The only slightly, faintly negative is the room service food was a bit too rich and served too cool to be tasty, but, this is the type of food to be eaten at the restaurant, so I shouldn't really fault them for this. However, in their defense, I called them and told them I was sending kid's down with a plate that needed to be warmed and they were happy to oblige. Even offering to send someone to come and retrieve the dish, but I wanted a way to get the kids to run around and explore on their own. We had both a dinner snack and breakfast.

I LOVE Kimpton Hotels, and try to chose them over othere hotels in the area when in the area where they are offered. I often miss their happy hour, but this time was able to participate. This is the most comforting, wonderful hotel group! I have forsaken Ritz Carlton and Four Season Hotels everywhere in favor of Kimpton Hotels. They offer a more homey feeling and you feel a sense of surprise whenever you enter a room. You don't know what you'll get with the decor, but always delightfully contemporary and refreshing. Kimpton is definitely my home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Wow Reneraven, a Pink concert, Tesla car, and sailing trip... You've been busy! It does highlight the location that has it all! Many thanks for the kind review - we look forward to your next shakedown cruise - give us a call!
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

...small (but handsome) rooms, and lovely public spaces. I wish the room lighting was better; otherwise, I have absolutely no complaints. The National Portrait Gallery, right across the street, is my favorite Washington museum.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We're glad you loved our location as much as we do (and the National Portrait Gallery!) Daniel O, please come see us again soon!
Best
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Elton John performed on 14 Nov at Verizon Center in DC. As a birthday present for my favorite female we got tickets to the Elton John concert and stayed at the Monaco across the street. There are several hotel options in the area but the Monaco offered what look like the best opportunity for a 5-star hotel experience and that it was !!

When the folks at the front desk learned that we were attended the concert we found a 4x6 glossy of Elton John in a card signed by the hotel staff, Elton John sunglasses and two cans of diet coke and two glasses of 2% milk (a requirement by Elton John wherever he stays)

There literally is NOTHING the staff could have done any better than what they did.

A fabulous experience !!!!

Room Tip: Corner suites are well worth the money !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Well Earl B, I don't even know what to say about that! Monaco and Elton John... that about says it all. I'm grateful to hear your your praise of the team - hopefully we get to host you for another historic event!
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#29 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington DC
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,962 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,456 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#67 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel’s exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the bustling Poste Moderne Brasserie, Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.