We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, fun place to stay in D.C.!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Suite Night Free!
Ranked #30 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great, fun place to stay in D.C.!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Monaco in D.C. several times. It is centrally located for business or tourism. You couldn't ask for a better location--close to major sites, transportation, and the Mall. Plus, the hotel is quite nice, well decorated and appointed. The staff always aim to please and are super friendly. On one prior visit, I arrived VERY early from a redeye flight and they even let me check in at about 7:00 a.m.

Usually, I would give the hotel five stars (at least for each of my past visits). I am knocking a star off this time only because I had the front desk arrange a cab for me to Reagan National this time (usually under $20). I didn't notice at first because it was early in the morning, but the cabbie didn't run the meter and instead gave me the "pay me what you think it was worth for me to pick you up at 4:00 a.m." shakedown. This was somewhat distasteful, but I'm not sure I can blame the hotel for that (unless the clerk had some sort of "arrangement" with the cab--not sure).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    336
    123
    63
    32
See reviews for
240
420
80
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lynchburg, va
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Monaco on 4 occasions and they were wonderful until this trip. We arrived around 1230 on Sunday and were told our suite was not ready. We gave Douglas our phone number to call us as soon as it was ready. When 3 o'clock came and we had not heard anything we went to the desk. The suite was ready because that is what time check in was. We would have payed to be allowed to check in early but that was not offered to us. The manager was aware we were upset with a situatation but never contacted us to find out what the problem was. The server for breakfast never came to our table once she took our order. Other people brought our food and check. She was busy hanging out and talking to the cooks. Reggie and Aaron the bartenders did a great job, keeping our drinks full, taking our food orders and Aaron even went to the front desk to check on our suite. The valets and doormen are wonderful but managment and the front desk left a lot to be desired. We are booking our next trip at a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The staff is amazing. The rooms are beautiful. The food at Poste is so yummy. The patio is great. Hour hour Kimpton hotels to boot. What a great place. Everything you could ask for is in the hotel. We hated to venture out. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I travel to D.C. frequently for work and it is now solidly my choice of where to stay. Reasons:
1) Location: There are fabulous restaurants nearby, its across the street from the Portrait Gallery which is opening in the evening, and a quick metro ride to the airport or anywhere else you need to go.
2) Service: The staff has gone out of their way for me, honoring my room request and even upgrading me last time to the best suite simply because I have stayed with them before.
3) Kimpton extras: Love the happy hour, raid the mini bar, free wifi, choice of newspapers

Highly suggest you give Hotel Monaco and Kimpton a try

Room Tip: I ask for a room in the back of the hotel (quieter) and not the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The service from the staff is worth a review in itself . They are so kind and gracious . Really go out their way to help you with anything you may need , even directions .

The rooms are very boutique looking , which I liked . VERY spacious rooms(we had a double room with 2 double beds) . Lots of walking around space with a wardrobe with a safe , mini bar , iron , ironing board and night gowns.

We also had in room wifi (for free !) which was very useful .

The quality of food is also something you must try . We only had breakfast there each morning , and it was really worth it . Very FINE quality .

The location couldn't be better . Right in the heart of DC . 5 minutes from the national mall and 2 minutes from the verizon center (downtown) . Everything is on your doorstep .

Please don't hesitate staying here . Just do it . It is such a pleasent stay !

Big Thankyou to the hotel monaco for making our stay an enjoyable one.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Monaco might be a little bit of an acquired taste; as with other hotels of this type, it's over-designed and seems sometimes a little more concerned with appearances than comfort. As an example, while the rooms are interior-designed to the hilt, the quality of the towels and other linens are just okay for this price point.

I will say the service at the front desk is quite good. The hotel was fully booked during my stay, but after one night in an unsuitable room, they changed me to a much better room. You do need to be very careful with room selection in this hotel, however. The building was not originally built to be a hotel, and so some of the room locations are awkward. For reasons I cannot fathom, they have guest rooms in the basement; I did not have one, but a friend did and said it was awful. I was on the first floor initially, in a room with two double beds. The room looked onto the interior courtyard, and by "looked on" I mean there were tables and chairs for the hotel's on the patio a foot from my window. Luckily it was too chilly for patrons to spill outside, but I imagine in the summer this would be a real issue. The room was also located all the way around the building from the lobby, requiring a rather long walk half-way around the whole building to reach my room. I was moved, however, to a much better room on the fourth (top) floor with a king bed. It was quiet, it was comfortable, and the amenities were fine.

The only other service quibble, which I did mention to the front desk, was that two out of three mornings I had housekeeping knocking on my door at 8:30am. This seems a bit on the early side. The first morning, I can't really fault them, because I'd forgotten to put a do-not-disturb out. But the second morning, it was not only 8:30am, but the do-not-disturb sign was also out. I still got a knock and a housekeeper starting to enter the room as I woke up. That was unacceptable. The front desk was apologetic, but of course the damage was done. And on the other housecleaning tip, I found two long dark hairs when I moved into my room, one on the bathroom floor and one on the bed. Suffice to say I do not have long dark hair.

I will likely return to the Monaco since I travel to DC frequently for work and it's close to my hotel (and it's close to some nice restaurants and bars as well). But that's not saying as much as it could, because a big part of my return visit is that the Monaco is better than the other hotels in close proximity...it might not otherwise be my first choice, mostly because of the strange arrangements of the rooms themselves. But the hotel is attractive and pretty clean, a reasonable value for the quality, well-located, with nice and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: Request something above the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our daughter lives in DC and met her husband there, so they wanted to get married in DC, even though we live in Florida and the groom's parents in N. Carolina. So inviting all our friends and family to Washington made this a destination wedding. But what better destination than the nation's capitol? The hotel was unbelievable! The catering staff, front desk, restaurant, and service staff all went out of their way to make our wedding experience unforgettable. The catering department, which handled all of the details for the reception rooms and food service, knew every vendor in the area, and were extremely helpful in pointing us to the best people, as well as making excellent suggestions for virtually every aspect of their function. The hotel gave us a fantastic deal on a block of rooms for the wedding guests, and the rooms were great. Quiet, comfortable and a little funky, as this hotel is an old federal post office that was rennovated. The location is perfect; close to all of the attractions, and a short cab ride from Georgetown. We couldn't be happier with the overall experience, and thought the prices were very reasonable for DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#29 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,646 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington DC
#76 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,946 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,449 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#69 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel’s exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the bustling Poste Moderne Brasserie, Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.